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INTRODUCTION
The State of New Hampshire has retained the services 
of AMP, a PSI business, to develop and administer 
their real estate examination program. As a full-service 
testing company, AMP provides expertise and support 
to associations, state credentialing agencies and private 
industry in test development, scoring and reporting of 
examinations.

AMP provides a range of services to the states that use the 
Real Estate Examination Program (REP). This handbook 
provides information that you will need to register for 
the New Hampshire Real Estate Examinations. Be sure 
to keep the handbook after you have registered for the 
examination; you may wish to refer to it later.

The real estate examinations are developed through 
a combined effort of real estate experts and testing 
professionals. Real estate practitioners and educators 
write the questions. Experts in the fields of both real 
estate and testing review the questions to ensure that they 
are accurate in their content and representative of good 
question-writing procedures. Representatives from states 
participating in the AMP Real Estate Examination Program 
review the questions to make certain that the content of the 
questions is accurate and relevant to real estate practices 
in their own states. Finally, all questions are revised and 
updated on a continual basis to reflect the current laws and 
practices in the changing real estate field.

The test content outline used to develop the examinations 
is based on a job analysis and expert judgment. It reflects 
areas of knowledge required to perform those tasks that 
practicing real estate salespersons and brokers judged to 
be important. Real estate experts who write questions for 
AMP use this content outline as a guide. Thus, examinees 
are tested only on subjects judged by real estate brokers 
and salespersons as most important for beginning 
licensees to know.

The content outline does not include topics, such as 
promotional skills, that may be helpful to success in the 
industry. Since the purpose of licensure testing is to protect 
the consumer rather than to guarantee success in practice, 
the examinations focus on the knowledge you must have 
to protect the consumer and your ability to apply that 
knowledge to a consumer’s particular situation. Similarly, 
the examinations include some technical language not 
used in your everyday conversations. You must learn that 
language to become a part of the profession and be able to 
explain its meaning to customers and clients.

STATEMENT OF  
NONDISCRIMINATION

AMP does not discriminate among candidates on the basis 
of age, gender, race, religion, national origin, disability or 
marital status.

EXAMINATION INFORMATION
This booklet contains general information regarding the 
examinations and the testing process. The following New 
Hampshire Real Estate Examinations are administered by 
AMP under a contract with the New Hampshire Real Estate 
Commission:

•	 Salesperson
•	 Broker

ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS
SALESPERSON CANDIDATES:
Candidates for the salesperson’s examination shall show 
proof of completion of 40 hours of approved study prior to 
the date of examination pursuant to RSA 331-A:10,I(b) and 
administrative rule Rea 301.03(o) and (p) consisting of the 
following:

Evidence of beginning and successfully completing  
40 hours of accredited pre-licensing education consisting  
of the following:
    (1) New Hampshire accredited pre-licensing course with a 
minimum of 32 hours of classroom attendance and no more 
than 8 hours of distance education within 1 year prior to the 
date of examination; or
    (2) A minimum of 32 hours of classroom attendance and 
no more than 8 hours of distance education within 1 year 
prior to the date of examination consisting of 34 hours of 
accredited national material completed in another state and 
a minimum of 6 hours of New Hampshire accredited state 
material. A list of pre-licensing instructors can be obtained 
from the Commission website at http://www.nh.gov/
nhrec/exam4.html.

Please Note: Candidates who pass any portion of 
the examination, but fail to satisfy the education 
requirement pursuant to RSA 331-A:10 prior to the date 
of examination shall be required to re-take the exam in 
its entirety, as required by Rea 301.03(q).

BROKER CANDIDATES:
EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT: Before registering to 
take the broker’s examination, please remember that there 
is an experience requirement under RSA 331-A:10 that 
must be satisfied before the commission can process your 
application for licensure. You must have been employed 
full-time by an active principal broker for at least one year 
within five years from the date of application for licensure 
or have at least 2000 part-time hours as a licensed 
salesperson in this state within five years from the date of 
application for licensure.

If you don’t specifically satisfy these requirements but you 
feel you can prove that you have equivalent experience, 
you may contact the Commission licensing department at 
603-271-2748 to schedule an appointment to meet with 
the Commission to request a waiver from the requirements 
listed above.

http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/exam4.html
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/exam4.html
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In addition to the above noted experience requirement, all 
broker applicants must submit evidence acceptable to the 
Commission of at least 6 separate real estate transactions 
in which the applicant was actively involved and was 
compensated. A Real Estate Transaction Verification Form 
must be completed and submitted with the application for 
licensure. This form can be obtained from the Commission 
website at http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html.

EDUCATION REQUIREMENT: Candidates for the broker 
examination shall show proof of completion of 60 hours of 
approved study, pursuant to RSA 331-A:10,II(b) and Rea 
301.03(j) through (n), consisting of one of the following: 

(j)	 (1)	 A juris doctor degree from an accredited law 
school obtained by a licensed attorney who 
actively practices or practiced in real estate law 
within the last 5 years; or

(2)	 One of the following degrees within 5 years prior to 
the date of examination:
a.	 A bachelor’s degree with a major in real estate 

from an accredited college, university or 
institute of higher learning; or

b.	 A bachelor’s degree from an accredited 
college, university or institute of higher 
learning, having completed coursework 
equivalent to a major in real estate; or

c.	 An associate’s degree in real estate from an 
accredited institution; or

(3)	 Successful completion of the education require-
ments and receipt of the designation for at least 
one of the following within 5 years prior to the date 
of examination:
a.	 Certified Commercial Investment Member 

(CCIM) or
b.	 Graduate, Realtor Institute (GRI).

(k)	 The following items may be applied towards the  
60 hours of approved study:
(1)	 Real estate continuing education courses 

previously approved by the New Hampshire Real 
Estate Commission for credit that have been 
successfully completed within 24 months prior to 
the date of examination consisting of one or more 
of the following:
a.	 One 3-hour accredited core course; and
b.	 Accredited elective courses;

(2)	 Evidence of beginning and successfully 
completing 40 hours of accredited pre-licensing 
education consisting of the following:
a. 	New Hampshire accredited pre-licensing 

education with a minimum of 32 hours of 
classroom attendance and no more than 8 
hours of distance education within 1 year prior 
to the date of examination; or

b. 	A minimum of 32 hours of classroom 
attendance and no more than 8 hours of 
distance education within 1 year prior to the 
date of examination consisting of 34 hours 
of accredited national material completed in 

another state and a minimum of 6 hours of 
New Hampshire accredited state material;

(3)	 Real estate related credit courses successfully 
completed within the past 5 years at an accredited 
college, university or institute of higher learning, 
and evidenced by a transcript, may be submitted 
to the commission for approval, including courses 
with topics, such as, but not limited to:
a. 	Accounting;
b. 	Management;
c. 	Real estate law;
d. 	Finance;
e. 	Real estate investment;
f. 	 Appraisal courses; and
g. 	Paralegal courses.

(l) 	 Each hour of the courses outlined in (k)(1) and (2) 
above, shall count towards one hour of credit toward 
the required 60 hours. All 3 credit or more courses 
submitted and approved under (k)(3) as real estate 
related education shall receive 12 credit hours.

(m)	Schools or individuals may seek accreditation of 
education not included in (j)(3) and (k)(1) through (3) 
above by submitting the course content outline, course 
materials, course hours, course accreditation fee, and 
certificate of completion to the New Hampshire Real 
Estate Commission.

(n) 	For purposes of (k)(2) above, proof of a pre-licensing 
course previously used to fulfill the salesperson’s 
education requirement shall not be used to fulfill the 
broker education requirement.

Please Note: Candidates who pass any portion of 
the examination, but fail to satisfy the education 
requirement pursuant to RSA 331-A:10 prior to the date 
of examination shall be required to re-take the exam in 
its entirety, as required by Rea 301.03(q). 

RECIPROCITY: Candidates holding a valid license from 
another state may be eligible for a New Hampshire license 
through reciprocity. Information can be attained at http://
www.nh.gov/nhrec/exam2.html. Contact the New 
Hampshire Real Estate Commission for more information.

CRIMINAL RECORDS CHECK
Pursuant to RSA 331-A:10-a, all applicants for a new 
salesperson or broker license shall submit to the New 
Hampshire Department of Safety, Division of State Police, 
a notarized criminal record release authorization form, 
along with the appropriate fee, prior to applying for a real 
estate license. The criminal record release authorization 
form can be found in this handbook on page 21 and on 
the Commission’s website at http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/
examinfo.html. 

In addition, the applicant shall submit to the Commission a 
criminal record report from any other jurisdiction in which 
the applicant has been convicted of a misdemeanor or 
felony offense.

http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/exam2.html
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/exam2.html
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html
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DISCLOSURE OF MISDEMEANOR 
OR FELONY OFFENSES

If you have been convicted of any misdemeanor or felony 
offense(s), the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission 
requires, in addition to the required Criminal Record 
report(s), that such offenses be disclosed on the Real 
Estate Commission application for licensure. You should 
contact the Commission Office at 603-271-4127 or go to 
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html to obtain an 
Arrest and Conviction Form and submit the completed form 
along with a detailed explanation of the offense(s) to the 
Commission Office with the application for license.

HOW THE EXAMINATION IS 
ADMINISTERED

The New Hampshire Real Estate Examinations are  
administered by computer at four AMP Assessment  
Centers in New Hampshire – Concord, Manchester,  
Nashua and Portsmouth. Detailed directions and maps 
are provided at www.goAMP.com. The examinations are 
also available for administration at other AMP Assessment 
Centers throughout the United States. The examinations  
are administered by appointment only Monday through 
Saturday at 9:00 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

EXAMINATION FEE 
The fee to apply for the Broker examination is $170 and 
the fee for the Salesperson examination is $155. Payment 
may be made by cash, personal check, cashier’s check or 
money order made payable to the Treasurer, State of New 
Hampshire. Examination fees are not refundable.

REGISTERING FOR AN  
EXAMINATION

Applicants in New Hampshire register for the examinations 
by completing the registration form in this handbook 
and submitting it to the New Hampshire Real Estate 
Commission, along with the examination fee. 

All candidates must take the examination within three 
months from the date of receipt of the registration at 
the Commission Office.

PRE-LICENSING COURSE 
EVALUATION

If you have completed a New Hampshire accredited 40 
hour pre-licensing course, please complete the evaluation 
form on page 19 of this handbook and return it with your 
application for licensure. If you have completed the course 
prior to registering for the examination, the form may be 
submitted along with the examination registration form.

SCHEDULING AN  
EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT

AFTER YOU HAVE REGISTERED FOR THE EXAMINA-
TION AND RECEIVED NOTIFICATION OF YOUR  
ELIGIBILITY BY EMAIL AND/OR POSTCARD, you may 
schedule an examination by one of the following methods: 

  1.	 Online Scheduling: Go to www.goAMP.com and 
select “Schedule/Apply for an Exam.” Follow the 
simple, step-by-step instructions to choose your 
examination program and register for the examination. 

OR

  2.	 Telephone Scheduling: Call AMP at 800-345-6559 
to schedule an examination appointment. This toll-
free number is answered from 8:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m. 
(Eastern Time) Monday through Thursday, 8:00 a.m. 
to 8:00 p.m. on Friday, and 9:30 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. on 
Saturday.

