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OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION DENTISTS-2020 

NEW HAMPSHIRE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS   GENERAL INFORMATION 

7 EAGLE SQUARE        REQUIREMENTS FOR  

CONCORD, NH  03301       LICENSE 

(603) 271-4561       (In-State Toll Free 1-800-852-3345, Ext. 4561) 

    

 

 

REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION 
 

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

 

THIS APPLICATION IS ONLY FOR THOSE LICENSEES WHO LAPSE IN 2020 AND MUST BE SUBMITTED 

BETWEEN MAY 1 AND NOVEMBER 1. 
 

 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
 

Each applicant for licensure to practice dentistry in the state of New Hampshire must complete all of the 

information on the attached “Dentist Reinstatement Application for Licensure” form.  The Board must 

have each licensee’s social security number on the “Dentist Reinstatement Application for Licensure” 

form to ensure accurate identification of the applicant’s identity.  Pursuant to Federal Law 42 

U.S.C.A§666(a)(13) and New Hampshire state law RSA 161-B:11, VI-a the Board may also: 

 

1. Provide the licensee’s social security number to the Department of Health and Human Services in 

conjunction with proceedings or actions to establish paternity or to establish or enforce child 

support. 

 

2. Provide the licensee’s social security number to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) in the 

event of final adverse action against the licensee and to inquire of NPDB of any final adverse 

actions against the licensee in other jurisdictions. 

 

Under current law an applicant’s or licensee’s social security number is confidential and not subject to 

the right to know law. 
 

  

REINSTATEMENT PROCESS AND FEES 

 

For an Active License: 
 

In order to reinstate a lapsed license, you must provide the following to the Board: 

 

1. A reinstatement application form for licensure; 

 

2. A certified check or money order in the amount of $425 made payable to "TREASURER, STATE 

 OF NEW HAMPSHIRE".  If presented in person, payment may be made in cash.  This will cover 

 the reinstatement application fee ($225) and the late fee ($200); 

 

3. After the reinstatement application is received, the application file will be reviewed by the  New 

 Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners.  If the file is acceptable to the Board, the applicant will be 

 contacted and given instructions regarding taking the online jurisprudence examination; and 

 

4. Once the applicant has been notified by the Board that the applicant has successfully completed the 

 examination, the applicant must complete the application for registration and license renewal form 

 and provide it to the Board, with a certified check or money order in the amount of $365 made 

 payable to "TREASURER, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE".  If presented in person, payment 

 may be made in cash. 
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For an Inactive License: 
 

1. A reinstatement application form for licensure; 

 

2. A certified check or money order in the amount of $75 made payable to the "TREASURER, 

 STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE".  If presented in person, payment may be made in cash.  This will 

 cover the reinstatement fee ($35) and late fee ($40); and 

 

3. After the reinstatement application is received, the application file will be reviewed by the  New 

 Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners.  If the file is acceptable to the Board, the applicant must 

 complete the application for registration and license renewal form and provide it to the Board, with 

 a certified check or money order in the amount of $145 made payable to "TREASURER, STATE 

 OF NEW HAMPSHIRE".  If presented in person,  payment may be made in cash. 

 

The biennial license period for dentists commences MAY 1st of even-numbered years.  Biennial 

registration requires that registration forms be mailed by the Board before February 15th of even-

numbered years.  Licensees are required to report a change of business, residential or primary email 

address and phone number within 30 days of any change to the Board.  Written notification to the 

Board is required. 

 

 

JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION 
 

After the application and all the supporting documents are received, the application file will be reviewed 

by the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners or its representative.  If the file is acceptable to the 

Board, the applicant will be notified that the application is complete and that the jurisprudence 

examination may be taken.  The examination will be based on the information contained in the New 

Hampshire Dental Practice Act, the New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules, the American Dental 

Association Code of Ethics, and the Code of Ethics for Dental Hygienists.   

