
Application Process for Quebec and Non-Canadian Foreign Registered Nurse and Licensed 
Practical Nurse - Initial Licensure 

 
These are the instructions for the application process for Quebec and Non-Canadian Foreign Registered Nurse and 
Licensed Practical Nurse Initial Licensure. The following information is based on New Hampshire Board of Nursing 
Rules:  Nur 302.01; Nur 302.02; and Nur 303.02. 

1) Complete and submit the following forms to the New Hampshire Board of Nursing: 

a) “License By Examination (NCLEX) Application”. 

b) “Declaration of Primary State of Residence”. 

c) A notarized Criminal Record Release Authorization and completed fingerprint card along with any required 

fee, with the New Hampshire Board of Nursing identified as the recipient of the record or records. See 

information at: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm 

d) “Request for RN/LPN Verification of Original License”. 

2) All foreign educated nurses must provide evidence of educational credentials from an organization recognized by 

National Council State Board of Nursing, which includes a certificate of a passing grade from an examination 

pursuant to Nur 301.01 (c). For applicant’s whose program was not in English or English is not the applicant’s native 

language, the credentialing shall also include an  English proficiency exam that includes the components of reading, 

speaking, writing and listening pursuant to enhanced Nurse License Compact Statute Article IIIc3. For example the 

CGFNS (http://www.cgfns.org/ ): 

• Certification Program (CP) verification letter WITH the forwarding of transcripts = eDAS through CGFNS 

3) Provide evidence of a minimum of 400 hours of active practice in the 4 years immediately prior to this 

application. 

4) Payment of the application fee. 

5) Apply to Pearson Vue for Authorization to Test (ATT) at: https://portal.ncsbn.org/ 

 

Frequently Asked Questions  
The NH Board of Nursing presents the following information on this site as a public service to our applicants and other 
potential licensees relevant to licensure in New Hampshire only. No representation is made about the licensure 
processes in other jurisdictions. While the information on this site is about NH licensing processes, it is only a guideline 
and not all inclusive to all matters. 

A. I am foreign educated and a licensed nurse in a foreign country, how do I apply? 

License by Exam is the application process. The application and instructive PowerPoint are available at URL: 
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/documents/rn-application-nclex-instruction.pdf  

 

B. Is a Social Security Number (SSN) required? 

Yes, a SSN is required to apply for licensure. No exceptions.  

 

C. Do I need to submit a Credentials Evaluation report to apply? 

All foreign educated nurses must provide evidence of educational credentials – see above application process step 

https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm
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number 2.  

 

D. Does New Hampshire require English Language testing? 

Yes. Refer to Credentials required in application process number 2 – above.  

 

E. What if I have previously failed an NCLEX exam? 

You may apply or reapply to take the NCLEX until you have collectively taken the NCLEX 5 times within a 3 year 
period. New Hampshire allows an applicant to test a maximum total of 5 times regardless of where the exam was 
taken. If you fail three times, you are required to go through a remediation plan with the Board of Nursing before 
you test again. 

 

F. Does the state of NH require a criminal background check? 

All LPNs and RNs applying for original licensure in the State of NH are required to complete the FBI finger printing 
and criminal background check process. Results are valid up to 6 months. Refer to the link for additional 
information: http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/enforcement/obtain-criminal-background-check.htm 

 

G. Where do I find the application? 

Printable application packets can be obtained at: http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/forms/index.htm which will 
include the instructions, explanation of requirements and documents required for submission. 

 

H.  I have a license in another country but have no work experience, am I qualified to apply in New Hampshire? 

Foreign educated Exam applicants are not eligible to apply in NH without work experience. 

 

I. I have not worked since I left my previous country. Am I qualified to apply in NH? 

J. Applicants are required to supply proof of employment in nursing. An official letter from the Employer needs to 
be sent directly to the board office on employer letterhead stationary and envelope. The letter should include 
dates worked, total hours and a description of job responsibilities and signed by the nursing director or nursing 
manager. 
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K. I have not been licensed in my original country of education or any other country. Am I qualified to apply in 
NH? 

  If you have never been licensed in a previous country, you are not eligible. 

 

L. How long does it take to process my application? 

Processing time varies depending on how quickly all the elements of an application come together. 

An applicant is allowed a maximum of 180 days to complete the process from the date the application is 
received at the board office. Any applications not complete within 180 days, are considered expired and will be 
removed from our system. 