When you contact AMP to schedule an appointment, 
please be prepared to confirm a date and location for 
testing and to provide your name and Social Security 
number. Note: Your Social Security number is required for 
unique identification. All individuals are scheduled on a 
first-come, first-served basis. Refer to the following chart.

You will be notified of the time to report to the Assessment 
Center. You will only be allowed to take the examination 
type for which you have applied; no changes in 
examination type will be made at the Assessment Center. 
UNSCHEDULED CANDIDATES (WALK-INS) WILL NOT 
BE ADMITTED to the Assessment Center.

	Special Arrangements for  
 Candidates with Disabilities

AMP is interested in ensuring that no individual with 
a disability is deprived of the opportunity to take the 
examination solely by reason of that disability. AMP will 
provide reasonable accommodations for candidates with 
disabilities.
1.	 Wheelchair access is available at all established 

Assessment Centers. Candidates must advise AMP  
at the time of registration that wheelchair access is 
necessary.

If you contact AMP  
by 4:00 p.m.  

Eastern Time on...

Depending on availability, 
your examination may be 
scheduled beginning...

Monday Wednesday

Tuesday Thursday

Wednesday Friday/Saturday

Thursday Monday

Friday Tuesday

http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html
http://www.goAMP.com
http://www.goAMP.com
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2.	 Candidates with visual, sensory or physical disabilities 
that would prevent them from taking the examination 
under standard conditions may request special 
accommodations and arrangements. 

Please inform AMP of your need for special 
accommodations by completing the Request for Special 
Examination Accommodations form on page 23 of this 
handbook.

EXAMINATION APPOINTMENT 
CHANGES

You may reschedule your appointment for a future date 
on one occasion per examination fee paid. If you are 
desiring to change your appointment, you must call AMP 
at 800-345-6559 at least two business days prior to the 
examination (see table below). If you wish to change 
your appointment within two days of the examination, 
you will not be refunded your examination fee and will be 
required to pay the entire examination fee for any future 
examinations. 

MISSED APPOINTMENTS  
AND CANCELLATIONS

You will forfeit the registration and all fees paid to take 
the examination under the following circumstances. A 
complete registration and examination fee are required to 
reapply for the examination.

•	 You wish to reschedule an examination but fail to contact 

AMP at least two business days prior to the scheduled 
testing session. 

•	 You wish to reschedule a second time. 

•	 You appear more than 15 minutes late for an 
examination.

•	 You fail to report for an examination appointment.

Candidates who fail to appear for their scheduled examina-
tion appointment will be considered on an individual basis 
for the following reasons: 1) hospitalization, 2) death in 
the immediate family, 3) disabling traffic accident, 4) court 
appearance or jury duty, or 5) military duty. Candidates 
requesting such exceptions should contact the New  
Hampshire Real Estate Commission. 

INCLEMENT WEATHER, POWER 
FAILURE OR EMERGENCY

In the event of inclement weather or unforeseen 
emergencies on the day of an examination, AMP will 
determine whether circumstances warrant the cancellation, 
and subsequent rescheduling, of an examination. 
The examination will usually not be rescheduled if the 
Assessment Center personnel are able to open the 
Assessment Center.

You may visit AMP’s website at www.goAMP.com prior 
to the examination to determine if AMP has been advised 
that any Assessment Centers are closed. Every attempt 
is made to administer the examination as scheduled; 
however, should an examination be canceled at an 
Assessment Center, all scheduled candidates will receive 
notification following the cancellation of the examination 
regarding rescheduling or reapplication procedures.

If power to an Assessment Center is temporarily 
interrupted during an administration, your examination 
will be restarted. The responses provided up to the point 
of interruption will be intact, but for security reasons the 
questions will be scrambled.

NO REFUNDS
If you fail to arrive at the Assessment Center on the date 
and time you are scheduled for examination, you will not 
be refunded any portion of your examination fees and must 
reregister by obtaining a registration form from the AMP 
website and submitting the completed registration form 
along with the appropriate examination fee to the New 
Hampshire Real Estate Commission; examination fees 
may NOT be transferred to another appointment. 

If you arrive more than 15 minutes late for an appointment, 
you will not be admitted, will forfeit your examination fee, 
and must reregister by obtaining a registration form from 
the AMP website and submitting the completed registration 
form, along with the examination fee to the New Hampshire 
Real Estate Commission.

 
If your examination is 

scheduled on...

You must contact AMP by 
4:00 p.m. Eastern Time to 

reschedule the examination 
by the previous...

Monday Wednesday

Tuesday Thursday

Wednesday Friday

Thursday Monday

Friday Tuesday

http://www.goAMP.com
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PREPARING FOR THE  
EXAMINATION

The study and test-taking advice described here may 
be helpful as you prepare for the examination. Try to 
be objective about your individual learning needs when 
deciding how best to study. Plan your study schedule well 
in advance. Use learning techniques, such as reading 
or audiovisual aids. Be sure you find a quiet place to 
study where you will not be interrupted. We suggest you 
concentrate your study efforts on a few carefully chosen 
textbooks.

The examination will be timed and the computer will 
indicate the time remaining on the screen. If you find it 
distracting, the time feature may be turned off during the 
examination. If you choose to turn off the time feature, 
you should pace yourself by periodically checking your 
progress. This will allow you to make any necessary 
adjustments. The time limit is intended to allow candidates 
to complete the entire examination by working quickly and 
efficiently.

EXAMINATION CONTENT
	Salesperson Examination

The New Hampshire Real Estate Salesperson 
Examination consists of a national and a state portion. 
The total time allowed for both portions of the examination 
is 3½ hours. The questions on the two portions will be 
intermixed and will not appear as separate sections. 

NATIONAL SALESPERSON PORTION
The national portion is based upon seven major content 
areas. Each of the content areas is briefly described 
on this page and a detailed content outline is included 
in the back of this handbook. In addition, the number 
of questions devoted to the Salesperson examination 
is indicated for each major content area. The National 
Salesperson examination is composed of 100 multiple-
choice questions that are used to compute your score. 
In addition to the scored questions, the examination 
may include five questions that are being “pretested” for 
use in future versions of the examination. These pretest 
questions are not identified, and your answers to them do 
not affect your score. 

National Salesperson Portion

	  Number of
	 Topic Questions

 1.	 Agency Relationships and Contracts 28
 2.	 Real Property Ownership/Interest 13
 3.	 Finance 14
 4.	 Real Property 14
 5.	 Marketing Regulations (purchase  

and rental) 10
 6.	 Property Management   8
 7.	 Real Estate Calculations 13

Please refer to the detailed content outline beginning on 
page 37 for more information.

NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE PORTION
The examination content outline for the state portion of the 
examination has been approved by the New Hampshire 
Real Estate Commission. This portion tests knowledge 
areas that are required specifically for the New Hampshire 
real estate professional. There are 40 questions in this 
portion of the examination that are used to compute 
your score. In addition to the questions used to compute 
your score, the examination may include five questions 
that are being “pretested” for use in future versions of 
these examinations. These pretest questions are not 
identified, and your answers to them do not affect your 
score. Questions included in categories 1 to 4 in the 
following detailed content outline are covered under the 
New Hampshire Real Estate Practice Act (RSA 331-A) 
and the New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules 
(Rea Chapters 100 through 700). Statutes and rules can 
be viewed and printed from the Commission’s website at 
www.nh.gov/nhrec/adrules.html. Questions related to 
category 5 in the outline (Principles and Practices) pertain 
to the New Hampshire statutes noted. New Hampshire 
laws and rules may be viewed and printed from the New 
Hampshire website at: www.nh.gov.

http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/adrules.html
http://www.nh.gov


NEW HAMPSHIRE Candidate Handbook6 6

6

New Hampshire Detailed Content Outline
			 
	 Number  
	 of Questions

1.	 Real Estate Commission	 3
A.	 Purpose of Commission
B.	 Duties and powers
C.	 Examination of records
D.	 Disciplinary procedures

2.	 Licensure	 5
A.	 Activities requiring license
B.	 Licensing procedures
C.	 Eligibility for license
D.	 Bonds
E.	 License renewal
F.	 Change in license/status
G.	 Continuing education

3. 	 Regulation of Licensee Conduct	 11
A.	 Advertising
B.	 Branch offices
C.	 Prohibited conduct
D.	 Disclosures

1. 	Private water supply
2. 	Insulation
3. 	Sewage disposal system

E.	 Recordkeeping
F.	 Funds and accounts
G.	 Place of business

4.	 Regulation of Agency Conduct	 11
A. 	Broker/salesperson relationships
B. 	Brokerage contracts
C.	 Agency

1.	 Scope
2.	 Disclosure
3.	 Seller agent
4.	 Buyer agent
5.	 Disclosed dual agent
6.	 Other agency relationships

D. 	Cooperating agreements

			 
	 Number  
	 of Questions

5.	 New Hampshire Principles and Practice 	 10
A. 	Human Rights-NH RSA 354-A
B. 	Environmental Issues

1.	 Hazardous Waste-NH RSA 147-A,  
NH RSA 147-B

2.	 Hazardous Substances-Water Pollution  
and Waste Disposal – NH RSA 485-A

3.	 Hazardous Substances-Safe Drinking  
Water – NH RSA 482-B, NH RSA 485

4.	 Hazardous Substances-Asbestos –  
NH RSA 141-E

5.	 Hazardous Substances-Underground  
Storage Tanks – NH RSA 146-C

6.	 Hazardous Substances-Radon Gas/Lead 
Paint – NH RSA 477

7.	 Hazardous Substances-Lead Paint –  
NH RSA 130-A

C. 	Condominium Act-NH RSA 356-B
D. 	Planning and Zoning-NH RSA 672;  

NH RSA 674
E.	 Wetlands-NH RSA 482-A; NH RSA 483-A; NH 

RSA 483-B
F.	 Taxation-NH RSA 72; NH RSA 73;  

NH RSA 75; NH RSA 76; NH RSA 78-A;  
NH RSA 78-B; NH RSA 79-A; and  
NH RSA 80

G.	 Manufactured Housing-NH RSA 205-A
H.	 Property Management (Tenants/Landlords)-  

NH RSA 540; NH RSA 540-A
I.	 Recordation-NH RSA 477; NH RSA 478
J.	 Descent and Distribution-NH RSA 551;  

NH RSA 561; NH RSA 477 

	Sample Questions
The following illustrate the type of questions used in 
the National Salesperson examination. These sample 
questions do not represent the full range of content or 
difficulty levels contained in the examinations. They are 
intended to help you become familiar with the types and 
formats of questions on the examination. Read each 
question and decide which answer is best. You may then 
check your answers with the answer key that follows. The 
answer key also shows the topic being tested; the topic 
refers to the content outline included in the back of this 
handbook.
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SALESPERSON SAMPLE QUESTIONS

1.	 Baird bought two rectangular lots, each of which 
measures 244' x 250'. Approximately how many  
total acres will be in the two lots combined?

A. 	2.8 
B. 	3.2 
C. 	5.6 
D. 	7.0

2.	 A person has been using a property for a long time.  
That person’s rights have been determined to  
supersede those of the fee simple owner. This  
is called which of the following?

A. 	escheat
B. 	homestead
C. 	eminent domain
D. 	adverse possession

3. 	 A property has been condemned by the city so that  
the land can be used to build a better approach to  
the municipal hospital’s emergency entrance. Which  
of the following powers is the city exercising?

