Family Mediator Certification Board - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Continuing Education

In order to renew certification, family mediators are required to obtain 24 hours of continuing education over their three years certification period in course work or workshops.

  • Approved by this Board.
  • On topics and given by providers listed in the Administrative Rule Fam 404.
  • Including 3 hours of instruction in each of the following areas:
    • Recent changes in New Hampshire or federal law, or procedures, relevant to divorce and parental rights and responsibilities cases.
    • Ethics for mediators, including a review of the Model Standards of Practice for Family and Divorce Mediation.
    • Domestic violence.
    • Mediator skills.
    • Family relationships, child development, impact of divorce and separation on families, substance misuse, and mental health factors in divorce and separation.

Certified Family Mediators may view this list of approved courses pdf file to see if a course has been approved, and for which subject matter and number of credit hours it was approved. The list will be updated as often courses as are approved, and includes both past and upcoming courses. Email contact information, if available, is provided for upcoming courses.

To request approval for a continuing education course that is not listed, mediators or continuing education course providers may request that approval by submitting the Course Approval Form pdf file to the Board either before (preferable) or after a course has taken place.

Mediators, who teach approved continuing education, should review Administrative Rule Fam 404.01(d) for information about the correct method and number of continuing education hours they may submit toward renewal of their certification.

Mediators, who serve as internship supervisors (see Administrative Rule Fam 301.08) during their certification period, may take up to 2 hours total Mediation Skills continuing education credit if they meet the requirements of Administrative Rule Fam 404.01(e).

Portable Document Format Symbol Portable Document Format (.pdf). Visit nh.gov for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.


Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152