 

LETTERS OF GOOD STANDING 
 

The following documents shall be filed with the Board:  A certified statement from the dental examining 

board of each state in which the applicant has been licensed as to whether the applicant's license to 

practice in that state, based on the records of the board, has been subject to disciplinary action, has 

disciplinary action pending, has been under stayed probation, or is under investigation.  This statement 

must be submitted directly from the dental board of each state in which the applicant has ever had a 

license (whether active, inactive, or lapsed).  This statement shall be updated if more than 4 months old. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Eff. November 2017 Page 3 

 

 
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
 

PAID $______________ 
 

CASH, CHECK OR MO# 

___________________ 
 

Please check one of the following: 

  (ACTIVE)                (INACTIVE)   

 

2020 NEW HAMPSHIRE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

DENTIST REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 

 

Examination/Endorsement application (circle one) to practice dentistry. 

 

False statements, knowingly made by the applicant, shall void any license issued.  All questions 

must be completed or this application will be returned or rejected. 

 

PRINT OR TYPE 

 
1. Name in Full (first, middle, last)   _____________________________________________________________ 

 

2.  Date of Birth (month, day, year)  ______________________________________________________________ 

 

3.  Place of Birth (city, county, state)  _____________________________________________________________ 

 

4. Social Security Number  _____________________________________________________________________ 

 

5.  Have you ever been known by any other name?     yes ______    no  ______    If yes, give other    

     name(s)   __________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

6.  Current residential address:   __ ______________________________________________________________ 

                                           ______________________________________________________________ 

 

 Primary email address (either business or personal): __________________________________________ 
 

     Day Time Telephone:  _______________________________________________________________________ 

 

7.  Educational background: 

 

     College  ___________________________________________________ Date of Graduation  ______________ 

 

 Degree, if any  ________________________________________________________________________ 

 

     Dental School(s)           Month and Year 

     ________________________________________                           _________, 19___ to ________, 19___ 

 

     ________________________________________   _________, 19___ to ________, 19___ 

 

     I received the degree of   ______________________ on  ___________________________________________ 
               (date) 

     from _____________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

8.  Post Graduate Dental Program:  Type _______________________________________________________ 

 

     Location  ___________________________________________________  Dates  _______________________ 

 

     Degree or Specialty Training Certificate  ______________________________________________________ 

 

9.  Are you currently certified in BLS-HCP, with hands-on component?        yes ____    no ____       

         (Please provide proof.) 
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10.  List all places where you have possessed a license to practice dentistry. 

      If none, so state:  ________________________________________________________________________ 

 

      State and License No.  Issue Date Active/Inactive  Dates of Practice 

      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 

      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 

      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 

      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 

      ___________________ __________ ______________  ________________ 

 

11.  Professional Employment History 

 

 Dates    Location    Status (e.g., Military, 

           Residency, Private Practice) 

 

______ _________________________   

     From________ to ________ ____________________________  _________________________ 

 

     From________ to ________ ____________________________  _________________________ 

 

     From________ to ________ ____________________________  _________________________ 

 

     From________ to ________ ____________________________  _________________________ 

 

 

12.  Have you ever been convicted of any felony, misdemeanor, or driving under the influence of alcohol or     

       drugs which has not been annulled?                                                                                      yes ___    no  ___ 

 

13.  Have you ever been convicted of the illegal practice of dentistry?                                      yes ___    no  ___ 

 

14.  Have you ever been denied dental licensure?                                                                        yes ___    no  ___ 

 

15.  In any jurisdiction, including New Hampshire, have you ever been or are you currently subjected by any 

professional licensing body to any investigation (excluding dismissed complaints), sanction, or 

disciplinary action including but not limited to probation or stayed probation, limitation or restriction, 

fine, reprimand, or being required to submit to care, counseling, supervision or further education?                                                                      

 yes ___    no  ___ 

 

16.  Has your license to practice dentistry ever been revoked, suspended, placed under probation or stayed 

probation, restricted, not renewed, voluntarily or involuntarily relinquished, or otherwise sanctioned, or 

is currently under review in any jurisdiction or state?                                                        yes ___    no  ___ 

 

