Board of Dental Examiners - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Dental Hygiene FAQ

The Dental Hygiene frequently asked questions are informational only. It is the licensee’s obligation to read and understand the NH State Statutes and Rules, which may be found at www.oplc.nh.gov/dental/laws-rules.htm.

License Renewal | Name / Address Change | Local Anesthesia | Nitrous Oxide | EFDA | CPHDH | Qualifications for Specific Areas

License Renewal - Den 301.03

How do I renew my NH RDH license?

How many continuing education credits must I have in order to renew my NH RDH license?

How many hours need to be clinical?

What level of CPR must I obtain to renew my RDH license?

If I am an EFDA RDH, do I have to complete 10 CEUs in restorative dentistry each biennium?

How do I renew my NH RDH license? back to top

Online Renewal:

First, you will receive an email notifying of upcoming renewal. Second, you must receive a post card in the mail from the Board with your personal registration code. Third, you must apply for renewal following the instructions on the post card. You log in to https://nhlicenses.nh.gov and follow instructions for renewal.

On Paper:

Applicants for renewal may also complete a paper application which can be found (after February 1st in odd years) at https://www.oplc.nh.gov/dental/forms-publications.htm, under “Hygienists”.

How many continuing education credits must I have in order to renew my NH RDH license?back to top

20 hours of continuing education credits within the 2 years immediately preceding the
renewal application.

How many hours need to be clinical?back to top

15 hours shall be a minimum of clinical CEUs which include 2 CEUs of infection
control and 3 CEUs for BLS-HCP (Basic Life Support for Health Care Providers). Up to 5 hours will be accepted for non-clinical CEUs. Only 6 CEUs may be on-line. The remainder must be hands-on or classroom.

What level of CPR must I obtain to renew my RDH license?back to top

BLS-HCP (Basic Life Support for Health Care Providers) which includes infant, children, adult and use of the AED with hands-on component. See Den 403.07 for acceptable providers.

If I am an EFDA RDH, do I have to complete 10 CEUs in restorative dentistry each biennium?

Yes. [Den 302.07(b)(6)] back to top

Change in Name or Address - Den 301.09

How do I report to the Board my name change?

When do I need to report a change of employment, residential, or email address?

How do I report to the Board my name change?back to top

All persons licensed to practice dental hygiene in this state shall notify the Board in writing within 30 days of a name change and provide the Board a copy of the documentation that legally changed the name.

When do I need to report a change of employment, residential, or email address? back to top

All persons licensed to practice dental hygiene in this state shall notify the Board in writing within 30 days of any change of employment, residential, or email address.

Local Anesthesia - Den 302.05 (j)

If I was qualified to administer local anesthesia in another jurisdiction, can I administer local anesthesia in the state of NH without seeking a permit from the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners?

Can I administer local anesthesia if my dentist employer has stepped out of the office but
intends to return before I have completed my patient?

I am a RDH “temp”. Do I have to display my RDH License and local anesthesia permit at
each office that I work on a temporary basis?

If I was qualified to administer local anesthesia in another jurisdiction, can I administer local back to topanesthesia in the state of NH without seeking a permit from the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners?

No. You must apply for endorsement by the Board to perform that function and obtain a permit. Proof of qualification for endorsement is necessary. Refer to Den 302.05 (j) (3).

Can I administer local anesthesia if my dentist employer has stepped out of the office but
intends to return before I have completed my patient?back to top

No. Local Anesthesia can only be administered under the direct supervision of a dentist who is present at all times. Refer to Den 302.05 (j) (1) a.

I am a RDH “temp”. Do I have to display my RDH License and local anesthesia permit atback to top
each office that I work on a temporary basis?

Yes, both must be displayed. The local anesthesia permit is proof of anesthesia qualification approved by the Board and must be displayed at the place of practice wherever you work as a RDH. Refer to Den 302.05 (j) (1) b.

Nitrous Oxide

Monitoring of Nitrous Oxide - Den 302.05 (l)

Do I need to take an expanded duty course to monitor nitrous oxide?

Do I need a permit to monitor nitrous oxide?