A. 	power of attorney
B. 	police power
C. 	eminent domain
D. 	escheat

4.	 A salesperson deliberately shows a buyer homes  
in only one subdivision where many people of the 
buyer’s religious faith live. Has the salesperson  
violated any law?

A. 	Yes, because a salesperson must show a 
	 prospective buyer homes in at least three 
	 different areas.
B. 	Yes, because a salesperson cannot discriminate
	 on the basis of religion when showing property 
	 to a buyer.
C. 	No, because the salesperson’s broker is 
	 responsible for any violations of law.
D. 	No, because there was no intent to discriminate 
	 on the basis of race or national origin.

5.	 A licensee who works for ABC Realty obtains a listing.  
Two days later, the licensee begins working for XYZ 
Realty. Which of the following is true regarding this 
listing?

A.	 The listing is transferred to XYZ Realty.
B.	 The licensee is entitled to compensation when 
	 she begins working for XYZ Realty.
C.	 The listing remains with ABC Realty.
D.	 The listing is automatically terminated.

Salesperson Answer Key

	 Item #	 Key	 Topic*

 1. A 7I
 2. D 4E8
 3. C 2F4
 4. B 5B4
 5. C 1D1

*	 Refer to detailed content outline in the back of this 
handbook.

	National Real Estate Salesperson Sample  
	 Examination

The Sample National Real Estate Salesperson 
Examination is available in web-based format. To  
order the online sample examination, please visit  
www.goAMP.com and click on “E-Store,” “Web Tests” 
and “Real Estate.” Two versions of the web-based Sample 
Examination are available. The cost of the basic version 
is $15. The cost of the enhanced version that provides 
detailed explanations of the answers is $25. Both are 
available with payment by credit card through the online 
store. No duplication of the sample examination is allowed. 
The sample examination is copyrighted by AMP.

	Broker Examination
NEW HAMPSHIRE STATE PORTION

The examination content outline for the state portion of the 
examination has been approved by the New Hampshire 
Real Estate Commission. This portion tests knowledge 
areas that are required specifically for the New Hampshire 
real estate professional. There are 40 questions in this 
portion of the examination that are used to compute your 
score. In addition to the questions used to compute your 
score, the examination may include five questions that 
are being “pretested” for use in future versions of these 
examinations. These pretest questions are not identified, 
and your answers to them do not affect your score. 

Questions included in categories 1 to 4 in the following 
detailed content outline are covered under the New 
Hampshire Real Estate Practice Act (RSA 331-A) and 
the New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules (Rea 
Chapters 100 through 700). Statutes and rules can be 
viewed and printed from the Commission’s website at  
www.nh.gov/nhrec/adrules.html. Questions related to 
category 5 in the outline (Principles and Practices) pertain 
to the New Hampshire statutes noted. New Hampshire 
laws and rules may be viewed and printed from the New 
Hampshire website at: www.nh.gov.

http://www.goAMP.com
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/adrules.html
http://www.nh.gov
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New Hampshire Detailed Content Outline
			 
	 Number  
	 of Questions

1.	 Real Estate Commission	 3
A.	 Purpose of Commission
B.	 Duties and powers
C.	 Examination of records
D.	 Disciplinary procedures

2.	 Licensure	 5
A.	 Activities requiring license
B.	 Licensing procedures
C.	 Eligibility for license
D.	 Bonds
E.	 License renewal
F.	 Change in license/status
G.	 Continuing education

3. 	 Regulation of Licensee Conduct	 11
A.	 Advertising
B.	 Branch offices
C.	 Prohibited conduct
D.	 Disclosures

1. 	Private water supply
2. 	Insulation
3. 	Sewage disposal system

E.	 Recordkeeping
F.	 Funds and accounts
G.	 Place of business

4.	 Regulation of Agency Conduct	 11
A. 	Broker/salesperson relationships
B. 	Brokerage contracts
C.	 Agency

1.	 Scope
2.	 Disclosure
3.	 Seller agent
4.	 Buyer agent
5.	 Disclosed dual agent
6.	 Other agency relationships

D. 	Cooperating agreements

5.	 New Hampshire Principles and Practice 	 10
A. 	Human Rights-NH RSA 354-A
B. 	Environmental Issues

1.	 Hazardous Waste-NH RSA 147-A,  
NH RSA 147-B

2.	 Hazardous Substances-Water Pollution  
and Waste Disposal – NH RSA 485-A

3.	 Hazardous Substances-Safe Drinking  
Water – NH RSA 482-B, NH RSA 485

4.	 Hazardous Substances-Asbestos –  
NH RSA 141-E

5.	 Hazardous Substances-Underground  
Storage Tanks – NH RSA 146-C

6.	 Hazardous Substances-Radon Gas/Lead 
Paint – NH RSA 477

7.	 Hazardous Substances-Lead Paint –  
NH RSA 130-A

C. 	Condominium Act-NH RSA 356-B
D. 	Planning and Zoning-NH RSA 672;  

NH RSA 674
E.	 Wetlands-NH RSA 482-A; NH RSA 483-A; NH 

RSA 483-B
F.	 Taxation-NH RSA 72; NH RSA 73;  

NH RSA 75; NH RSA 76; NH RSA 78-A;  
NH RSA 78-B; NH RSA 79-A; and  
NH RSA 80

G.	 Manufactured Housing-NH RSA 205-A
H.	 Property Management (Tenants/Landlords)-  

NH RSA 540; NH RSA 540-A
I.	 Recordation-NH RSA 477; NH RSA 478
J.	 Descent and Distribution-NH RSA 551;  

NH RSA 561; NH RSA 477 

	National Broker Portion
The National Broker Examination is presented in 
simulation problem format and consists of 10 simulation 
problems. Nine of these problems will be used to compute 
your score. The other problem is not scored and is being 
pretested for future examinations.

Each simulation problem will have a designated primary 
issue and property type. Each section within a problem will 
carry a secondary topic for that section. The primary issue 
and property type will remain consistent throughout the 
simulation problem, but the secondary topic can change 
with each section of the problem. The distribution of issues 
and property types is given in the Broker Simulation 
Examination Content Outline.

Each problem will consist of three components: Scenario, 
Information Gathering (IG) sections and Decision Making 
(DM) sections. Each problem begins with a scenario. 
The scenario provides the setting and introductory client 
information [e.g., age, gender, presenting problem(s)].

In Information Gathering (IG) sections you are to gather 
all relevant information for answering the question. Read 
all responses before selecting the responses that you 
consider necessary for responding to the question. You 
should select all options that are appropriate at the time. 
If you select more or fewer answer options than are 
appropriate, this will adversely impact your information 
gathering score.

Decision Making (DM) sections provide opportunities for 
making judgments or decisions. These sections may be 
formatted in one of two ways:
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1.	 Single Best Option – There may be more than one 
acceptable option, but one option is generally regarded 
most acceptable.

2.	 Multiple Options – Several options are considered 
appropriate. These sections address decisions in which 
a combination of actions is required. 

In the decision making section described in 1 above, the 
instructions will be to ‘CHOOSE ONLY ONE’ option. You 
should not assume that your response is incorrect if you 
are directed to make another selection. The simulation 
examination format sometimes uses this direction. The 
multiple option type of decision making described in 2 will 
have instructions to ‘SELECT AS MANY’ options as are 
appropriate in the situation.

Broker Simulation Examination Content Outline

Primary Issues:	 # of Problems
1.	 Agency Relationships and Property  
	 Representations	 3
2.	 Fair Housing and Other Governmental  
	 Regulations	 2
3.	 Handling Money	 2
4.	 Training and Supervision of Licensees	 1
Plus one primary issue varying by examination  
form	 1
Section Topics:
A.	 Agency
B.	 Contracts
C.	 Freehold and Leasehold
D.	 Property Management
E.	 Finance
F.	 Government Regulations and Private  
	 Restrictions
G.	 Description and Measurement
H.	 Valuation
I.	 Conveyance
J.	 Calculations
K.	 Ethical Behavior (must be incorporated  
	 in at least 4 problems)
Property Types:	 # of Problems

1. 	 Residential	 4
2. 	 Commercial	 2
3. 	 Property Management	 1
Plus two property types varying by examination  
form 	 2

	National Real Estate Broker Simulation  
  Sample Examination

The National Real Estate Broker Simulation Sample 
Examination is available in web-based format. The 
sample examination includes four problems that are 
similar to those found on the National Broker Simulation 
Examination for those states using this testing format. The 
sample examination is purchased and taken online at the 
convenience of the purchaser. To order the online sample 
examination, please visit www.goAMP.com and click on 
“E-Store,” “Web Tests” and “Real Estate.” The cost of the 
sample examination is $25. The sample examination is 
available with payment by credit card through the online 
store. No duplication of the sample examination is allowed. 
The sample examination is copyrighted by AMP.

	Taking the Multiple-Choice Examination

The most typical purpose of a deed restriction is to

ensure that the property will not become encumbered.

encourage varied uses of the property.

control future uses of the property.

limit costs of new houses in a subdivision.D.

C.

B.

A.

Cover Help D >�<! <Time 1 �

s
Picture

Here

The computer monitors the time you spend on the 
examination. The examination will terminate if you exceed 
the time allowed. You may click on the “Time” box in the 
lower right portion of the screen to monitor your time. 
A digital clock indicates the time remaining for you to 
complete the examination. The Time feature may be turned 
off during the examination.

Only one examination question is presented at a time. The 
question number appears in the lower right portion of the 
screen. Choices of answers to the examination questions 
are identified as A, B, C or D. You must indicate your 
choice by either typing in the letter in the response box in 
the lower left portion of the computer screen or clicking 
on the option using the mouse. To change your answer, 
enter a different option by pressing the A, B, C or D key 
or by clicking on the option using the mouse. You may 
change your answer as many times as you wish during the 
examination time limit.

http://www.goAMP.com
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To move to the next question, click on the forward arrow 
(>) in the lower right portion of the screen. This action 
will move you forward through the examination question 
by question. If you wish to review any question, click the 
backward arrow (<) or use the left arrow key to move 
backward through the examination.

An examination question may be left unanswered for 
return later in the examination session. Questions may 
also be bookmarked for later review by clicking in the blank 
square to the right of the Time button. Click on the hand 
icon to advance to the next unanswered or bookmarked 
question on the examination. To identify all unanswered 
and bookmarked questions, repeatedly click on the hand 
icon. When the examination is completed, the number of 
examination items answered is reported. If not all questions 
have been answered and there is time remaining, return to 
the examination and answer those questions. Be sure to 
provide an answer for each examination question before 
ending the examination. There is no penalty for guessing.

	Candidate Comments
During the examination, you may make comments for 
any question by clicking on the button displaying an  
exclamation point (!) to the left of the Time button. This 
opens a dialogue box where comments may be entered. 
Comments will be reviewed, but individual responses will  
not be provided.

	Taking the Simulation Examination
Three windows appear on the screen at all times during 
a simulation examination (see Figure 1). The Scenario 
Window section is displayed across the top of the screen; 
your picture is displayed in the upper right portion of this 
window. Each simulation begins with a brief paragraph in 
this window that provides preliminary information about 
the situation; subsequent sections contain information 
about the changing situation. A scroll bar is available when 
necessary to view all text. Each Scenario Window will 
also provide you with specific instructions about whether 
to “CHOOSE ONLY ONE” response in the section or to 
“SELECT AS MANY” responses as appropriate to gather 
information. 

