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OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 
DIVISION OF LICENSING AND BOARD ADMINISTRATION 
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Phone: 603-271-2152 

 
 
 
 Dear Applicant:  
 

Thank you for your interest in practicing acupuncture in New Hampshire. This packet contains 
all of the materials you need to complete your application for licensure. 

 
Acupuncture Laws and Administrative Rules 

 

RSA328-G the practice act and Acp 100-600, the administrative rules which govern the licensing 
and practice of acupuncture in New Hampshire, can be found on our website: 
http://www.oplc.nh.gov/acupuncture/ 

 

General Guidelines and Requirements for Licensure 
 

Read through the application carefully. Please note that since there are different paths leading to 
licensure some sections of the application will apply to you and some won’t. Be sure to mark the 
sections that do not apply to you with “N/A” (not applicable) since applications that are 
incomplete will be returned to the applicant. Also, be sure to send back all additional forms  
which apply. The requirements are as follows: 

 
The applicant must: 

 
• be at least 21 years old; 
• have current, active NCCAOM Certification in Acupuncture or Oriental Medicine 

through examination or Credentials Documentation Review; 
• prove completion of a NCCAOM approved Clean Needle Technique course; 
• be of good moral character; 
• hold a baccalaureate or higher degree, RN degree or PA degree from an accredited 

institution or meet the waiver requirements spelled out in the “Request for Waiver of 
Undergraduate Degree Requirement” form (enclosed); 

• have completed one of the following: a post-secondary US acupuncture college program 
which was ACAOM approved or in candidacy on the date the applicant graduated; or 
have completed acupuncture education that was approved by the NCCAOM in earning 
the applicant’s Certification in Acupuncture or Oriental Medicine; or meet the waiver 
requirements (download or request a separate Waiver of Standard  Acupuncture 
Education form if needed); and 

• pay the required fee - $110.00 check made payable to: “Treasurer State of New 
Hampshire and the application for licensure with the Board. 

http://www.oplc.nh.gov/acupuncture/
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Timetable for Action on Applications 
 

Your application for licensure will be considered on file with the Board on the date when 
the Board has received a fully completed application form including all supporting 
documentation, and the check sent with the application has been deposited and cleared. 

 
From the file date (described above), the Board must act on your application within 60 days. If 
the Board should require additional information or documentation to clarify your application or 
materials related to your application, the Board will request it within 30 days of the file date. 
When additional information is received, the Board will again have up to 60 days to act on your 
application. 

 
Approval or Denial of Licensure 

 

If your application is approved, you will be issued a license, which will expire two years. 
 

If your application is denied, you will have an opportunity to request a hearing for 
reconsideration on the deficiency issues identified by the Board. You must file such a request 
within 30 days of the Board’s notification of denial. 

 
If you have any questions regarding these instructions, please call (603) 271-1452 or write to the 
address above. 

 
Although this letter outlines the statutory timetable limitations by which the board must operate, 
the board generally meets quarterly, and applications will be reviewed at each meeting. 

 
 

Sincerely, 
 

Board of Acupuncture Licensing 
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Instructions: Please type or print clearly in black ink and complete all of the questions. Incomplete and 
illegible applications will be returned to the applicant. If a question does not apply to you, write "N/A" in 
the space. If you are unable to supply any information that is required, state the reason for failing to 
supply the information. Attach additional 8.5" by 11" paper if there is insufficient space to answer a 
question. Make a copy of your completed application for your own records. Return the application to the 
address above along with all other required materials and a check or money order for $110.00 payable to 
“Treasurer, State of NH.” 
 
 

 
1. Legal Name 

 
Last First Middle 

 

2. Name as it is written in Chinese, Korean or other Foreign Language 
 

Last First Middle 
 

3. Other names you have been known by - state the reason for any name change 
 

Last First Middle 
 

4. Date of Birth            
Month Day Year 

5. Social Security Number    

6. Home Address 
 

Street, PO Box, Apt # 
 
 

7. Business Address 

City/Town State Zip Code 

Street, PO Box, Apt # City/Town State Zip Code 

 
8. Telephone Numbers Home   Business(es)    

 
 

9. Email     
 
 

10. In the box to the right please attach one 2” x 2” 
passport quality photograph taken within 90 days 
of the date on the application. 
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11. Undergraduate Education. YOU MUST CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING THREE OPTIONS: 
 

A. I received an undergraduate or higher degree, or a RN or PA degree from WITHIN the United States. 
 

• Official transcripts sent directly from the college or university which granted the 
undergraduate degree; or 

• Notarized copy of your original diploma. 
 

