Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics

The principal focus of the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics is to protect the public health, safety and welfare by regulating the practices of Professional Barbers, Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Manicurists and Tanning. The Board qualifies and licenses individuals and businesses, establishes and enforces administrative rules and laws, and provides information so that the public may make informed decisions.

Consistent with the recommendation of the Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics, on June 9, 2020, the Office of Professional Licensure and Certification proposed additional changes to the current guidelines. On June 11, 2020, the guidelines were revised. Guidelines revised as of August 28,2020 pdf file

Governor's Emergency Order

  • Emergency Order #29 Exhibit H pdf file
    Modifications Applicable to all OPLC Licensed Professionals
    1. Certain Continuing Education Requirements for Licensed Professionals Waived
    2. Continuing Education of Licensed Professionals Through Remote Instruction
    3. Waiver of Notarization Requirements
    4. Electronic Signatures Accepted

Safer at Home Timeline

Safer at Home Business Guidance

 

Board News

COVID-19 - Emergency Rules Adopted

  • Amending Bar 301.03, 404.08 pdf file file to authorize distance education until the conclusion of the declared State of Emergency, issued by the Governor of New Hampshire pursuant to Executive Order 2020-4 issued March 13, 2020.

Attention Licensees: The Board has updated rules relative to renewal fees. The renewal fee for personal licenses shall be $40.00. If the personal license has expired, but is within 6 months of expiration, the renewal fee shall be $45.00. Any personal license that has expired and is over 6 months but within 5 years, the renewal fee shall be $100.00. Any personal license expired for more than 5 years cannot be renewed.

Check License Renewal Status: You can check the status of your license renewal online. It can take up to 2 weeks to process a license renewal. Thank you for your patience.

Attention Licensees: Microblading is not within the scope of practice for barbers, cosmetologists, estheticians, or manicurists. You must be a licensed tattoo artist to perform microblading.

Attention Licensees: On October 15, 2018, the Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics voted that the plasma pen is not within the scope of practice for any licensee under RSA 313-A.

Contact the Board

Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics
cosmetology@oplc.nh.gov
(603) 271-1062
(603) 271-3950 (fax)

Portable Document Format Symbol Portable Document Format (.pdf). Visit nh.gov for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.


Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
7 Eagle Square |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152