Figure 1. Sample computerized simulation screen layout – Three windows appear on the screen at all times
during a simulation examination

 

USE THE SCROLL BAR ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF ANY WINDOW AS NEEDED TO SEE ALL INFORMATION.

You are hosting an open house. Mr. & Mrs. Charles Martin come into the house. You greet them and show them the
house. The Martins tell you the house is exactly what they are looking for and they are very interested in purchasing
it. You then give them information showing the various types of financing available with down payment options and
projected payments. 

Which of the following information should you obtain?

(SELECT AS MANY as you consider indicated in this Section, then click on the Go To Next Section button below to proceed to 
the next Section.)

�

�

Interest in seller financing
How soon they need to move
Whether they lease or own their current
residence
Whether they need possession before
closing
Reason they are moving
What they are willing to offer
Whether they have a home to sell first
Copies of recent tax returns
Number of children
Recent credit report
Mr. Martin’s occupation

  Interest in seller financing
Not interested

  Whether they lease or own their current residence
Own

  What they are willing to offer
Not asked

 

Current Section/Simulation History







Go To Next Section

�

�

�

�

�

�

The Options Window is displayed as the lower left portion 
of the screen and contains all options (choices or possible 
responses) from which to choose in the current section. 
A scroll bar is also available when necessary to view all 
options. 

The Simulation History Window is displayed as the lower 
right portion of the screen. This window can be displayed 
in two formats using the button labeled “Current Section/
Simulation History” located at the top of this window. 
When in the “Current Section” mode, the options chosen 
in the current section and the results for each choice are 
displayed in this window. When in the “Simulation History” 
mode, the scenarios from all previous sections as well as 
the options chosen and their results are displayed in the 
window. A scroll bar is available on the right side of this 
window to review previous scenarios and/or options and 
results.

Once you have read the scenario for each section and 
determined which option(s) are appropriate for selection, 
you can simply click the box to the left of the option to 
“choose” it. Immediately, the option selected and the 
results for that option appear in the right-hand Simulation 
History Window. After you select or “choose” an option, 
you cannot reconsider and “unselect” it, since the 
information from that option has been revealed.

In sections where you are instructed to “SELECT AS 
MANY as you consider indicated,” you should select all of 
the options believed appropriate at the time and then click 
the “Go To Next Section” button at the bottom left of the 
screen to continue to the next section. A dialog box will 
appear requesting that you confirm you wish to continue 
to the next section and warning that returning to this 
section to make additional choices will not be possible. By 
selecting “Yes,” the software automatically takes you to the 
next section of the simulation. 
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In sections where you are instructed to “CHOOSE ONLY 
ONE unless directed to make another selection,” you 
should carefully review each option and then choose the 
one best option. A dialog box will then appear to present 
the results for the choice or request that you select 
another response in the section.

A “Help Screen” will be accessible to you throughout the 
simulation examination to explain how to navigate through 
the examination.

ON THE DAY OF YOUR 
EXAMINATION

Your examination will be given by computer at an AMP 
Assessment Center. You do not need any computer 
experience or typing skills to take your examination. On the 
day of your testing appointment, report to the Assessment 
Center no later than your scheduled testing time. Look 
for signs indicating AMP Assessment Center Check-in. 
IF YOU ARRIVE MORE THAN 15 MINUTES AFTER 
THE SCHEDULED TESTING TIME, YOU WILL NOT BE 
ADMITTED.

	Identification
To gain admission to the Assessment Center, you must 
present two forms of identification. The primary form must 
be government issued, current and include your name, 
signature and photograph. Temporary ID is not accepted. 
You will also be required to sign a roster for verification of 
identity.

•	 Examples of valid primary forms of identification are: 
driver’s license with photograph; state identification card 
with photograph; passport; military identification card 
with photograph.

•	 The secondary form of identification must display your 
name and signature for signature verification (e.g., credit 
card with signature, social security card with signature, 
employment/student ID card with signature).

•	 If your name on your registration is different than it 
appears on your identification, you must bring proof 
of your name change (e.g., marriage license, divorce 
decree or court order).

RULES FOR THE EXAMINATION
	Security

AMP administration and security standards are designed 
to ensure all candidates are provided the same opportunity 
to demonstrate their abilities. The Assessment Center is 
continuously monitored by audio and video surveillance 
equipment for security purposes.

The following security procedures apply during the 
examination:

•	 Examinations are proprietary. No cameras, notes, tape 
recorders, pagers or cellular/smart phones are allowed 
in the testing room. Possession of a cellular/smart phone 
or other electronic devices is strictly prohibited and will 
result in dismissal from the examination.

•	 Only silent, non-programmable calculators without alpha 
keys or printing capabilities are allowed in the testing 
room. 

•	 No guests, visitors or family members are allowed in the 
testing room or reception areas.

•	 Candidates may be subjected to a metal detection scan 
upon entering the examination room.

	Personal Belongings
No personal items, valuables or weapons should be 
brought to the Assessment Center. Only wallets and keys 
are permitted. Large coats and jackets must be left outside 
the testing room. You will be provided a soft locker to 
store your wallet and/or keys with you in the testing room. 
You will not have access to these items until after the 
examination is completed. Please note the following items 
will not be allowed in the testing room except securely 
locked in the soft locker.

•	 watches
•	 hats
•	 wallets
•	 keys

Once you have placed your personal belongings into the 
soft locker, you will be asked to pull out your pockets to 
ensure they are empty. If you bring personal items that 
will not fit in the soft locker, you will not be able to test. 
The site will not store or be responsible for your personal 
belongings. 

If any personal items are observed or heard (cellular/smart 
phones, alarms) in the testing room after the examination 
is started, you will be dismissed and the administration will 
be forfeited.

	Examination Restrictions
•	 Pencils will be provided during check-in.

•	 You will be provided with one piece of scratch paper at a 
time to use during the examination, unless noted on the 
sign-in roster for a particular candidate. You must return 
the scratch paper to the supervisor at the completion of 
testing, or you will not receive your score report.

•	 No documents or notes of any kind may be removed 
from the Assessment Center. 

•	 No questions concerning the content of the examination 
may be asked during the examination.

•	 Eating, drinking or smoking will not be permitted in the 
Assessment Center.
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•	 You may take a break whenever you wish, but you will 
not be allowed additional time to make up for time lost 
during breaks.

	Misconduct
If you engage in any of the following conduct during the 
examination you may be dismissed, your scores will not 
be reported and examination fees will not be refunded. 
Examples of misconduct are when you:

•	 create a disturbance, are abusive or otherwise 
uncooperative;

•	 display and/or use electronic communications equipment 
such as pagers, cellular/smart phones;

•	 talk or participate in conversation with other examination 
candidates;

•	 give or receive help or is suspected of doing so;

•	 leave the Assessment Center during the administration;

•	 attempt to record examination questions or make notes;

•	 attempt to take the examination for someone else;

•	 are observed with personal belongings, or

•	 are observed with notes, books or other aids without it 
being noted on the roster.

	Copyrighted Examination Questions
All examination questions are the copyrighted property of 
AMP. It is forbidden under federal copyright law to copy, 
reproduce, record, distribute or display these examination 
questions by any means, in whole or in part. Doing so may 
subject you to severe civil and criminal penalties.

	Computer Login
After your identification has been confirmed, you will be 
directed to a testing carrel. You will be instructed on-screen 
to enter your Social Security number. You will take your 
photograph which will remain on screen throughout your 
testing session. This photograph will also print on your 
score report.

	Practice Examination
Prior to attempting the examination, you will be given the 
opportunity to practice taking a test on the computer. The 
time you use for this practice test is NOT counted as part of 
your examination time or score. When you are comfortable 
with the computer testing process, you may quit the 
practice session and begin the timed examination.

	Timed Examination
Following the practice examination, you will begin the 
actual examination. Before beginning, instructions for  
taking the examination will be provided on-screen. The  
following time limits will be in effect for each examination.

Examination	 Time Allotted

Salesperson (national and state portion)	 3½ hours
Salesperson (state portion only)	 1½ hours
Salesperson (national portion only)	 2½ hours
Broker State (multiple-choice portion)	 1½ hours
Broker National (simulation portion)	 2½ hours

FOLLOWING THE EXAMINATION
	How Passing Scores are Determined

•  Multiple-Choice Examination
The minimum score required to pass the multiple-choice 
portions is determined by using a process known as the 
Angoff method, in which subject-matter experts estimate the 
difficulty of each item on the examination for the “minimally 
competent practitioner” (MCP). These judgments are 
averaged to determine the minimum passing score, which 
represents the amount of knowledge an MCP would likely 
demonstrate on the examination. 

•  Simulation Examination 
The passing score for the simulation examination is deter-
mined using a method similar to that described for multiple-
choice portions. Each section in a simulation was evaluated 
by content experts when the problem was developed. A 
minimum passing level (MPL) was established for the section 
using the scoring weights assigned to the options in that 
section and represents the level of performance expected of 
a “minimally competent practitioner.” The overall examination 
has an Information Gathering (IG) MPL and a Decision Mak-
ing (DM) MPL, which represent the sums of the MPLs of all 
IG and DM sections on the examination.

•  Equating
A statistical process called equating is used to ensure 
consistency in the meaning of the score required to pass an 
examination. If the raw passing score varies slightly between 
different versions (or “forms”), the level of knowledge 
required to achieve the passing score remains the same, 
thus assuring that all candidates are treated fairly.

•  Scaled Score
Scaled scores are reported to emphasize that although dif-
ferent forms of the examination may have slight differences 
in difficulty, the passing score for an examination is based on 
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a consistent level of performance. Scaled scores are com-
puted by setting the raw passing score equal to the scaled 
score required to pass. The scaled score is not the same 
as a percentage. The raw passing score may vary slightly 
between forms, depending on the difficulty of the items on 
the form; however, the scaled score required to pass (and 
the level of knowledge required to pass) does not change. 
This process is used to ensure fairness to all candidates.

	Your Salesperson Examination Score 
After you have completed the Salesperson examination, you 
will be instructed to report to the testing supervisor to receive 
your score report. Your score report will show your result for 
your examination and will give diagnostic scoring information 
for any portion you did not pass. To be eligible to apply for 
a salesperson license in New Hampshire, you must pass 
both the National and State portions of the examination. 
The passing score for each portion of the Salesperson 
examination is a scaled score of 70. 

	Your Broker Examination Score Report
After you have completed the Broker examination, you will 
be instructed to report to the testing supervisor to receive 
your score report. Your score report will show your result for 
your examination and will give diagnostic scoring information 
for any portion you did not pass. To be eligible to apply for 
a broker license in New Hampshire, you must pass both the 
national simulation and state multiple-choice portions of the 
examination.

For the national simulation portion of the examination, you 
will score points for Information Gathering (IG) sections and 
for Decision Making (DM) sections. The sum of your scores 
on all IG sections is reported as your IG total raw score, and 
the sum of your scores on all DM sections is reported as 
your DM total raw score. Your total raw scores are converted 
to scaled scores, and you must meet or exceed scaled 
scores of 70 for both IG and DM to pass this examination.

The passing score for the state multiple-choice portion of the 
examination is a scaled score of 70. 