B. I received an undergraduate (baccalaureate, bachelor) or higher degree, or a RN or PA degree from 
OUTSIDE the United States, from an institution that is approved by the government of that country. 

• Transcripts translated into English sent directly from the foreign institutions showing 
courses completed, dates attended, and type of diploma awarded. 

 

C. I did not complete an undergraduate degree and I am applying for a waiver of the undergraduate degree 
requirement. 

NOTE: You are required to submit a completed “Request for Waiver of Undergraduate Degree 
Requirement” form (which is included in the application packet) and all required supporting 
documentation for the waiver. 

 
List below all the colleges or universities you attended. (Attach additional sheets as necessary.) 

Name of school 

Complete mailing address 
 
 

Dates attended (from/to)     

Type of Degree Awarded      

Name of school 
 

Complete mailing address 
 
 

Dates attended (from/to)   

Type of Degree awarded     
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12. Acupuncture Education: 
The standard education requirement for licensure in New Hampshire is successful completion of a post- 

secondary United States Acupuncture College or University that was ACAOM accredited or in candidacy status 
for accreditation on the date you graduated. You may still qualify if your acupuncture education was received at 
a United States School that was not ACAOM accredited or in candidacy status on the date you graduated or 
from any foreign school or if you received your acupuncture education in an apprenticeship. If your 
acupuncture education was approved by the NCCAOM in earning your Certification in Acupuncture or Oriental 
Medicine, a waiver process exists. 
 

 
YOU MUST CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING FOUR OPTIONS 
 

A. I received my acupuncture education from a post-secondary United States acupuncture college 
that was ACAOM accredited or in candidacy status for accreditation on the date I graduated. (If 
you have any question about the accreditation status of your school at the time you graduated, call your 
school for clarification.) 

 
 

B. I received my acupuncture education from 
1. a United States School that was not ACAOM accredited or 
2. from a foreign school. 

 
My education has been evaluated and approved by NCCAOM in earning my Certification in Acupuncture 
or Oriental Medicine. 

NOTE: You must arrange to have original transcripts from each acupuncture school attended sent directly 
to the Board. 

C. I received my acupuncture education in an apprenticeship. My education has been evaluated and 
approved by NCCAOM in earning my Certification in Acupuncture or Oriental Medicine. 

You must complete Apprenticeship section below and send all documentation required below. 
 

D. I am applying for a waiver of the acupuncture education requirement, as I do not fall into any of 
the above categories. 

NOTE: You are required to submit a completed “Request for Waiver of the Standard Acupuncture 
Education Requirement” form attached. 
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13. (a) EDUCATION: 
For all types of education you must list below the acupuncture school(s) you attended. (Attach extra sheets as 
necessary). 

Name of School   
 

Mailing Address    
 

Dates attended (from/to)  Date of graduation    
 

Degree, certificate, diploma, etc. awarded:    
 

Name of School    
 

Mailing Address    
 

Dates attended (from/to)  Date of graduation    

Degree, certificate, diploma, etc. awarded:      

13. (b) APPRENTICESHIP: 
In order for education to qualify based on apprenticeship, the following conditions, as stated in the Administrative 
Rule; Acp 302.05 (b) (1), must be met. 

 
If the applicant has received their training through an apprenticeship program, fill out attached form with the 
appropriate documentation: 

 
a. Conform to all NCCAOM apprenticeship program standards, pursuant to RSA 328-G:9,II (g); and 

 
b. Provide a balance of clinical training and didactic instruction that parallels the ACAOM core curriculum, 
including: 

1. A basic history of acupuncture; 
2. Basic oriental medical theory; 
3. Point location; 
4. Diagnostic skills; 
5. Treatment planning; 
6. Treatment technique; 
7. Specialized treatment patterns and point combinations; 
8. Emergency first aid treatment; 
9. Equipment and safety in practice techniques; and 

10. Ethics and human service skills. 
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If you feel that the apprenticeship program under which you studied meets these criteria, please describe it on a 
separate sheet of paper attached marked “14.D Apprenticeship. You will need supporting documentation for this 
claim. The form for documentation would be a copy, sent directly from the NCCAOM, of all materials that you filed 
with the NCCAOM in order to sit for the certification examination. It is your further responsibility to make sure that 
material meets all of the above criteria. If it does not specify the content of what you studied as spelled out in b. 
above, you will need to provide further documentation such as a sworn statement from your preceptor as to the 
content of your acupuncture curriculum. 

