State of New Hampshire

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION

DIVISION OF LICENSING AND BOARD ADMINISTRATION
7 Eagle Square, Concord, NH 03301
Phone: 603-271-2152
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APPLICATION PROCESS FOR INITIAL CERTIFICATION

All required forms can be found on the Board’s website https://www.oplc.nh.gov/guardian-ad-litem-board

Qualifications for Certification

Please note that the Board does not appoint GALs to particular cases. Appointments are a court function.
Certification by the Board does not guarantee than an individual will receive an appointment by the court.

The qualifications for initial certification as a GAL are set forth in GAL 302 of the rules of the Board.
Qualifications for renewal are addressed in GAL 401.03 and reinstatement is addressed in 401.04.

The new application process is used when applying for initial certification and when applying for
certification made more than 90 days after the expiration of a prior certification.

The application process is designed to obtain the information necessary to determine qualifications as well
as to gather information that would assist the court in making an informed decision on whether or not to
appoint an individual as a GAL in a particular case. See RSA 490-C:4,ll(g) and RSA 490-C:5,I(b). The
Application for Certification as well as the checklists and summaries of required documentation have been
developed by the Board to assist applicants in working through the process and addressing applicable
requirements. An applicant for initial certification must:

a. Properly complete and submit to the Board all required application forms, fees and supporting
materials.

b. Submit to the Board such additional information that the Board requests in connection with the
application.

c. Possess either:

1. A bachelor’s degree from an accredited college or university plus at least 600 hours
experience in professional or volunteer activities dealing with children or incapacitated adults.

2. An associate’s degree from an accredited college or university plus at least 1000 hours
experience in professional or volunteer activities dealing with children or incapacitated adults.

3. An advanced degree from an accredited college or university beyond a bachelor’s degree,
for which a bachelor’s degree is a prerequisite, plus 200 hours of experience in professional or
volunteer activities dealing with children or incapacitated adults.

d. Be at least 25 years of age


https://www.oplc.nh.gov/guardian-ad-litem-board

e. Never have been convicted of or plead guilty to any felony in any jurisdiction which has not been
reversed or overturned on appeal or annulled.

f. Never have been convicted of or plead guilty to certain misdemeanors listed in the Boards rules which
have not been reversed, overturned on appeal or annulled and never have been convicted of or plead
guilty to more than 2misdemeanors of any type, regardless of the jurisdiction in which they arose, that
have not been reversed, overturned on appeal or annulled. See GAL 303.01(f)

g. Not currently be listed on the Central Registry of Founded Abuse and Neglect reports, nor ever have
been the subject of a founded report of child abuse or neglect in this or any other jurisdiction

h. Be of good character

i. Never have been suspended from any activity as a GAL in any jurisdiction other than New Hampshire
as the result of misconduct in the performance of his or her duties as a GAL or as the result of a failure
to be of good character, unless such suspension was reversed or overturned on appeal

j. Never have had any certification, registration, approval or appointment as a GAL revoked as the result
of misconduct in the performance of his or her duties as a GAL, or as the result of a failure to be of good
character in any jurisdiction other than New Hampshire, unless the revocation was overturned on
appeal

k. Never have had any certification, registration approval or appointment as a GAL revoked in New
Hampshire, by an entity other than the Board under the circumstances described in (j) above

. If presently or formerly authorized to practice as an attorney in this or any other jurisdiction, never
have been disbarred

m. Have completed the Guardian ad Litem training requirements specified in GAL 303.02

n. Be recommended for certification as a GAL by three individuals of the type specified in the Boards
rules, in the specific manner prescribed by the rules. See GAL 302.03(f) and GAL 302.04

o. Never has had his or her application for license, certification, registration or approval to practice as a
GAL denied in any jurisdiction other than New Hampshire on any basis that would constitute grounds for
denial of certification under RSA 490-C or the rules of the Board, unless that denial was reversed,
overturned on appeal or the ground for denial was subsequently superseded by the granting of an
application

p. Possess a current phone number

g. Be able to clearly, succinctly and understandably articulate thoughts in writing as demonstrated by
the persons application, including the written submission as required by GAL 302.04(e)

r. Have access to reliable transportation



Process

In order to apply for a new certification an applicant must provide:
1. A completed Application for Certification
2. The application fee of $75.00
3. All required supporting materials:

a. A criminal records release with the required fee

b. Three positive letters of reference

c. The required letter from the Central Registry

d. A waiver of confidentiality

e. A written submission

The Board will not consider a new application for certification until it has received all the required
documents. Once an application has been received the Board will notify the applicant if the application
is complete and what other materials are required.

If you have questions about the application materials or the application process, please review the
application checklist and/ or the administrative rules of the Guardian ad Litem Board, or contact
OPLClLicensingl@oplc.nh.gov

Please Note

Persons interested in obtaining certification by the Board must take the required training specified in
GAL 303.01(m) and GAL 303.02 before submitting an application for certification.

Certified Guardians ad Litem will be listed on the Boards website and included in any list of GALs that
the Board may issue. The “business contact” information provided on the application for certification,
renewal or reinstatement will be utilized for these lists