	If You Pass the Examination
If you have passed both parts of the examination, you will 
receive a score report that will summarize your examina-
tion performance. This original score report will also allow 
you to apply for a license. You will need to submit both 

the original score report(s) and the license application, 
which is included in the handbook. To download and print 
an application for licensure, please visit AMP’s website 
at www.goAMP.com. You may obtain an application 
for licensure at www.nh.gov/nhrec or contact the New 
Hampshire Real Estate Commission at 603-271-2748. 
To receive your license, please send the original score 
report(s) that shows your passing scores along with a 
properly completed application for licensure to the New 
Hampshire Real Estate Commission office at 121 S. Fruit 
St., Concord, NH 03301.

	If You Fail the Examination
If you do not achieve a passing score, your score report 
will indicate your scores and reapplication instructions. If 
you pass only one portion, you have up to eight attempts 
within one year to pass the second portion.

Should you fail to pass the exam within the time frame 
noted above you will be required to complete an accredited 
pre-licensing course in addition to any pre-licensing course 
previously submitted to take the original examination, pur-
suant to Rea 303.05.

To reregister for the examination, you must submit your 
score report, with any necessary changes to your registra-
tion information, along with the appropriate examination 
fee to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission.

	If You Do Not Appear for Testing
If you do not appear to take the examination for which you 
are scheduled, you must reapply for another examination 
forfeiting the fee for the examination that you missed, and 
submit the fee for the examination for which you will be 
scheduled. You may reapply to the New Hampshire Real 
Estate Commission.

	Duplicate Score Report
Requests for a duplicate score report must be made in 
writing within one year of the examination date. Complete 
the request form enclosed on page 25 if this booklet, 
include a check or money order for $25 per copy (made 
payable to AMP), and mail your request to AMP. Duplicate 
score reports will be processed and mailed within approxi-
mately five business days following receipt of the request.

http://www.goAMP.com
http://www.nh.gov/nhrec
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EXAMINATION REGISTRATION 
INSTRUCTIONS

All information requested on the examination registration 
form must be provided, or it will be returned.

	 SCHOOL  
PRE-LICENSING PROVIDERS	 CODE

Did not attend a pre-licensing course	 9999
Aldrich and Associates	 0537
Ann Flanagan New Hampshire Real Estate 	 0543
	 School	
Barry School of Real Estate	 0515
Bean Group	 0542
Caron’s Gateway School of Real Estate	 0536
Charline Mason Seminars Unlimited	 0519
John Doran and Associates	 0535
Kathy Roosa School of Real Estate	 0504
Kelly L. Cullen, PhD	 0532
NH Technical Institute – Concord	 0513
Tom Neal School of Real Estate	 0525
Winn Associates Real Estate Education	 0505
Workshops for Modern Real Estate	 0521

LICENSE APPLICATION  
INSTRUCTIONS
After you have passed the New Hampshire Real Estate 
Examination, you must follow the directions provided on 
your passing score report(s) and license application.  
The licensure process cannot begin until you have passed 
the examination and received a passing score report(s) 
from AMP. Licensure application materials must be 
submitted to:

New Hampshire Real Estate Commission 
121 S. Fruit St. 

Concord, NH 03301 
Phone: 603-271-2748 
www.nh.gov/nhrec

http://www.nh.gov/nhrec
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE  
AS A SALESPERSON AND BROKER

SALESPERSON APPLICANTS: After you receive notification from the testing center that you have received a passing grade on 
your examination for a real estate salesperson’s license, the following must be submitted within 6 months from the date of passing the 
examination in order for the Commission to issue a salesperson’s license to you. 

•	 Salesperson Application: The salesperson application must be completed, signed and notarized by the applicant, character 
references and the principal broker no sooner than 30 days prior to submission to the Commission office.

•	 $90.00 application fee: Make checks payable to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire. 

•	 The original examination passing score report(s). If you have misplaced your original report(s) issued to you at the testing 
center, you will need to request a duplicate score report(s) from the testing company. (Request Form on page 25.)

•	 Criminal Record Release Authorization Form: You must submit the criminal record release authorization form, along with 
the $25.00 fee to the NH Department of Safety, Division of State Police. The Commission must receive your criminal record 
report directly from the Division of State Police. The criminal record report can not be submitted to the Commission by 
the applicant. If you have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense in any other jurisdiction, you must submit a 
criminal record report from that jurisdiction.

•	 Proof of 40 hours of accredited pre-licensing education as required by Rea 301.03, if not previously submitted with your 
exam registration. All education must have been completed prior to examination. If you fail to complete the education prior 
to taking the examination, you will be required to retake the examination. 

•	 Certificate of Licensure: If you are licensed or have been licensed as a real estate salesperson or broker in another state(s), 
and have not submitted a Certificate of Licensure from that state(s), the Commission must receive the Certificate(s) prior to 
issuing your license.

•	 Pre-licensing course evaluation form, if not previously submitted with your exam registration. (Form on page 19.)

BROKER APPLICANTS: After you receive notification from the testing center that you have received a passing grade on 
your examination for a real estate broker’s license, the following must be submitted within 6 months from the date of passing the 
examination in order for the Commission to issue a broker’s license to you. 

•	 Broker Application: The broker application must be completed, signed and notarized by the applicant, character references 
and the principal broker no sooner than 30 days prior to submission to the Commission office.

•	 $110.00 application fee: Make checks payable to the Treasurer, State of New Hampshire.

•	 The original examination passing score report(s). If you have misplaced your original report(s) issued to you at the testing 
center, you will need to request a duplicate score report(s) from the testing company. (Request Form on page 25.)

•	 Criminal Record Release Authorization Form: You must submit the criminal record release authorization form, along with 
the $25.00 fee to the NH Department of Safety, Division of State Police. The Commission must receive your criminal record 
report directly from the Division of State Police. The criminal record report can not be submitted to the Commission by 
the applicant. If you have been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense in any other jurisdiction, you must submit a 
criminal record report from that jurisdiction.

•	 Proof of 60 hours of approved education as required by Rea 301.03, if not previously submitted with your exam registration. 
All education must have been completed prior to examination. If you fail to complete the education prior to taking the 
examination, you will be required to retake the examination. 

•	 Surety Bond: You must submit a surety bond in the amount of $25,000 if you are applying for an active principal or 
managing broker license.

•	 Real Estate Transaction Verification Form. (On Commission website at http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html)
•	 Certificate of Licensure: If you are licensed or have been licensed as a real estate salesperson or broker in another state(s), 

and have not submitted a Certificate of Licensure from that state(s), the Commission must receive the Certificate(s) prior to 
issuing your license.

•	 Pre-license evaluation form, if you completed a NH accredited pre-licensing course and did not submit the form with your 
exam registration. (Form on page 19.)

Salesperson and Broker Applicants: Please remember, you must become licensed within six months from the date of passing 
the exam. A candidate who fails to become licensed within this six month period shall be required to meet the education 
requirement and retake the examination, as required by RSA 331-A:11 and Rea 301.03.

http://www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html
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NEW HAMPSHIRE REAL ESTATE  
EXAMINATION REGISTRATION FORM

To apply for a New Hampshire Real Estate Licensing Examination, complete this form 
and mail it with the examination fee to the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission, 
121 S. Fruit St., Concord, NH 03301. 

The NH Real Estate Commission provides lists of candidates who pass the exam to real estate firms that request the lists 
for hiring purposes. This list includes the exam candidate names and addresses only. Please specify whether or not you 
give the Commission permission to include your name and address on this list.   Yes     No.

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY. All sections of this form must be completed. All incomplete forms shall be returned to 
applicants for completion.

  1.	 LEGAL NAME	 ________________________________________________________________________________
	 Last Name                                                First Name                                        Middle                    Suffix, e.g., III, Jr.

  2.	 MAILING ADDRESS_ ________________________________________________________________________________
	 Number, Street and Apartment Number

		  ________________________________________________________________________________
	 City	 State	 Zip Code

  3.	 TELEPHONE NUMBER	 (_______) _______ – ___________    and    (_______) _______ – ___________
		        Home Telephone Number                                                    Work Telephone Number

  4.	 SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER	__________ – _______ – __________

  5.	 DATE OF BIRTH	 ______ – ______ – ______
	 	 Month	 Day	 Year

  6.	 GENDER	  Male        Female

  7.	 EMAIL ADDRESS	 ________________________________________________________________________________

  8.	 SCHOOL CODE	 __________ (See page 14 of the candidate handbook for school codes. If you did not attend a  
		  school, you must provide the appropriate code for no school attended.)

  9.	 EDUCATION The required education on page 2-3 of this handbook must be completed prior to your examination date. 
	 To ensure that your education is acceptable, you may submit proof of education along with this registration form.

10.	 EXAMINATION FEE	 $170 Broker Examination    $155 Salesperson Examination
Payment may be made by cash, or by personal check, cashier’s check or money order. Cash in the exact amount is only 
accepted if you are registering in person at the Commission Office listed above. Make checks payable to Treasurer, State 
of New Hampshire. Registration fees are not refundable.

11.	 SIGNATURE AND DATE
I certify that I am not affiliated with a real estate school as an administrator, instructor or designee taking the examination 
for any purpose other than to obtain a license. The information I have provided on this registration form is true and 
complete to the best of my knowledge.

Signature:________________________________________________  Date:_________________________

TEST TYPE:  Salesperson 	  Broker	 TEST PORTION:  Both      State      National

Is this the first time you are taking this examination?    Yes      No	 If no, last test date: _______________________

If you require special testing accommodations, please check the box below and submit the required forms to AMP via mail to 
18000 W. 105th St., Olathe, KS 66061-7543 or by fax to 913-895-4651. Special testing accommodations needed:  Yes

**IMPORTANT**  ATTENTION ALL CANDIDATES LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE
PURSUANT TO: Rea 301.03 (c) and RSA 331-A: 11-a Filing Requirements

Please provide the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission with an original Certificate of Good Standing 
from the licensing authority of the state in which you are licensed, along with your Registration Form.

License # __________________ State _________

FOR COMMISSION USE ONLY

Check #:

Amount:

          SCORESPass Both 
Pass State  State: ________

Pass National  National: ________

Absent 
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NEW HAMPSHIRE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION

This evaluation should be submitted with your exam registration form if your 40-hour pre-licensing course has been 
completed, or submit this evaluation form with your application for licensure.

PRE-LICENSING INSTRUCTOR AND COURSE EVALUATION

It is the goal of the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission that students receive quality real estate education. Your 
constructive comments on the course content, the instructor, and the learning environment will help us ensure a quality 
learning experience for future students. We appreciate your time and candor in completing this evaluation form. Thank 
you for your cooperation.

INSTRUCTOR: _____________________________ SCHOOL:_______________________________________________

LOCATION: ________________________________ DATES:_________________________________________________

Did class always begin on time?________________________________________________________________________

Was class ever dismissed early? _____________ How early?_ _______________________________________________

Circle the number of your answer to each question using the scale below. 

