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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY & ESTHETICS 
RECIPROCITY INSTRUCTIONS FOR OBTAINING A BARBER, COSMETOLOGY, 

ESTHETICS, OR MANICURING LICENSE IN NEW HAMPSHIRE  
 
Application for licensure is considered on an individual basis.  In submitting your applications for 
licensure, the following must be included or processing of your application will be delayed.  You must 
provide the Board with the following: 
 
1. Application fee of $100.00 payable to “Treasurer State of New Hampshire”. No refund will be issued 

if you do not complete the process. The reciprocity process must be completed within 90 days, if not 
your fee will be forfeited; 

2. Individual Licensed in Another State form (form attached); 
3. Completed Questionnaire for Applicants and Licensees (form attached); 
4. State Law Acknowledgment Form (form attached); 
5. Certification of State Licensure verifying your current license, testing information, and disciplinary 

action if any.  This must be obtained from the State Board in which your license is held.  This form is 
sent directly to us from your state board. Instructor license applications require a certification for the 
professional license and the instructor license;   

6. Transcripts of Training from the school attended. If the school has closed or no longer has your 
transcripts, you must submit a notarized letter stating the school name and location, number of hours 
completed and that the school has closed or no longer has records; 

7. Cosmetologists or master barbers must have 1500 hours of training. If the applicant doesn’t have the 
required 1500 hours of cosmetology or master barber training, a notarized letter from a previous 
employer or co-worker stating you have 3000 hours work experience must be provided. A barber 
must have 800 hours of training. If the applicant doesn’t have the required 800 hours of training a 
notarized letter from a previous employer or co-worker stating you have 1600 hours of work 
experience must be provided. Estheticians must have 600 hours of training.  If the applicant doesn’t 
have the required 600 hours of training a notarized letter from a previous employer or co-worker 
stating you have 1200 hours of work experience must be provided.  A manicurist must have 300 
hours of training.  If the applicant doesn’t have the required 300 hours, a notarized letter from a 
previous employer or co-worker stating you have 600 hours of work experience must be provided. 
THE LETTER MUST STATE HOURS WORKED REGARDLESS OF THE NUMBER OF 
YEARS; 

8. A copy of high school diploma, GED, or if you are 21 or more years of age a copy of your birth 
certificate or driver’s license; 

9. Photocopy of current license in your trade. 
NOTE:  Documents required for reciprocity must be in English or translated and notarized if applicable.  
APPLICANTS SHALL NOT WORK IN THEIR PROFESSION IN THE STATE OF NEW 
HAMSPHIRE UNTIL RECEIVING A NEW HAMPSHIRE LICENSE.  

   
 
 
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, & ESTHETICS 

INDIVIDUALS LICENSED IN ANOTHER STATE FORM 
 

 
Application for licensure in the state of New Hampshire: 
 
Please check the appropriate licensure: 
 
(  ) Cosmetology  (  ) Master Barber (  ) Barber  (  ) Manicuring    (  ) Esthetics  
 
(  ) Instructor License (please also check profession above) 
 
Name (Please print):  ____________________________________________________________ 
                                                    First                   Middle               Maiden                     Last 
 
Home Mailing Address: __________________________________________________________ 
                                                       
 
Home Phone #:_________________                              Cell Phone #:________________    
 
Social Security Number:______________________ 
 
State your current license is held in: _________________________________________________   
 
Name and address of training school or shop in which the licensee was an apprentice:  
 
_______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Month of Birth: ____________________ 
 
 
Applicant Signature: _____________________________________________________________    
 
Date: ______________ 
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 

 



OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 
STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE 

DIVISION OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 
BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, & ESTHETICS 

121 South Fruit Street 
Concord, N.H. 03301-2412 

Telephone 603-271-3608 · Fax 603-271-3950                

 
 

 
 

 
 

BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY & ESTHETICS 
QUESTIONNAIRE FOR APPLICANTS AND LICENSEES 

 
This questionnaire must be completed using blue or black ink, signed, and sent to the NH 
Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics at the above address with your application 
for licensure or renewal.  (If additional space is required for explanation, use other side.) 

 
1. Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor, other than a traffic violation, 

which has not been annulled by a court?      (Circle one)   YES      NO  
 
If yes, Before the Board can review your file for approval they must have the following 
documents: You must obtain from the Court(s) a copy of the court charge(s), conviction(s), 
penalties imposed, and provide a statement from you relative to the charge(s). If you are currently 
on probation/parole you must provide all the above plus the following:  Your probation/parole 
officers name, mailing address, and telephone number if applicable; you must obtain a letter from 
your probation/parole officer stating you are in compliance with your probation/parole.  If you 
were on probation/parole and have completed all requirements, we need a letter indicating you 
have met all requirements and are no longer on probation/parole. 

 
If you have already submitted the above to the Board in a prior application, and the Board 
approved the conviction(s), you must state the conviction, the date of the conviction, and the date 
the Board approved this conviction: 

 
2. Are you addicted to the use of alcohol or other habit-forming drugs to a degree rendering you unfit 

to practice under RSA 313-A  (Circle one)   YES      NO      If yes, explain:  
 

3. Have you been determined by a court to be mentally incompetent or do you have, or have you 
been told by health practitioner or mental health practitioner that you have, a physical or a mental 
condition that impairs your ability to practice the profession for which you are seeking licensing 
under RSA 313-A?        (Circle one)   YES      NO     If yes, explain:   

 
I hereby certify that the statements made in this application are true and accurate.  I have 
not withheld information that is requested.  I am aware that a false, dishonest or misleading 
answer may be grounds for 1) denial of this application; 2) disciplinary action against my 
license; and further that 3) false statements are punishable by law. 

 
Applicant Signature:  __________________________________________________________ 
 
Applicant Name (Please Print):   _________________________________________________ 
   
Current Mailing Address:      ____________________________________________________ 
 
      ____________________________________________________ 
 
Telephone ___________________________  Social Security No._________________  
                  (optional)   
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY & ESTHETICS 
STATE LAW ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FORM 

      
 
The rules and statute can be found on the website at www.nh.gov/cosmet.  

 
I hereby certify that I have read and understand the laws (RSA 313-A) and 
Administrative Rules relative to barbering, cosmetology, esthetics and 
manicuring. By signing this application I agree to adhere to the laws and 
rules as set by the Board. I am aware that the Board of Barbering, 
Cosmetology, and Esthetics has authority to proceed with disciplinary 
proceedings against my license for any violation of the RSA 313-A or the 
Board’s Administrative Rules.  

 
 

Applicant signature: _____________________________________________________ 
 
 

Applicant name (Please print):_____________________________________________  
 

 
Last four digits of social security number: _________________    
   
 
Date: ________________  
 
 
 
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 

 

http://www.nh.gov/cosmet
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