 
14. (a) List other states and countries in which you are currently licensed, or otherwise allowed to practice 

acupuncture. NOTE: You must send an “Out of State Verification of Acupuncture Licensure” form 
(attached) to each state in which you are currently licensed. Each state must return the form directly to the 
Board of Acupuncture Licensing. 

 
 

State or Country License No. Issue Date Expiration Date 
 
 
 

(b) List all states in which you were previously licensed to practice acupuncture. 
 
 

State or Country License No. Issue Date Expiration Date 
 

(c) List other states and countries in which you are or were licensed, registered or otherwise allowed to practice 
a healing art other than acupuncture, such as nursing, medicine, chiropractic, dentistry, etc. 

 
 

Type of Profession State or Country License No. Issue Date Expiration Date 
 

15. NCCAOM Certification: 
 

Date of initial certification:    
 

Date current certification expires:    
 

Current certification is for:  Acupuncture only  Acupuncture & Herbal Medicine  Oriental Medicine 
 

NOTE: NCCAOM certification in at least Acupuncture is a requirement for licensure. Verification of 
certification must be sent directly from the NCCAOM. Use the “NCCAOM Certification Verification” form 
attached. 

 
16. Clean Needle Technique Practical Course: 

 
Have you taken and passed the CNT practical exam?  (YES)  (NO) 

 
NOTE: Successful completion of the CNT practical course is a requirement for NH licensure and must be verified 
directly from the NCCAOM or the CCAOM. The NCCAOM can verify completion of the CNT for its diplomats 
since it is a requirement of certification. For most applicants the NCCAOM Certification Verification form 
(enclosed) will be sufficient, however if you were certified through Credentials Documentation Review (CDR), you 
may not have taken the CNT practical course. In such a case, you must contact the council of Colleges of 
Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine at (301) 608-9175 to arrange to take the CNT course and exam. After 
completion of the CNT, request the CCAOM to send verification of completion directly to the Board of 
Acupuncture Licensing. 
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17. Moral Character Statement: 
 

List below the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of three people, not related to you, who have known 
you for at least three years and who will attest to your moral character. One of the three must be an actively 
licensed acupuncturist. 

 
Name  Phone Number    

Address     
 

Name  Phone Number    

Address     
 

Name  Phone Number    

Address     

NOTE: Send a “Moral Character Statement” form attached to each person listed above and have them 
return it directly to the Board. 

 
18. Check “yes” or “no” to questions A through H below. Any “yes” response must be fully explained by written 
statement on separate sheets of paper as needed, signed, and dated, and enclosed with your application. Make sure 
that you describe the circumstances and your role completely, and include place, dates involved, a detailed 
description of the issue, and how it was or is being resolved. Attach additional 8.5" by 11" sheets as necessary to 
describe other incidents or to provide further information. 

 
NOTE: A “yes” answer does not automatically constitute grounds for denying a license, but it is essential that 
the circumstances be explained truthfully and in detail. 

 
A. Has any malpractice claim ever been made against you, regardless of whether a lawsuit was filed in relation to 
the claim?   Yes  No 

 

B. Have you ever been denied an acupuncture license/certificate/registration anywhere for any reason? 
  Yes  No 

 
C. Have you had employment or appointment in a hospital, clinic or other health care facility suspended, or 
resigned from a health care facility in lieu of being subject to a disciplinary action?   Yes  No 

 
D. Are any formal disciplinary charges pending or has any disciplinary action been taken against you by any 
acupuncture or medical board, any health care facility, or any professional acupuncture association, whether 
international, national, state or local?   Yes  No 

 
E. Have you ever voluntarily surrendered a license to practice acupuncture or other healing art in lieu of facing 
disciplinary action?   Yes  No 

 

F. Have you, at any time, been convicted of a crime involving violence, abuse, fraud, dishonesty, or drugs? 
  Yes  No 

 
 
 
 

G. Have you had a professional license in a field other than acupuncture that has been revoked, suspended or 
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otherwise terminated on disciplinary grounds, or are there any disciplinary actions currently pending against you 
in relation to any professional license you hold or have held?   Yes  No 

 
H. Have you had an emotional disturbance or mental illness, an organic illness, or an addictive disorder that 
impaired your ability to practice acupuncture or to function as an acupuncture student? (If so, describe treatment 
and outcome of treatment.)   Yes  No 

 
 

19. Statement of Applicant: 
 

I hereby certify that all statements made in this application and all information and documentation submitted in 
connection with this application are, to the best of my knowledge, true, accurate, complete, and unaltered. I 
understand that misstatements and omissions of material facts may be cause for denial of this application, or for 
suspension or revocation of a license, or other appropriate disciplinary action. 

