Office of Licensed Allied Health Professionals - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Genetic Counselors Governing Board

Under RSA 328-F, the Board of Genetic Counselors was established with an effective date of July 1, 2013. At the same time RSA 326-K was established to create a pathway to license those individuals performing genetic counseling in the State of New Hampshire.

For information regarding the Covid-19 State of Emergency, please go to the OPLC main page and follow the Covid-19 Licensee Resources Tab in the Quick Links section, or go click on the Coronavirus COVID-19 State of NH Link at the top of the OPLC Main Page.

Governor's Emergency Order

  • Emergency Order #29 Exhibit H pdf file
    Modifications Applicable to all OPLC Licensed Professionals
    1. Certain Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Professionals Waived
    2. Continuing Education of Licensed Professionals Through Remote Instruction
    3. Waiver of Notarization Requirements
    4. Electronic Signatures Accepted

The Board invites you to contact the office with your comments, suggestions, or further information on specific questions.

Initial or Reinstatement License

The Board is currently working on rules that will establish a pathway for licensure and reinstatement of licensure. Keep posted to this web site for progress on those rules.

License Cycle

All Genetic Counselors licenses expire on December 31 in every odd-numbered years per New Hampshire Statute RSA 328-F:19. Depending on when your application is approved, a license may be valid for a few months of the two-year cycle. Initial license fees are not pro-rated. Renewal notices are sent out from the Office of Licensed Allied Health Professionals no later than October 15th of the renewal year.

Recently Moved?

Whether moving around New Hampshire or relocating to another state, every licensee is obligated to notify this office of any changes. Allied Health law RSA 328-F:21 states "Licensees shall maintain their current business and home address on file with their governing boards. Any changes in address shall be provided to the Office of Licensed Allied Health Professionals no later than 30 days from the date of the change." Keeping your file information current is your responsibility.

Continuing Education Guide

In general, licensees must complete 50 hours of continuing education per 2 year cycle. This Continuing Education Guide gives details.


Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
7 Eagle Square |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152