5 = Excellent 4 = Very Good 3 = Good 2 = Poor 1 = Very Poor

  What was the level of knowledge demonstrated by the instructor?	  5      4      3      2      1

  How prepared did the instructor appear to be for each session of the course?	  5      4      3      2      1

  Rate the instructor’s ability to clearly communicate ideas.	  5      4      3      2      1

  How well did the instructor summarize and teach the NH laws?	  5      4      3      2      1

  Rate the amount of time spent on topics/chapters.  
  (Too much time, not enough time, just about right)	  5      4      3      2      1

  How relevant to the topic being taught were the examples and illustrations?	  5      4      3      2      1

  How satisfied were you with the answers to your questions?	  5      4      3      2      1

  How well did the instructor control class discussion to keep the course on track?	  5      4      3      2      1

  How well do you believe this course has prepared you for the exam and for real estate  
  brokerage? 	  5      4      3      2      1

  What is your overall evaluation of this instructor?	  5      4      3      2      1

  What is your overall evaluation of this course?	  5      4      3      2      1

Additional Comments:________________________________________________________________________________

Please use reverse side if more space is needed or attach a separate page			    Name (optional)
	
 

You may email the Real Estate Commission office at: nhrec@nh.gov
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REQUEST FOR SPECIAL 
EXAMINATION ACCOMMODATIONS

If you have a disability covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act, please complete this form and the Documentation
of Disability-Related Needs on the reverse side and submit it with your application at least 45 days prior to your 
requested examination date. The information you provide and any documentation regarding your disability and your need
for accommodation in testing will be treated with strict confidentiality. 

Candidate Information
Candidate ID # ______________________      Requested Assessment Center:______________________

	
 Name (Last, First, Middle Initial, Former Name)

	
 Mailing Address

	

	
 City State Zip Code

	
 Daytime Telephone Number Email Address

Special Accommodations
I request special accommodations for the _ __________________________________________________  examination.

Please provide (check all that apply):

______  Reader

______  Extended testing time (time and a half)

______  Reduced distraction environment

______  Please specify below if other special accommodations are needed. 

________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________

Comments:_ _________________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________

______________________________________________________________________________________

PLEASE READ AND SIGN:
I give my permission for my diagnosing professional to discuss with AMP staff my records and history as they relate to the 
requested accommodation.

Signature:________________________________________________________   Date:_______________________________

Return this form to:  
Examination Services, AMP, 18000 W. 105th St., Olathe, KS 66061-7543, Fax 913-895-4650 

If you have questions, call Candidate Services at 800-345-6559.

Rev. 4/19/2016
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DOCUMENTATION OF 
DISABILITY-RELATED NEEDS

Please have this section completed by an appropriate professional (education professional, physician, psychologist,  
psychiatrist) to ensure that AMP is able to provide the required accommodations.

Professional Documentation
I have known __________________________________________________ since _____ / _____ / _____ in my capacity as a 
	   Candidate Name                                                                            	 Date

_______________________________________________________________________.
	 My Professional Title

The candidate discussed with me the nature of the test to be administered. It is my opinion that, because of this candidate’s 
disability described below, he/she should be accommodated by providing the special arrangements listed on the reverse 
side.

Description of Disability:_ _______________________________________________________________________________

	

	

	

	

Signed:____________________________________________________   Title:_____________________________________

Printed Name:________________________________________________________________________________________

Address:____________________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Telephone Number:______________________________   Email Address:_ ________________________________________

Date:_ ________________________________________   License # (if applicable):__________________________________

Return this form to:  
Examination Services, AMP, 18000 W. 105th St., Olathe, KS 66061-7543 

If you have questions, call Candidate Services at 800-345-6559. 

Rev. 2/4/2015
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DUPLICATE NEW HAMPSHIRE SCORE REPORT
DIRECTIONS: Use this form to request a duplicate score report. Complete all requested information. This form must be received 
within one year of the examination date and include a check or money order for $25.00 per copy. Duplicate score reports will be 
mailed within approximately five business days following receipt of the request.

Name:__________________________________________________________ Social Security #: _________________________

Address:_ _______________________________________________________________________________________________

                 ________________________________________________________ Daytime Phone:__________________________

Test Taken:	 Salesperson     Broker     Examination Date: ______________    Assessment Center:___________________

I hereby authorize AMP to send me a duplicate score report.

Signature:______________________________________________________________ Date:_ ___________________________

AMP 
18000 W. 105th St. 
Olathe, KS 66061
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121 South Fruit Street, Concord NH 03301-2412

         Tel (603) 271-2748 Fax (603) 271-7928
              http://www.nh.gov/nhrec

                    E-mail: nhrec@nh.gov

APPLICATION FOR LICENSE AS A REAL ESTATE BROKER, RESIDENT AND NON-RESIDENT
FEE $110.00  Make checks payable to: TREASURER, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE
PRINT OR TYPE.  All questions must be answered in full.  Do not leave any section blank, except where instructed to do so.

MR   MRS   MS 
Applicant’s Full Legal Name: ___________________________________________________ Date of Birth: __________________________

Resident Physical Address: ___________________________________________________________________________________________

Resident Mailing Address:  ___________________________________________________________________________________________

Resident Tel.#/Cell #: ____________________/_____________________ E-mail:_______________________________________________

The Commission publishes lists of licensees’ names, resident addresses and license expiration dates to real estate continuing education 
providers so that they may send upcoming course offerings to licensees prior to their renewal dates.  Do you give the Commission permission 
to provide your name and resident address to real estate education providers? Yes No. The Commission notifies licensees of any law 
and/or administrative rule changes by e-mail.  Please check the e-mail address you prefer to have notices sent to Resident  Business.  
If you don’t have an e-mail address, the Commission will send a notification by postcard.
Which of the following is applicable?

LICENSE STATUS:

Inactive (no bond required) Inactive applicants are not required to answer questions 1, 10, 11, 12 and 13.
Active (principal and managing brokers must submit a $25,000 surety bond as required by RSA 331-A:14)

BROKER TYPE: 
“Principal broker” means the individual broker, including the broker designated by a corporation, partnership or association, whom the
New Hampshire Real Estate Commission holds responsible for the actions of licensees who are assigned to such individual broker.
“Managing broker” means a broker who manages a branch office for a principal broker. (This application must be accompanied by a

          Amendment Notification/Change Request Form 5 RE or Firm Branch Application Form completed by the principal broker stating that
         you will be operating as a managing broker under his/her license.

“Associate broker” means a broker who operates under the supervision of a principal or managing broker. (An associate broker must 
have the Associate Broker Affiliation Form on page 3 of the application completed and signed by the principal broker under which 
he/she will operate.  The $25,000 bond is not required.)

1. Real Estate Business Name where you will be working ___________________________________________________________________

Principal Broker’s Name:______________________________________________________ Will you be working at a branch office?______

If yes, name of Managing Broker ______________________________________________________________________________________

Real Estate Business Physical Address: _________________________________________________________________________________

Real Estate Business Mailing Address: _________________________________________________________________________________

Business Tel: #: ___________________ Business Fax #: __________________ Business Email:  __________________________________

2. Starting with your present address, list all locations with approximate dates where you have lived during the last 5 years.
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

3. Starting with your present employer, list your employment record for the past 5 years providing names and addresses.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

4. In what states, if any, including New Hampshire, have you ever been or are now registered or licensed to sell real estate?

Include date(s) registered or licensed______________________________________________________________________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________ __________________________
             License #            Date Processed
_______________________ __________________________
         License Dates                Form#
_________________ ___________________
        Firm Ref.#             Trade name Ref.#
_________________ ___________________
            Check #             Amount
______________________________________
                           Receipt No.

FORM 1-RE
BROKER
REV.12/15
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*5. Have you ever been refused a real estate license or any other business license or had any such license suspended or revoked? If so, 

by whom and when?__________________________________________________________________________________________

*6. Have you ever been through bankruptcy or insolvency or made a compromise with your creditors?__________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

*7. Are there any undischarged court judgments or liens against you at this time?_________________ If “yes”, give amount and name 

of court_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

*8. Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense?___________ If “yes”, contact the Commission at (603) 271-

4127 for an Arrest and Conviction Form or obtain a copy from the Commission’s website at www.nh.gov/nhrec/examinfo.html.

*9. Have you ever been or are you now involved in any matters which may affect your good repute or trustworthiness or have any

relation to or bearing upon whether you are entitled to public confidence?_________________________________________________

* APPLICANT: ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS 1-9 ABOVE MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE THE PRINCIPAL BROKER 
AND CHARACTER WITNESSES SIGN THIS APPLICATION.  IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO QUESTIONS #5, 6, 7, 8, 
OR 9, YOU MUST ATTACH A SHEET OF PAPER GIVING FULL DETAILS AND EXPLANATIONS.

10. Will you be conducting real estate business under your own name in NH?________________

11. Will you be conducting business as a real estate principal broker under a trade name in NH?________ If yes, a Certificate from the 
NH Secretary of State, along with a completed NH Real Estate Commission Trade Name Registration Form 8-RE, must be submitted 
with this application for broker’s license.  A Form 8-RE may be obtained from the Commission’s website at http://www.nh.gov/nhrec.

12. Will you be operating a real estate business as a sole proprietorship, partnership, association, corporation, limited liability 
company or any other business association?_________________ NOTE:  If not registered, you must first register your real estate firm 
with the NH Secretary of State.  You must supply a copy of a Certificate issued by the Secretary of State to the Commission, and a 
completed NH Real Estate Commission Form 3-RE, Application for License as a Real Estate Firm/Corporation, along with this 
application for broker’s license.

13. If you are applying for a managing broker license, please state the business location of that Branch Office, and submit along with 
this application, an Amendment Notification/Change Request Form 5-RE or Firm Branch Application Form completed by the 
principal broker stating that you will be designated as a managing broker.

__________________________________________________________________________________Tel. #_____________________

14. The following statement applies to principal broker applicants only:
As a principal broker, pursuant to RSA 331-A:13,V, I hereby give permission to the NH Real Estate Commission to audit the escrow 
account or accounts.  I attest that I have read the foregoing statement and affixed my signature below.

________________________________________________________
SIGNATURE OF PRINCIPAL BROKER APPLICANT ONLY

*    *     *     * ALL APPLICANTS MUST PROVIDE A NOTARIZED SIGNATURE BELOW *     *     *     *

_______________________________________________________________
Signature of Applicant

State of ________________________________ County of  _________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______________________day of_____________________________________20_________  

                                                                                                  _________________________________________
Notary Public/Justice of the Peace    

                            (NOTARY SEAL)
My commission expires: _____________________________
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All Associate Brokers Applying for an Active License are Required to have this Section Completed by the Principal Broker
Upon receipt of the license herein applied for, the above named applicant will be employed by me or will otherwise be under contract 
with me to perform services as a real estate associate broker, and will work under my supervision.  I will display his/her license 
prominently at my place of business, and when he/she leaves my employ I will notify the NH Real Estate Commission within 5 days 
of termination and return his/her wall license and pocket ID to the Commission, as required by RSA 331-A:17, IV and Rea 404.02.

To the best of my knowledge the applicant is of good moral character and is trustworthy and the information provided by the applicant
on this application is true and accurate.

Principal Broker’s Name: ______________________________________________________________________________________

Business/Firm Name: __________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Tel.#:__________________________________ Principal Broker License #:_______________________________________

                                                                                                    __________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                      Signature of Principal Broker

State of _____________________________________________ County of _______________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______________________day of __________________________________ 20 __________

                      (Notary Seal)                                                        __________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                                    Notary Public/Justice of the Peace

                                                                                                  My commission expires:_______________________________________

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   * *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *
Affidavit No. 1

I, the undersigned, on oath depose and say that I am in no way related to the applicant by either blood or marriage, and that said 
applicant for a real estate license is a person of good repute, trustworthy and entitled to public confidence and that I know of no 
circumstance or dealing by the applicant which would disqualify him/her for the license applied for.