 
In the case that my application is approved and an acupuncture license is issued to me, I hereby agree to comply 
with all laws and administrative rules pertaining to the practice of acupuncture in New Hampshire. I understand 
that this includes the requirement to use only sterile disposable one-use needles, and to use Clean Needle 
Technique. I understand that I must follow the New Hampshire Code of Ethics for acupuncturists and the 
NCCAOM Code of Ethics for acupuncturists. 

 
 
 

Signature Date 
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REQUEST FOR WAIVER OF UNDERGRADUATE DEGREE REQUIREMENT 
 

Please sign the following statement: 
 

I,  , have a current, valid acupuncture license from the state of 
 
  whose requirements for licensure are substantively equal to or  
 
exceed the requirements of NH RSA 328-G. 
 
 
Signed:  Date:    

 

An applicant applying for a waiver of the degree requirement must prove an accumulation of at least 40 
points in one or more of the following categories: 
• Two points for each 3 credit hours at an accredited post-secondary institution, verified by original 

transcripts from all colleges attended; 
• Five points for each year the applicant has held a valid acupuncture license in another state, verified 

directly from the state or states involved; 
• Five points for each semester of teaching acupuncture or acting as a clinical supervisor in an 

acupuncture school which is ACAOM accredited or in candidacy, verified by documentation directly 
from those schools. 

 
Fill in the appropriate information. (Attach additional sheets as necessary.)  
 

College Credits: List colleges attended below: 
 

Name   
 

Address   
 

Dates attended  Number of credit hours    
 

# credit hours  divided by 3=  x  2=  Total points accumulated 
 

Acupuncture Licensure: 
 

Name of State  Dates of licensure    
 

# of years licensed  x 5=  Total points accumulated 
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Teaching or Supervising: 
 

Name of school   
 

Position held  Dates:    
 

Number of semesters    
 

# of semesters teaching or supervising  x 5=  Total points 
accumulated 

 
GRAND TOTAL from college credits  + licensure  + teaching  =    

 

 
NOTE: The applicant is required to arrange for all supporting documentation to be sent directly to: 

 
NH Board of Acupuncture Licensing 
Office of Professional Licensing 
7 Eagle Square 
Concord, NH 03301 
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NCCAOM CERTIFICATION VERIFICATION 
 

ATTENTION APPLICANT: Complete the top portion of this form and send it, along with a check or money order (made 
payable to: NCCAOM) for their fee to: 

 
National Certification Commission for Acupuncture and Oriental Medicine 
76 South Laura Street, Suite 1290 
Jacksonville, FL 32202 
Phone: (904) 598-1005 FAX: (904) 598-5001 www.nccaom.org 

 

NCCAOM also has its own online form you may print and either mail or fax with credit card for Certification Verification. 
 

Be sure to use the correct New Hampshire Board of Acupuncture Licensing address below, and request a verification 
report be sent only after final Certification is complete, not merely after examination is passed. 

 
Name  Phone    

 

Address   
Street Address City State Zip 

 
I authorize the NCCAOM to release to the New Hampshire Board of Acupuncture Licensing all information 
requested below. 

 
Applicant’s Signature Date 

 
ATTENTION NCCAOM: Please complete this form or attach your own form containing the information below, and 
mail it directly to: 

NH Board of Acupuncture Licensing 
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 
121 South Fruit Street 
Concord, NH 03301 

 
I,   ,   

(Name)  (Title) 
of the NCCAOM, on this day  attest to the following information regarding the 
above named acupuncturist: 

 
Date of Initial Certification:  _ Date current certification expires:    

 

Acupuncture certification by: Exam CDR 
 

Certification is for Acupuncture only Acupuncture & Chinese Herbology Oriental Medicine 
 

CNT Practical Course completed? Yes No Date of completion:    
 

 
AFFIX SEAL 

http://www.nccaom.org/
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OUT OF STATE VERIFICATION OF ACUPUNCTURE LICENSURE 
 
 

TO APPLICANT: You are required to send this form to each state in which you are currently licensed 
or registered to practice acupuncture. We suggest that you contact the state to find out the fee you will 
be charged for this service before you send the form. Make copies of this form if you are licensed in 
more than one state. 

 
I authorize the release of any information in your files, favorable or otherwise, directly to the New 
Hampshire Board of Acupuncture Licensing. 

 
Signature:  License Number   

 

Print Name:   
 

Address:    
 
 

STATE ACUPUNCTURE OR MEDICAL LICENSING BOARD: Please provide the information 
requested and return this form directly to address below. 

