
  

Application Process for Quebec and Non-Canadian Foreign Registered Nurse and Licensed 
Practical Nurse - Licensure by Endorsement 

 
These are the instructions for the application process for Quebec and Non-Canadian Foreign Registered Nurse and 
Licensed Practical Nurse Licensure by Endorsement. The following information is based on New Hampshire Board of 
Nursing Rules:  Nur 302.01; Nur 304.01; Nur 304.03. 

1) Complete and submit the following forms to the New Hampshire Board of Nursing: 

a) “Application for Licensure by Endorsement” pages 1 and 2. 

b) “Declaration of Primary State of Residence”. 

c) A notarized Criminal Record Release Authorization and completed fingerprint card along with any required 

fee, with the New Hampshire Board of Nursing identified as the recipient of the record or records. See 

information at: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background- check.htm 

d) “Request for RN/LPN Verification of Original License”. 

2) All foreign educated nurses must provide evidence of educational credentials from an organization recognized by 

National Council State Board of Nursing, which includes a certificate of a passing grade from an examination 

pursuant to Nur 302.(c). For applicant’s whose program was not in English or English is not the applicant’s native 

language, the credentialing shall also include an  English proficiency exam that includes the components of 

reading, speaking, writing and listening pursuant to enhanced Nurse License Compact Statute Article IIIc3. For 

example the CGFNS (http://www.cgfns.org/ ): 

• Certification Program (CP) Verification Letter WITH THE ADDITION OF transcripts forwarding service = eDAS 
through CGFNS 

• CES with English Language Testing through CGFNS 

• *If you are licensed as a nurse and have worked in the United States as a nurse you may also request a 
credentialing report through Josef Silny & Associated, Inc.=  www.jsilny.org   

3) Provide evidence of a minimum of 400 hours of active practice in the 4 years immediately prior to this application. 

4) Provide verification of 30 contact hours of continuing education in the past two years. One hour of learning equals 

one contact hour. 

5) Payment of the application fee of $120 payable to Treasurer State of New Hampshire. 
 
Frequently Asked Questions 
 
The NH Board of Nursing presents the following information on this site as a public service to our applicants and other 
potential licensees relevant to licensure in New Hampshire only. No representation is made about the licensure 
processes in other jurisdictions. While the information on this site is about NH licensing processes, it is only a guideline 
and not all inclusive to all matters. 
 
Endorsement is also referred to as Reciprocity. Applicants apply for a license by endorsement if they have never held a 
NH nursing license before but have already successfully passed the NCLEX, hold an active nursing license within one or 
more of the states and/or territories of the United States and have 400 hours of active-in-practice within the immediate 
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previous 4 years. 
 

1. Where do I find the application? 
 
Printable application packets can be obtained at the New Hampshire Board of Nursing website under Forms and 
Publications which will include the instructions, explanation of requirements and documents required for 
submission. 
 

2. How long does it take to process my application? 
 
Processing time varies depending on how quickly all the elements of an application come together. 
An applicant is allowed a maximum of 180 days to complete the process from the date the application is received at 
the board office. Any applications not complete within 180 days, are considered expired and will be removed from 
our system. 
 

3. Does the state of NH require a criminal background check? 
 
All LPNs and RNs applying for original licensure in the State of NH are required to complete the FBI finger printing 
and criminal background check process. Results are valid up to 6 months. Refer to the link for additional information: 
http://www.nh.gov/nursing/enforcement/obtain-criminal-background-check.htm 
 

4. Do I need to provide proof of education? 
 
Refer to Number 2 of application process, which is above the frequently asked questions. Yes – credentialing process. 
 

5. Is a social security number required? 
 
Yes, a SSN is required to apply for licensure and the SSN must be issued and valid. Pending social security numbers 
will not qualify. There are no exceptions. 
 

6. Does New Hampshire require English Language testing? 
 
It is not required in NH if you already hold a nursing license and have worked within any of the states and/or 
territories of the United States. 

 
7. I have no work experience as a licensed nurse, am I qualified to apply in New Hampshire? 
 

Endorsement applicants are required to have 400 hours of active-in-practice within the immediate previous 
4 or passed the NCLEX within the previous 2 years in place of work experience to be eligible. 

 
8. I do not have an active nursing license. Am I qualified to apply in New Hampshire? 
 

You must hold a valid active nursing license within a state or territory of the United States to be eligible for 
endorsement. 

 
9. How can I pay for my application fee? 
 

Cash, check, money order, or credit card (MasterCard, Visa and Discover) is accepted. The payment must be 
in United States funds from a bank with a United States affiliate and is non-refundable. Payment must be 
paid and is processed at the time an application is submitted to the office. 

 
10. If my application is denied, will I get my money back? 
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All fees are non-refundable. It is suggested to email the Board at board.questions@oplc.nh.gov with any 
unanswered questions before submitting your application. 

 
11. Who can I contact about my application? 
 

Questions about the application process or status can be emailed to: board.questions@oplc.nh.gov. 
 
12. How do I know if the NH Board of Nursing has received the information that was requested for my 

file? 
 

Applicants are expected to read instructions carefully and are responsible to submit all requirements within 
the allowed time frame. You may inquire about a submitted application status by email 
board.questions@oplc.nh.gov and someone from the office will respond accordingly. 

 
13. How can I check my application status after I’ve applied? 
 

Always use the “On-line Verification & Nursing Assistant Registry” listed under Quick Links on our home 
page: nh.gov/nursing to access your application or license information. Select the profession, plus your first 
& last name and hit search. Do not enter a SSN. Once your name appears it will show one of two statuses: 

 Pending- indicates the test results are still be processed. 
 8 digit number ending in - 21 or - 22 – this indicates the applicant passed the exam and is now 

licensed as a nurse. 
 
14. How do I access my license information after I’ve been licensed? 
 

Licensees need to reference the “On-line Verification & Nursing Assistant Registry” Quick Link on our 
website’s home page to access license status and information. 
Only enter the profession plus your first and last name and do not enter your SSN. Once your name appears, 
click on it, and the details of your license should appear. We suggest you print that screen for your records. 
Employers will use the same link to verify your license information. 

 
15. When do I need to renew my license once it’s issued? 
 

Licenses cannot surpass 2 birthdays and will expire on midnight on your second birthday from the date the 
license was issued. For the first renewal, you will most likely need to renew your license before our standard 
2 year period. After the first renewal, licenses are required to be renewed no later than midnight on your 
birthday every 2 years. 
It is suggested to complete the renewal process about 4 to 6 weeks in advance of your birthday to avoid any 
last minute problems that might cause additional fees and/or fines. 
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