_________________________________________________ __________________________________________________
Name of Character Reference (Type or Print) Address of Character Reference

__________________________________________________
Signature of Character Reference

State of __________________________________________ County of _________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________________ day of ______________________________________ 20________

__________________________________________________
Notary Public/Justice of the Peace

(Notary Seal)
My commission expires _____________________________________

Affidavit No. 2
I, the undersigned, on oath depose and say that I am in no way related to the applicant by either blood or marriage, and that said 
applicant for a real estate license is a person of good repute, trustworthy and entitled to public confidence and that I know of no 
circumstance or dealing by the applicant which would disqualify him/her for the license applied for.

_________________________________________________ __________________________________________________
Name of Character Reference (Type or Print) Address of Character Reference

__________________________________________________
Signature of Character Reference

State of __________________________________________ County of _________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________________ day of _____________________________________ 20_________

__________________________________________________
Notary Public/Justice of the Peace

(Notary Seal)
My commission expires _____________________________________



Affidavit No. 3
I, the undersigned, on oath depose and say that I am in no way related to the applicant by either blood or marriage, and that said 
applicant for a real estate license is a person of good repute, trustworthy and entitled to public confidence and that I know of no 
circumstance or dealing by the applicant which would disqualify him/her for the license applied for.

_________________________________________________ __________________________________________________
Name of Character Reference (Type or Print) Address of Character Reference

__________________________________________________
Signature of Character Reference

State of __________________________________________ County of _________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________________ day of _____________________________________ 20_________

__________________________________________________
Notary Public/Justice of the Peace

(Notary Seal)

My commission expires _____________________________________

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *    *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *  *

EMPLOYING BROKER’S VERIFICATION
EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENT OF APPLICANT PURSUANT TO RSA 331-A:10-II

I hereby certify that ___________________________________________________________ was employed by me as a real estate

salesperson from /        /        to         /        /      He/she worked full/part time and devoted an average of _________________
                             Mo.  Day   Yr.        Mo.  Day  Yr.
hours per week to his/her work.  In my opinion his/her overall employment by me as a salesperson amounted to ___________% of

full time employment based on 40 hours per week, or the equivalent of ______________, _________________ full time.
Years                       Months

I, __________________________________________________ being duly sworn, state that I have read the foregoing and knowingly
made the foregoing answer, statements and representations therein contained, and that each and all such answers, statements and 
representations are true.

                                                                                                       ________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                           Broker Signature and Broker License # 

State of ___________________________________________ County of _________________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______________________ day of ______________________________________ 20______

                                                                                                      _________________________________________________________
                                                                                                                             Notary Public/Justice of the Peace

                (Notary Seal)                                                                My commission expires: ____________________________________

NHREP Handbook, page 30



ALL NON-RESIDENTS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING POWER-OF-ATTORNEY FORM

POWER-OF-ATTORNEY

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS that the subscriber, desiring to conduct a real estate business in the State of New 
Hampshire in conformity with the laws thereof, hereby irrevocably constitutes and appoints the New Hampshire Real Estate 
Commission or its Executive Director, for the time being, to be the subscriber’s true and lawful attorneys in aforesaid state, in
compliance with the provisions of Chapter 331-A New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated, as inserted by the Laws of 1959, 
Chapter 222, and any amendments thereto, upon whom all lawful processes in any action or proceeding against the subscriber may be 
served and said subscriber hereby stipulates and agrees that any lawful process which is served on said attorneys shall be of the same 
legal force and validity as if served personally within this State.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned has executed and subscribed to the Power-of-Attorney this 

___________________________day of ______________________________________________ 20________________

_________________________________________________________
Signature of Applicant

State of _____________________________________________________

County of ___________________________________________________

On this _____________________________ day of ______________________________________ 20 ______________ personally 

appeared the person who subscribed to the foregoing instrument and acknowledged the same as his/her voluntary act and deed before 

me.

_________________________________________________________
Notary Public/Justice of the Peace

(Notary Seal) My commission expires:_____________________________________
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   121 South Fruit Street

        Concord, NH 03301-2412
Tel (603) 271-2748 Fax (603) 271-7928
       http://www.nh.gov/nhrec
       E-mail: nhrec@nh.gov

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE AS A REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON, RESIDENT AND NON-RESIDENT

FEE $90.00 Make checks payable to TREASURER, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE

PRINT OR TYPE.  All questions must be answered in full.  Do not leave any section blank, except where instructed to do so.

MR   MRS   MS 
Applicant’s Full Legal Name: ___________________________________________________ Date of Birth: ____________________

Resident Physical Address: _____________________________________________________________________________________

Resident Mailing Address: ______________________________________________________________________________________

Resident Tel.#/Cell #: _____________________/_____________________ E-mail: _______________________________________

The Commission publishes lists of licensees’ names, resident addresses and license expiration dates to real estate continuing education 
providers so that they may send upcoming course offerings to licensees prior to their renewal dates.  Do you give the Commission 
permission to provide your name and resident address to real estate education providers?  _______Yes   ______No. The Commission 
notifies licensees of any law and/or administrative rule changes by e-mail. Please check the e-mail address you prefer to have notices 
sent to Resident Business.  If you don’t have an e-mail address, the Commission will send a notification by postcard.

License status: Active Inactive (Inactive applicants are not required to complete question #1)

1.  The business name and/or principal broker’s name with whom you will be employed or under contract with as a real estate

salesperson?_________________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Tel. #: ____________________ Business Fax #: ___________________ Business E-mail:  __________________________

Will you be working at a branch office?_________ If yes, name of managing broker _______________________________________

2. Starting with your present legal address, list all locations with approximate dates where you have lived during the last 5 years.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

3.  Starting with your present employer, list your employment record for the past 5 years providing names and addresses.
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

4.  In which states, if any, including New Hampshire, have you ever been or are now registered or licensed to sell real estate?

Include date(s) registered or licensed._____________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

*5.  Have you ever been refused a real estate license or any other business license or had any such license suspended or revoked?  If 

so, by whom and when? ________________________________________________________________________________________

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________

_______________________ __________________________
             License #             Date Processed
_______________________ __________________________
         License Dates                Form#
_______________________ __________________________
           Broker Ref. # Work Location Ref. #
_________________ ___________________
            Check #              Amount
_____________________________________
                              Receipt #

FORM 2-RE
SALES 
REV. 12/15

http://www.nh.gov/nhrec
http://nhrec@nhrec.state.nh.us


*6.  Are there any undischarged court judgments or liens against you at this time? _______________________ If “yes”, give amount 

and name of court____________________________________________________________________________________________

*7.  Have you ever been through bankruptcy or insolvency or made a compromise with your creditors? ________________________

*8.  Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor or felony offense? _____________ If “yes”, contact the Commission office at 
(603) 271-4127 for an Arrest and Conviction Form or obtain a copy from the Commission’s website at www.nh.gov/nhrec.

*9. Have you ever been or are you now involved in any matters which may affect your good repute or trustworthiness or have any 
relation to or bearing upon whether you are entitled to public confidence?_______________________________________________

10. Do you understand the provisions of NH RSA 331-A and Administrative Rules Rea 100-700?________________________ 

*ANSWERS TO QUESTIONS 1-10 ABOVE MUST BE COMPLETED BEFORE THE PRINCIPAL BROKER AND 
CHARACTER WITNESSES SIGN THIS APPLICATION.  IF YOU ANSWERED “YES” TO QUESTIONS #5, 6, 7, 8, OR 9,
YOU MUST ATTACH A SHEET OF PAPER PROVIDING FULL DETAILS AND AN EXPLANATION.

*    *    *    *    * * All Applicants Must Provide A Notarized Signature Below    *    *    *    *    *    *    *

________________________________________________
SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT

State of _________________________________________ County of  _________________________________________

On this _________________________ day of _______________________________ 20__________ personally appeared the above 
named applicant and made oath that the foregoing statements made by him/her are true.

_______________________________________________
JUSTICE OF THE PEACE/NOTARY PUBLIC

(NOTARY SEAL)
My commission expires: _____________________________________

*   *    *    *    *   *    *    * *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    *    * *    *    *    *    *     *    *    *   *

Applicants applying for an active license are required to have this section completed by the principal broker
Upon receipt of the license herein applied for, the above named applicant will be employed by me or will otherwise be under contract 
with me to perform services as a real estate salesperson, and will work under my supervision.  I will display his/her license
prominently at my place of business, and when he/she leaves my employ I will notify the New Hampshire Real Estate Commission as 
required by RSA 331-A:17, IV, and Rea 404.02 within 5 days of termination and return his/her wall license and pocket ID to the 
Commission.

To the best of my knowledge the applicant is of good moral character and is trustworthy and the information provided by the applicant 

on this application is true and accurate.

Principal Broker’s Name: ______________________________________________________________________________________

Business/Firm Name: _________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Address: ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Business Phone: __________________________________ Principal Broker License #: _____________________________________

__________________________________________________
SIGNATURE OF PRINCIPAL BROKER

State of __________________________________________ County of _________________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______________________day of ___________________________________  20__________

_________________________________________________________
(NOTARY SEAL)                                                 JUSTICE OF THE PEACE/NOTARY PUBLIC

My commission expires: _____________________________________
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Affidavit No. 1
I, the undersigned, on oath depose and say that I am in no way related to the applicant by either blood or marriage, and that said 
applicant for a real estate license is a person of good repute, trustworthy and entitled to public confidence and that I know of no 
circumstance or dealing by the applicant which would disqualify him/her for the license applied for.

_________________________________________________ __________________________________________________
Name of Character Reference (Type or Print) Address of Character Reference

__________________________________________________
Signature of Character Reference

State of __________________________________________ County of _________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________________ day of ______________________________________ 20________

__________________________________________________
Justice of the Peace/Notary Public

(Notary Seal)

My commission expires ______________________________________

Affidavit No. 2
I, the undersigned, on oath depose and say that I am in no way related to the applicant by either blood or marriage, and that said 
applicant for a real estate license is a person of good repute, trustworthy and entitled to public confidence and that I know of no 
circumstance or dealing by the applicant which would disqualify him/her for the license applied for.

_________________________________________________ __________________________________________________
Name of Character Reference (Type or Print) Address of Character Reference

__________________________________________________
Signature of Character Reference

State of __________________________________________ County of _________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________________ day of _____________________________________ 20_________

__________________________________________________
Justice of the Peace/Notary Public

(Notary Seal)

My commission expires ______________________________________

Affidavit No. 3
I, the undersigned, on oath depose and say that I am in no way related to the applicant by either blood or marriage, and that said 
applicant for a real estate license is a person of good repute, trustworthy and entitled to public confidence and that I know of no 
circumstance or dealing by the applicant which would disqualify him/her for the license applied for.

