

State of New Hampshire OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION DIVISION OF LICENSING AND BOARD ADMINISTRATION 7 Eagle Square, Concord, NH 03301-4980 Phone: 603-271-2152

# Certification Process for NH Certified Midwife Credential

All information on the application form must be legibly printed in ink or typed. All sections of the application form shall either be completed or designated as not applicable (N/A) to the applicant. Be sure to check your application for completeness before submitting it. An incomplete application will result in a delay in your certification process. Send completed application materials to the address below:

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification NH Midwifery Council 7 Eagle Square, Concord, NH 03301 <u>nhmidwifery@oplc.nh.gov</u>

### STATUTE (law) and RULES may be located ONLINE at:

RSA 326-D Midwifery Statute:

http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXX/326-D/326-D-mrg.htm Mid Code of Administrative Rules: http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rules/state\_agencies/mid.html

Adopted rules include:

Mid 100 Organizational Rules Mid 200 Procedural Rules Mid 300 Certification Requirements Mid 400 Renewal Rules Mid 500 Scope of Practice

# Steps toward certification:

(1) Have application accepted by council. You will need to refer to Mid 300 Certification Requirements rules as you complete your application. If you cannot print the rules out online, request a written copy. Submit an application form and required supporting documentation; Midwifery Council will review application to determine whether it is complete and acceptable.

# (2) Pass the NARM (North American Registry of Midwives) examinations.

You may have already passed the NARM exam before applying for NH certification. If not, set up a date with NARM to take the exams. Each applicant will contact NARM individually to take the tests. NARM sets and collects fees for the exam. NARM will notify the Midwifery Council of the results of the exam within 4-6 weeks of the date of the exam, and the Council will then notify the applicant within 15 days.



State of New Hampshire OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION DIVISION OF LICENSING AND BOARD ADMINISTRATION 7 Eagle Square, Concord, NH 03301-2412 Phone: 603-271-2152

### (3) Pass the NH Written Exam.

The NH Written exam is a brief test of the NH midwifery statute (RSA 326-D) and Scope of Practice Rules (Mid 500). There is a \$10 Written Exam Fee\*. The Council is required to notify the applicant of the results of the written exam within 15 days of the date of the taking of the exam; generally, however, the exam can be scored immediately afterward and the applicant can learn her score then.

(4) Pay the \$110 Certification Fee.\* Renewal is every 2 years.

(5) Receive in the mail the New Hampshire Certified Midwife (NHCM) Certificate and pharmacy card. The effective date of certification shall be the date the council approves the certification, within 7 days after passing the exam. The expiration date of the certification shall be 2 years after the effective date.

#### \*All checks made payable to "Treasurer, State of NH"

The NH Written exam may each be retaken twice, but no sooner than 6 months after having taken the last exam. The NH Written Exam will be offered at least two times a year, the 2<sup>nd</sup> weeks of May and November, but most often will be scheduled as soon as convenient for the both the Council and the applicant.