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NH BOARD OF NURSING EXAMINATION APPLICATION PROCESS 
Quebec and non-Canadian Foreign Educated Nurses  

Instructions 

1) Complete and submit the following forms to the New Hampshire Board of Nursing: 

a) “License By Examination (NCLEX) Application”. 

b) “Declaration of Primary State of Residence”. 

c) A notarized Criminal Record Release Authorization and completed fingerprint card along with any required fee, 

with the New Hampshire Board of Nursing identified as the recipient of the record or records. See information 

at: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background- check.htm 

d) “Request for RN/LPN Verification of Original License”. 

2) All foreign educated nurses must provide evidence of educational credentials from an organization recognized by 

National Council State Board of Nursing, which includes a certificate of a passing grade from an examination 

pursuant to Nur 302.(c), the credentialing shall also include an  English proficiency exam that includes the 

components of reading, speaking, writing and listening pursuant to enhanced Nurse License Compact Statute Article 

IIIc3. For example the CGFNS (http://www.cgfns.org/ ): 

• Certification Program (CP) verification letter WITH the forwarding of transcripts = eDAS through CGFNS 

3) Provide evidence of a minimum of 400 hours of active practice in the 4 years immediately prior to this application. 

4) Payment of the application fee. 

5) Apply to Pearson Vue for Authorization to Test (ATT) at: https://portal.ncsbn.org/ 
 
ABOUT TEMPORARY LICENSES:   A temporary or permanent license must be issued in your name before you begin any job, including employee orientation. If you’re 
applying for a Temporary nursing license, fully complete the Application for Temporary License form, and forward it to the NH Board of Nursing along with the fee. You 
must include the Application for License by Examination or have a current application already pending with the NH board office. Temporary licenses can only be issued 
once an application is complete. Temporary licenses are valid up to 120 days or until your exam results are processed, regardless of pass or fail test results.  
 
ABOUT YOUR ATT:   Once your Application for License by Examination is fully completed and you are eligible for testing, Pearson Testing Service will issue you an 
Authorization to Test. You will not receive an ATT if you have not pre-registered. When you receive your ATT (usually via email), please read and follow the instructions 
carefully to schedule your examination. The ATT does not come from the Board of Nursing. Be sure to note the date, time and place of your exam on the ATT. You will not 
receive a confirmation or reminder of your scheduled test date. The ID you present must match the name in the Pearson VUE system. If it does not match, you will not be 
allowed to test and will be required to re-register. 
 
CHECKING THE STATUS OF YOUR APPLICATION: Your application status and any licenses issued, including temporary licenses, can be viewed on our website at 
www.nh.gov/nursing by going to the “On-line Verification and Nursing Assistant Registry” under Quick Links. NCLEX results are usually processed within 96 hours after 
testing. PLEASE DO NOT CALL THE BOARD OFFICE ASKING ABOUT THE STATUS OF YOUR APPLICATION.  If you have questions about your application, please email us at: 
board.questions@nursing.state.nh.us with the Subject: NCLEX. 

 

http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm
http://www.cgfns.org/
https://portal.ncsbn.org/
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APPLICATION PROCESS FOR LICENSING BY EXAMINATION (NCLEX) 

 
Check off steps when completed, SIGN and DATE when complete and submit this page with the application. 

o YES   I have Completed the Criminal Background check and finger printing process in the Board directives 
found at: https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm 
 Please be aware that the NH Board of Nursing cannot continue with the application process until we have 
received, reviewed and approved your completed criminal record report. The Board will only accept 
completed criminal record reports that are sent to us directly from the NH State Police. A FBI fingerprint 
and NH background check is required for each initial licensure. 

o YES   I have completed and attached the Application for Licensing by Examination and submitted the 
required application fee. *Fees are nonrefundable.  

o YES   I have included the Declaration of Primary state/country of residency with a copy of my driver’s 
license or country ID (passports not accepted because they do not contain a street address). 

o Yes I have requested my employer provide proof of a minimum of 400 hours of nursing experience in the 
past four years prior to this application.  

o Yes As a FOREIGN RN / LPN GRADUATES I am submitting a nationally accepted qualifying certificate issued 
within the past two years that is endorsed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, as well as 
provide verification of educational credentials, proof of licensing: Certification Program (CP) verification 
letter WITH the forwarding of transcripts = eDAS through Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing 
Schools (CGFNS) 

o YES   I have pre-registered with Pearson VUE and paid the $200 fee. (See below.) 
 

• When the Board of Nursing has received your application (4 pages), fee, transcript and criminal 
background report, the Board will notify Pearson VUE that you are eligible to test.  

• Pearson VUE will e-mail you an Authorization to Test (ATT). You then contact Pearson VUE to set up your 
test date.  
 

 
 
 
 
Name: __________________________________Signature:________________________ Date:_______________  
 

If you are requesting accommodations when taking this examination, please obtain the “Request for Accommodation” form and 
follow the instructions and submit those required documents along with your examination application. If accommodations are not 
requested at the time of application, on-site testing accommodations will not be available. 
 

http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm
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NH Board of Nursing 
LICENSE BY EXAMINATION (NCLEX) APPLICATION 

 

 

LAST NAME: FIRST NAME: MIDDLE INITIAL: OTHER NAMES USED: 

MAILING ADDRESS: EMAIL: 

CITY OR TOWN: STATE: ZIP CODE: COUNTY: 

PHYSICAL RESIDENCE IF DIFFERENT FROM MAILING: (REQUIRED) 

Sources used to determine residence for Compact licensure include but are not limited to driver's license, federal tax return, voter 
registration or military payroll documents. 
DATE OF BIRTH: PHONE NUMBER: SOCIAL SECURITY # (REQUIRED) 

1) Have you ever received disciplinary action against any nursing, nursing assistant license, or certification in any state 
or jurisdiction including reprimand, probation, suspension, revocation, educational or practice stipulations, fines or 
voluntary surrender? 