_________________________________________________ __________________________________________________
Name of Character Reference (Type or Print) Address of Character Reference

__________________________________________________
Signature of Character Reference

State of __________________________________________ County of _________________________________________

Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____________________ day of _____________________________________ 20_________

__________________________________________________
Justice of the Peace/Notary Public

(Notary Seal)

My commission expires ______________________________________

NHREP Handbook, page 35
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ALL NON-RESIDENTS MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING POWER-OF-ATTORNEY FORM

POWER-OF-ATTORNEY

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS that the subscriber, desiring to conduct a real estate business in the State of New 
Hampshire in conformity with the laws thereof, hereby irrevocably constitutes and appoints the New Hampshire Real Estate 
Commission or its Executive Director, for the time being, to be the subscriber’s true and lawful attorneys in aforesaid state, in 
compliance with the provisions of Chapter 331-A New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated, as inserted by the Laws of 1959, 
Chapter 222, and any amendments thereto, upon whom all lawful processes in any action or proceeding against the subscriber may be 
served and said subscriber hereby stipulates and agrees that any lawful process which is served on said attorneys shall be of the same 
legal force and validity as if served personally within this State.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned has executed and subscribed to the Power-of-Attorney this 

____________________________day of ______________________________________________ 20________________

_________________________________________________________
Signature of Applicant

State of _____________________________________________________

County of ___________________________________________________

On this _____________________________ day of ______________________________________ 20 ______________ personally 

appeared the person who subscribed to the foregoing instrument and acknowledged the same as his/her voluntary act and deed before 

me.

_________________________________________________________
Justice of the Peace/Notary Public

(Notary Seal) My commission expires:_____________________________________
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1. 	 Agency Relationships and Contracts 28 (11-15-2)

A. 	 Agency Relationships (6)
  1.	 Creating Agency
  2.	 Types of Agency (including implied agency)
  3.	 Rights, Duties and Obligations of the Parties
  4.	 Termination and Remedies for Non-Performance
  5.	 Disclosure (related to representation)

B. 	 General Legal Principles, Theory and Concepts about 
Contracts (8)	
  1.	 Unilateral / Bilateral
  2.	 Validity
  3.	 Void and Voidable
  4.	 Notice of Delivery / Acceptance
  5.	 Executory / Executed
  6.	 Enforceability
  7.	 Addenda to Contracts 
  8.	 Electronic Signatures / Paperless Transactions

C. 	 Purchase Contracts (Contracts between Seller and Buyer) (7)
  1.	 General Principles and Legal Concepts
  2.	 Purchase Contract (contract of sale, purchase and sale 

agreement, etc.)
  3.	 Options (contractual right to buy)
  4.	 Basic Provisions / Purpose / Elements
  5.	 Conditions for Termination / Breach of Contract
  6.	 Offer and Acceptance (counter offers, multiple offers, 

negotiation, earnest money)
  7.	 Contingencies
  8.	 Duties and Obligations of the Parties
  9.	 Handling Funds of Others (trust/escrow funds, earnest 

money, delivery)

D. 	 Service / Listing Buyer Contracts (Contracts between 
Licensee and Seller or Buyer) (7)
  1.	 General Principles and Legal Concepts
  2.	 Basic Provisions / Purpose / Elements
  3.	 Duties and Obligations of the Parties
  4.	 Conditions for Termination/Breach of Contract
  5.	 Remuneration / Consideration / Fees
  6.	 Types of Service / Listing Contracts

2. 	 Real Property Ownership/Interest 13 (5-8-0)

A. 	 Rights of Ownership (1)

B. 	 Types of Ownership (estates in land) (2)
  1.	 Joint Tenancy
  2.	 Tenancy in Common
  3.	 Trusts
  4.	 Condominiums

C. 	 Leasehold Interest (1)	
  1.	 Basic Concepts and Terminology
  2.	 Types of Leases
  3.	 Basic Elements and Provisions of Leases
  4.	 Rights and Duties of the Parties
  5.	 Remedies for Default / Non-Performance

D. 	 Forms of Business Ownership (1)
  1.	 Sole Proprietorship
  2.	 Corporation
  3.	 General or Limited Partnership
  4.	 LLC

E. 	 Private Restrictions on Real Property/Land Use and Matters 
Affecting Ownership (4)
  1.	 Liens
	 a.	 Voluntary
	 b.	 Involuntary
	 c.	 Priority
  2.	 Easements / Rights of Way / Licenses
  3.	 Preexisting Leases
  4.	 Encroachment
  5.	 Deed Conditions, Covenants, and Restrictions
  6.	 Property Owner Associations

F. 	 Government Powers and Control of Land Use (4)
  1.	 Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
  2.	 Land Use Restrictions and Regulations (i.e., zoning)
  3.	 Property Taxation
  4.	 Subdivision/Planned Unit Regulations (e.g., condominiums, 

cooperatives, planned unit developments)

3.	 Finance 14 (5-8-1)

A.	 Basic Concepts and Terminology (4)
  1.	 Equity
  2.	 Loan-to-Value Ratio
  3.	 Term and Payment
  4.	 Principal and Interest
  5.	 Direct and Indirect Costs (points, discounts)
  6.	 Return on Investment / Rate of Return

B.	 Methods of Financing (3)
  1.	 Government Programs (e.g., FHA, VA)
  2.	 Conventional
  3.	 Owner-financed
  4.	 Land Contract / Contract for Deed

C.	 Financing Instruments (Mortgages, Trust Deeds, Promissory 
Notes) (2)
  1.	 Basic Elements and Provisions of Financing Instruments
  2.	 Legal Principles
  3.	 Non-Performance (e.g., foreclosure, default)

D.	 Government Oversight (4)
  1.	 RESPA
  2.	 Regulation Z
  3.	 Truth-in-Lending Act
  4.	 Antitrust
  5.	 Mortgage Fraud
  6.	 Equal Credit Opportunity Act
  7.	 Dodd-Frank Act (TILA-RESPA Integrated Disclosure (TRID) 

rule)

E. 	 Lending Process (1)
  1.	 Pre-approval and Pre-qualification (e.g., debt ratios, credit 

scoring and history)
  2.	 Parties to the Lending Process (e.g., loan originator, 

underwriter, mortgage broker)
  3.	 Short Sale

DETAILED CONTENT OUTLINE
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4. 	 Real Property 14 (3-8-3)

A. 	 Methods of Legal Description of Land (1)
  1.	 Metes and Bounds
  2.	 Rectangular Survey
  3.	 Lot and Block

B. 	 Methods of Measurement (1)
  1.	 Structures (space and volume)
  2.	 Livable Area
  3.	 Land Measurement

C. 	 Property Valuation (3)
  1.	 Basic Concepts and Terminology
  2.	 Influences and Characteristics Affecting Value
  3.	 Comparative Market Analysis (performed by a real estate 

licensee)
  4.	 Broker Price Opinion
  5.	 Real Property (e.g., fixtures vs. personal property, chattel)

D. 	 Methods of Valuation (Performed by an Appraiser) (3)
  1.	 Sales Comparison (Market Data) Approach
  2.	 Cost Approach
  3.	 Income Analysis Approach
  4.	 Appraisal Process / Procedure

E. 	 Conveyance of Real Property (6)
  1.	 Definition of Clear (Marketable) Title
  2.	 Matters Affecting Title
  3.	 Recordation
  4.	 Title Insurance
  5.	 Deeds
  6.	 Wills
  7.	 Court-Ordered Sale (e.g., foreclosure)
  8.	 Settlement Procedures (closing the transaction)

5. 	 Marketing Regulations (Purchase and Rental) 10 (4-6-0)

A. 	 Property Advertising Disclosures (3)
  1.	 Environmental Concern (e.g., lead-based paint, radon)
  2.	 Property Condition
  3.	 Material Facts

B. 	 Licensee Advertising (3)
  1.	 Antitrust
  2.	 Do-Not-Call List
  3.	 CAN-SPAM Act
  4.	 Social Media and Internet

C.	 Fair Housing (4)
  1.	 Federal Fair Housing Act
  2.	 Protected Classes 
  3.	 Redlining 
  4.	 Blockbusting
  5.	 Steering 
  6.	 Advertising

6. 	 Property Management 8 (2-4-2)

A. 	 General Principles of Property Management Agreements
B. 	 Basic Provisions / Purpose / Elements of Property 

Management Agreements
C. 	 Types of Contracts
D. 	 Duties and Obligations of the Parties
E. 	 Market Analysis and Tenant Acquisition
F. 	 Accounts and Disbursement
G. 	Property Maintenance and Improvements

7. 	 Real Estate Calculations 13 (0-10-3)

A. 	 Compensation, Commission and Fees
B. 	 Valuation / Market Sale Price and Yields
C. 	 Net to Seller, Cost to Buyer (credits & debits)
D. 	 Tax and Other Prorations
E. 	 Points
F. 	 Loan-to-Value Ratios
G. 	Measurement (e.g., square footage, acreage, volume)
H. 	 Property Management / Investment (e.g., rate of return)

Implementation Schedule – Specifications based on 2015 Job 
Analysis
 
AMP Real Estate Examination Program:

•	 March 15, 2016:  AL, GA	 •	 May 3, 2016:  NC, SD, VT

•	 April 5, 2016:  IL, MO, MT, WY	 •	 June 1, 2016:  WA

•	 April 19, 2016:  ND, NE, NH

Subcategory targets and cognitive level targets (i.e., the numbers 
appearing in parentheses) are guidelines, and the actual num-
ber of items on test forms may vary slightly from these targets. 
Five unscored pretest items will be included on each test form. 
Examinations are designed to be administered in a 2.5 hour testing 
session. When combined with a state-specific portion, sufficient addi-
tional testing time will be allocated.
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In addition, all items will be classified according to the cognitive level that is expected to be required for the entry-level  
candidate to appropriately respond to the item. The cognitive level classifications are defined in the following table, which  
also shows the percentage of items at each level for the salesperson examination.

Level	  Definition	 Percentage of Items         

Recall (1)	 Requires only recognition of isolated information, such as specific facts, 	 30 
	 generalizations, concepts, principles or procedures. The information  
	 generally does not vary relative to the situation.

Application (2)	 Requires interpretation, classification or manipulation of limited concepts	 59 
	 or data, in which the response or outcome is situationally dependent,  
	 but not overly complex. 

Analysis (3)	 Requires integration or synthesis of a variety of concepts to solve a 	 11 
	 specific problem situation (for example, evaluating and rendering judgments  
	 on complex problems with many situational variables).
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REFERENCES
The references provided below are some of the available relevant written study materials for the National Salesperson  
and Broker Examinations. However, they are not necessarily recommended by AMP or the New Hampshire Real Estate 
Commission. Specific editions or years of publications are not provided; you should use the most recent version. Computer 
software is also available from several publishing companies, but it is not listed here.
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Scarisbrick, Publishers.
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Education Co.

Geschwender, Arlyne. Real Estate Principles and Practices. Scottsdale: Gorsuch Scarisbrick, Publishers.

Gibson, Frank; Karp, James and Klayman, Elliot. Real Estate Law. Chicago: Real Estate Education Co.

Jacobus, Charles J. and Harwood, Bruce. Real Estate: An Introduction to the Profession. Englewood Cliffs, NJ:  
Prentice-Hall.

Jacobus, Charles J. and Harwood, Bruce. Real Estate Principles. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall.
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Reilly, John W. The Language of Real Estate. Chicago: Real Estate Education Co.

Sirota, David. Essentials of Real Estate Finance. Chicago: Real Estate Education Co.

Sirota, David. Essentials of Real Estate Investment. Chicago: Real Estate Education Co.

Ventolo, William L., Jr. and Williams, Martha R. Fundamentals of Real Estate Appraisal. Chicago: Real Estate Education 
Co.

Ventolo, William L., Jr.; Tamper, Ralph and Allaway, Wellington J. Mastering Real Estate Mathematics. Chicago: Real 
Estate Education Co.

Wiedemer, John P. Real Estate Finance. Englewood Cliffs, NJ: Prentice-Hall.
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