Do I need to take an expanded duty course to monitor nitrous oxide? back to top

Yes, pursuant to Den 302.05 (l) dental hygienists must take an expanded duty course to monitor nitrous oxide.

Do I need a permit to monitor nitrous oxide?back to top

No. Dental hygienists do not need a permit to monitor nitrous oxide; however, they must meet the qualifications pursuant to Den 302.05 (l) and (m).

Administration of Nitrous Oxide - Den. 302.05 (n)

Do I need to obtain a permit to administer Nitrous Oxide?

Do I need to display my permit at my place of practice?

Is Nitrous Oxide only administered under direct supervision?

Do I need to obtain a permit to administer Nitrous Oxide? back to top

Yes, Dental Hygienists must obtain a permit for the administration of nitrous oxide pursuant to Den 302.05 (n), (o), and (p).

Do I need to display my permit at my place of practice?back to top

Yes. Pursuant to Den 302.05 (o) (1) b, a dental hygienist must display their permit to administer nitrous oxide in their place of practice.

Is Nitrous Oxide only administered under direct supervision?back to top

Yes. Pursuant to Den 302.05 (o) (1) a, a dental hygienist may only administer nitrous oxide under the direct supervision of a dentist.

For EFDA’S - Den 302.07 (b)

Does an EFDA need to display their permit?

Within how many days shall the Board be informed of the EFDA’s employment?

What are the CEU requirements for EFDA’s?

What type of supervisions do EFDA’s practice under?

How often should an EFDA submit documentation for experience with direct restorations?

Does an EFDA need to display their permit?back to top

Yes. Per Den 302.07 (b) EFDA’s shall prominently display their permit where they work.

Within how many days shall the Board be informed of the EFDA’s employment?back to top

Dentists shall inform the Board within 10 days of an EFDA’s employment.

What are the CEU requirements for EFDA’s?back to top

EFDA’s shall complete 10 CEU’s each biennium in restorative dentistry.

What type of supervisions do EFDA’s practice under?back to top

Per 302.07 (b) EFDA’s shall practice under the direct supervision of a New Hampshire licensed dentist.

How often should an EFDA submit documentation for experience with direct restorations?back to top

EFDA’s must have a letter from a supervising dentist attesting to their experience with direct restorations within the previous 2 years.

Certified Public Health Dental Hygienist - Den 302.08

How long can I go without using my certification as a CPHDH due to
unemployment?

Where do I display my proof of certification approved by the Board?

Can I administer local anesthesia to my patient under public health supervision if
I have a collaborative agreement with a dentist with an active NH dental license?

Do I have to renew both my dental hygiene license and my CPHDH certificate regularly or only one?

How long can I go without using my certification as a CPHDH due to
unemployment?back to top

Indefinitely, as long as you aren’t working as a CPHDH and continue to renew your certification.

Where do I display my proof of certification approved by the Board?back to top

You must display your CPHDH certificate at your place of practice.

Can I administer local anesthesia to my patient under public health supervision ifback to top
I have a collaborative agreement with a dentist with an active NH dental license?

No. Any licensed RDH in the state of NH can only administer local anesthesia under the direct supervision of a dentist. Refer to Den 302.05 (j)(1) a.

Do I have to renew both my dental hygiene license and my CPHDH certificate regularly or only one?back to top

You must renew your dental hygiene license biannually and your CPHDH certification biannually before May 1st which both happen to be in the odd numbered years. Refer to Den 302.08 (b) (8) and (9).

Dental Hygiene Qualifications in Specific Areas

What type of supervision is required for dental hygienists to perform Orthodontic duties and Fabrication of provisional crown and bridge restorations?

What is required for proof of attendance for courses in a specific area?

What type of supervision is required for dental hygienists to perform Orthodontic duties and Fabrication of provisional crown and bridge restorations?back to top

Direct supervision of a licensed dentist is required pursuant to Den 101.11.

What is required for proof of attendance for courses in a specific area?back to top

It is required to receive a signed certificate from the course provider sponsored pursuant to Den 403.07 confirming the course has been completed.

 


Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152