 

M. Who can I contact about my application? 

  Questions about the application process or status can be emailed to: board.questions@oplc.nh.gov 

 

N. How do I know if the NH Board of Nursing has received the information that was requested for my file? 
Applicants are expected to read instructions carefully and are responsible to submit all requirements within the 
allowed time frame. You may inquire about a submitted application status by email  
board.questions@oplc.nh.gov and someone from the office will respond accordingly. 

 

O. How can I pay for my application fee? 

Cash, check, money order, or credit card (MasterCard, Visa and Discover) is accepted. The payment must be in 
United States funds from a bank with a United States affiliate and is non-refundable. Payment must be paid and 
is processed at the time an application is submitted to the office. 

 

P. If my application is denied, will I get my money back? 

All fees are non-refundable. It is suggested to email the Board at board.questions@oplc.nh.gov with any 
unanswered questions before submitting your application. 

 

Q. How can I check my license application status? 

Applicants use the “On-line Verification & Nursing Assistant Registry” listed under Quick Links on our home 
page: nh.gov/nursing to access application status. 

Select the profession, then enter your first & last name. Do not enter a SSN. Hit Search. Once your name appears 
it will show one of three statuses: 

Pending- indicates the test results are still be processed. 

Withdrawn- indicates the applicant was not successful in passing the exam. 

8 digit number ending in - 21 or - 22 – this indicates the applicant passed the exam and is now licensed as a 
nurse. Click on the name and the license details will appear. You will want to print this screen for your records. 
NOTE: You will not receive a paper license. 

 

R. What happens when my application is complete and I’ve been approved to take the NCLEX examination? 
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You must pre-register with Pearson Vue to take the NCLEX at https://portal.ncsbn.org/ at the same time you 
submit an application to the Board. Once your application is complete with the NH Board of Nursing, Pearson 
VUE will send you an Authorization To Test (ATT) by email to schedule your test date. 

 

S. What is an ATT? 

Pearson VUE will send you an Authorization To Test (ATT) and you are required to respond to the 
email in order to schedule your exam. NOTE: The name with which you register with Pearson VUE 
will need to match name on your photo ID and ATT exactly or you will be turned away at the testing 
center and will not be allowed to test until the correction is made. 

 

T. What should I do if there is something inaccurate with my ATT? 

Contact the NH Board of Nursing by sending an email to: board.questions@oplc.nh.gov with 
information regarding your request for the correction. 

 

U. How long is my ATT valid for? 

Once an ATT is issued, it is valid for 6 months. NOTE: Applicants must test within the 180 day (6 
months) time frame from the day your application was received at the NH Board of Nursing 
regardless of when the ATT was issued. 

 

V. How do I access my license information after I’ve taken the NCLEX? 

Applicants use the “On-line Verification & Nursing Assistant Registry” listed under Quick Links on 
our home page: nh.gov/nursing to access your application status or license information. 

Select the profession, plus your first & last name. Do not enter a SSN. Hit Search. Once your name 
appears it will show one of three statuses: 

Pending- indicates the test results are still be processed. 

Withdrawn- indicates the applicant was not successful in passing the exam. 

8 digit number ending in - 21 or - 22 – this indicates the applicant passed the exam and is now 
licensed as a nurse. 

Click on the name and the license details will appear. You will want to print this screen for your 
records. NOTE: You will not receive a paper license. 

 

W. What happens if the applicant fails to successfully pass the NCLEX exam? 

The applicant can choose to reapply and test again. If a temporary license was issued it is now void. 

Applicant may apply or reapply to take the NCLEX until they have collectively taken the NCLEX 5 
times within a 3 year period. Applicants must complete the following steps to retest: 

Register again with Pearson VUE and pay the $200 fee. 

Submit a new 2 page application (& fee) with a Declaration of Primary State of Residency form and 
a copy of your Driver’s license (4 pieces of paper total). 

Repeat the Criminal Background check and fingerprinting process only if it has been 6 months or 
more since the last complete criminal background check. 

 

X. When do I need to renew my license once it’s issued? 
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Licenses cannot surpass 2 birthdays and will expire on midnight on your second birthday from the 
date the license was issued. For the first renewal, you will most likely need to renew your license 
before our standard 2 year period. After the first renewal, licenses are required to be renewed no 
later than midnight on your birthday every 2 years. 

It is suggested to complete the renewal process about 4 to 6 weeks in advance of your birthday to 
avoid any last minute problems that might cause additional fees and/or fines. 

 


