Body Art - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Licensing Requirements

Applicants for licensure must have practiced tattooing, body piercing, branding or permanent cosmetics in an establishment under the supervision of a person practicing tattooing, body piercing, or branding for no less than 3 years and in compliance with applicable New Hampshire statutes and administrative rules. Applicants must also complete an approved course in methods and techniques for the proper sterilization of instruments and materials used in body piercing, branding, or tattooing.

An apprentice license may be issued if an applicant is unable to meet the requirements for licensure. The person shall remain an apprentice for at least one year and until the supervising licensee attests that the apprentice is qualified to become licensed.

Initial License Requirements

  • Submit an application and pay the required application fee.
  • Provide proof of at least 3 years of practicing body piercing, branding or tattooing.

Renewal License Requirements

  • Submit a renewal application and pay the required renewal fee
  • Submit documentation of 3 hours of continuing education coursework related to the practice of body piercing, branding, or tattooing during the previous year.

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152