 
NH Board of Acupuncture Licensing 
Office of Professional Licensing 
7 Eagle Square 
Concord, NH 03301 

Name of State Licensing Authority: 
 

 

Full name of licensee: 
 
 

Type of license:  License Number:    
 

Issue date:  /  /  Expiration date:  /  /  Is license currently active?  Yes  No 
 

Is license in good standing with no disciplinary action, if not please provided documentation of action(s) 
taken? 

 
AFFIX SEAL       

Name and Title Date 
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MORAL CHARACTER STATEMENT 
 
 

ATTENTION APPLICANT: A copy of this form should be given to three (3) persons other than a 
relative who have known you for a minimum of three (3) years (at least one of whom must be an actively 
licensed acupuncturist). 

 
Please type or print clearly: 

 
I,     , have 

known   for a period 
of  years and know him or her to be of good moral character. I am an actively licensed 
acupuncturist.  My license is held in the state of   . 

 
 

Additional Remarks (optional) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Signature  Date  

Street Address City State Zip  
 

 
Please return completed statement to:  
 
NH Board of Acupuncture Licensing 
Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 
7 Eagle Square 
Concord, NH 03301 
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ACUPUNCTURE LICENSURE APPLICATION CHECK OFF LIST 
 

Fill out all pages of this form and return it with your application. Make a copy of the check off list for your own records in 
case you need to re-contact any parties regarding your application documentation. 

 
I have enclosed the following: 
  Completed Check Off List 
  Completed application with photo attached 
  Check or money order for $110.00 made payable to: “Treasurer, State of New Hampshire” $75.00 of which is a 
nonrefundable application fee 
  A stamped, self-addressed business envelope 
  Original college diploma   Not Applicable (N/A) 
You may send an original diploma or request original transcripts sent directly from the degree granting undergraduate 
institution. If you choose to send an original diploma, please include a self-addressed envelope of the proper large size for 
return of the document OR indicate that you would prefer to arrange to pick up this document and it will be held in your file 
until you make such an arrangement. 
  Waiver forms if necessary: 

  Request for Waiver of Undergraduate Degree Requirement   N/A 
  Request for Waiver of the Standard Acupuncture Education Requirement  N/A 

 
I HAVE REQUESTED THAT THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTATION BE SENT DIRECTLY TO THE NH 
BOARD OF ACUPUNCTURE LICENSING: 

 

We cannot accept transcripts issued to student, do not include these with your application. 
The following items are required of all applicants and must be sent directly from that institution or person: 

 

  Original transcripts from all acupuncture schools attended: 
Names of schools contacted: Date request made: 

 
 

 

 
 

  Three (3) Moral Character Statement forms from: 
Names of references: Date request made: 

 
 

 
 

  NCCAOM Certification Verification form Date request made: 
 
 

  Verification of Clean Needle Technique course completion from CCAOM Date request made: 
 
This documentation is required only if your NCCAOM certification verification does not verify CNT completion 
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Undergraduate Degree Options, you must provide one of these: 

 

  Original transcripts from US undergraduate degree granting schools  N/A 
Needed to prove college graduation unless the original diploma is submitted above. 

 
Names of schools contacted: Date request made: 

 
 

 
 

  Transcripts (in English) from foreign undergraduate schools  N/A 
This documentation is necessary for applicants whose undergraduate degree is from a college outside the US. 
Names of schools contacted: Date request made: 

 
 
 

If applying for a Waiver of Undergraduate Degree Requirement: N/A 
 

  Original transcripts from US undergraduate institutions to verify credit 
This is required for a waiver of the undergraduate degree requirement. 
Names of schools contacted: Date request made: 

 
 
 

  Verification of semesters spent teaching or clinically supervising acupuncture  N/A 
This is an option for applicants asking for a waiver of the undergraduate degree requirement. 

 
Names of schools contacted: Date request made: 

 
 

 
 

If applying for a Waiver of Standard Acupuncture Education: N/A 
  Original transcript from accredited college or university to prove completion of the Anatomy & Physiology 
requirement. 

 
Names of schools contacted: Date request made: 

 
 

 
 

  Proper supporting documentation as required on the Apprenticeship Route form; or 
  Proper supporting documentation as required on the Formal Education and Professional Experience Route form 

 
Required of ALL currently or previously licensed acupuncturists:  N/A 
This is also a requirement for a Waiver of Standard Acupuncture Education, and an option for Waiver of Undergraduate 
Degree Requirement: 

 

  Out of State Verification of Acupuncture Licensure Form 
Names of states contacted: Date request made: 
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