17.  Have you ever been or are you currently named as a party in any malpractice or professional liability 

claim or lawsuit or is there any pending?                                                                              yes ___    no  ___ 

 

18.  Have your hospital privileges been revoked, suspended, restricted, denied, not renewed, or involuntarily 

relinquished?                                                                                                                            yes ___    no  ___ 

 

19.  a.  Have you had a DEA license that has been revoked, suspended, denied, placed on probation, restricted 

or otherwise sanctioned by a state or federal board or agency?                                    yes ___    no  ___ 

         

       b.  Is your DEA license currently involved in an investigation or disciplinary process?   yes ___    no  ___ 

 

20.  Do you have any physical or mental illness or other condition or addiction to alcohol, narcotics or other 

mind altering drugs which impairs your ability to practice dentistry?                                     yes ___    no  ___ 

 

 

If you have answered yes to any questions #12 through #20, attach a statement explaining the circumstances 

fully. 
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21.  Do you have a DEA number associated with New Hampshire to prescribe schedule II-IV controlled    

substances?               yes ___    no  ___ 
 

 If yes, provide DEA number:        DEA # _______________________ 

 

Will this DEA number be associated with your New Hampshire dental license?              yes ___    no  ___ 

 

 

 

CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 

Den 403.04 RENEWAL AND MONITORING.   

 

 “A renewal license shall not be issued to an active licensee if the continuing education requirements 

were not met.” 

 

 Anyone who initially licensed between 04/01/2018 and 03/31/2020 does not need to report CEUs.  Any 

CEUs obtained during that period cannot be used for the next registration. 

 

NOTE:   
 

 1. Dentists with an active license are required to report 40 CEUs biennially – at least 30 shall be  

  clinical in nature. 

    

 2. 10% (4 CEUs) can be used only once for general attendance during the biennium. 

  

 3. Basic life support for healthcare providers (BLS-HCP) is considered clinical, limited to 3 CEUs 

per biennium for this biennial renewal (Den 403.03 and 403.07(b)).  The BLS-HCP course shall 

include a hands-on component. 

   

 4. Audio visual or online is limited to 30% (12 CEUs) of the required total (Den 403.07 (g)).   

  Audio visual or online programs must include the successful completion of a written examination. 

 

 5. 2 CEUs shall be earned in infection control during the biennium.  The infection control course  

  shall include the CDC Infection Prevention and Control Guidelines and Recommendations in  

  its syllabus.  An online course is acceptable. 

 

 

Please provide documentation of CEUs for the two year period preceding the receipt of this application: 

 

 

1. I have completed 40 or more CEUs, at least 30 of which were “clinical” in nature (see Den 403.02, 

Definition of Terms) 

  

 Yes_______   No________    

 

    Clinical hrs ________   Non-clinical hrs________ 

 

 

2. My BLS-HCP training is current.       Yes________   No________ 
 

  (Please provide proof.) 
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The following affidavit must be completed by the applicant after the previous portion is filled out. 

 

 

STATEMENT BY APPLICANT 

(Must be sworn to before a notary public) 

 

I understand that by signing the application I am: 

 

1. Waiving any confidentiality regarding disclosure to the Board from any other jurisdiction about any 

pending complaints or action being taken against my license to practice dentistry. 

2. Giving consent for a criminal background check. 

 

 

I, _________________________________________________________________________________________,  

of full age, under the penalties for falsification pursuant to RSA 641:1 through RSA 641:3, state that I am 

the person referred to in the foregoing application, that I have carefully read the instructions given and 

questions asked in the application form, and that all statements made therein are true and correct as of  this 
 

__________________ of ______________________, 20_____. 
              (day)                                      (month) 

      

 

__________________________________________________ 

        Signature of Applicant 

 

 

 

 

         ATTACH PHOTOGRAPH 

 

  

             

     

 

 

Photograph must be a passport 

Photo no smaller than 2 ½ inches 

squared and not more than 6 

months old.   

 

Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence 
 

on this ______ day of _________________, 20____ 

_________________________________________ 

 

my commission expires:  ______________ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 

 

APPROVED BY ______________________________ 

 