[   ] YES          [   ] NO 

2) Are you currently participating in a substance abuse and/or alcohol or drug treatment program or have been 
diagnosed with a substance abuse disorder which in any way currently affects or limits your ability to practice 
safely and in a competent and professional manner?? 

[   ] YES          [   ] NO 

3) Have you ever been convicted of a misdemeanor, felony or any criminal act, not including traffic violations? [   ] YES          [   ] NO 

4) Do you have any mental and/or physical conditions that make you incompetent to provide nursing-related 
activities? [   ] YES          [   ] NO 

5) IF YOU ANSWERED YES TO ANY QUESTIONS 1 - 4, HAVE YOU ATTACHED YOUR REQUIRED LETTER OF EXPLANATION? [   ] YES          [   ] NO 

6) Do you want your name and address on a list of nurses that may be made available for purchase? [   ] YES          [   ] NO 

7) Do you want your name and address on a list that may be made available for individuals conducting health care 
research? [   ] YES          [   ] NO 

Please list every state or country in which you have ever held a license as a 
RN or LPN:  (Please use the back of this page if needed) 

STATE:                            LICENSE TYPE /NUMBER:                                                                                                                                                                                       

COUNTRY:                     LICENSE TYPE / NUMBER:                                                                         

Name, City and State of Nursing School (Required):  
GRADUATION DATE: OR  ANTICIPATED GRADUATION DATE: OR WITHDRAWAL DATE: 

PROGRAM TYPE:     [__] CERTIFICATE       [__] DIPLOMA         [__] ASSOCIATES DEGREE        [__] BACCALAUREATE       [__] MASTERS      [__] DOCTOR OF NURSING 

HAVE YOU EVER FAILED AN EXAMINATION 
FOR RN OR LPN?       Y      or      N 

EXAM DATE(S): STATE(S): EXAM TYPE: 

Applicants are granted a collective life time total of 5 attempts to pass the NCLEX exam in the state of New Hampshire.                                                              
Any previous NCLEX exam(s) attempts taken outside of New Hampshire will also be included as part of one’s cumulative total. 
MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE                      TREASURER, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE    FEE:   $120.00 
UNDER PENALTY OF LAW, I state the information provided is accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand knowingly providing false information 
may be grounds for denial, probation, reprimand, suspension or revocation of a license (RSA 326-B: 37) and may be grounds for conviction of a misdemeanor (RSA 
641:3). 

SIGNATURE: DATE: 

OFFICE USE ONLY DATE INITIALS

FEE: A
REC'D: B
CK/MO: E
TEMP L#                          X
LIC# C
DATE ISSUED:

Select One - RN LPN

http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing
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DECLARATION OF PRIMARY STATE OF RESIDENCY FORM 

 

YOU MUST ATTACH A LEGIBLE COPY OF YOUR STATE ISSUED DRIVER LICENSE OR A GOVERNMENT ISSUED ID AS PROOF OF RESIDENCY. 
 

APPLICANT INFORMATION: 
 
FULL NAME (PLEASE PRINT)   ________________________________________________________________________________ 
  
DATE OF BIRTH                    /            /                                            PHONE NUMBER (            )            -                  
 
SOCIAL SECURITY #     __  __  __   *  __  __   *  __   __   __   __ 
 
LICENSE APPLICATION TYPE:    [   ] EXAM                                 NOTIFICATION FOR:     [   ] RN      [   ] LPN   
 
 

CHECK ONE OF THE FOLLOWING: 
 
[   ]    My primary state of residence is New Hampshire. (I have provided a clean, legible copy of my NH drivers’ license)  
 
 

[   ]    I do not declare New Hampshire as my primary state of residency. My permanent residence is a state not  
[   ]    participating in the nurse licensure compact. My license will be valid in NH only.  
 
 

[   ]   I am employed exclusively in the US Military (Active Duty) or with the U.S. Federal Government and request a                                                       
NH single-state license regardless of my primary state of residence.  

 
 

Current home address: 
 
Address: ______________________________________   City: ___________________   State: _______    Zip Code: _____________ 
 
Current mailing address: 
 
Address: ______________________________________   City: ___________________   State: _______    Zip Code: _____________ 

 
IMPORTANT:  Pursuant to the Nurse Practice Act (RSA 326-B: 46- Nurse Licensure Compact):  
A nurse applying for a license shall provide evidence of the nurse’s primary state of residence. The primary state of residency is where 
you vote, pay taxes, hold a driver’s license, etc. In order for NH to issue your eligibility to test for licensure in NH,  you cannot legally 
reside in another compact state. Feel free to visit our website or ncsbn.org for more information on nurse compact licensure. 
 
UNDER PENALTY OF LAW, I state the information provided is accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand knowingly 
providing false information may be grounds for denial, probation, reprimand, suspension or revocation of a license (RSA 326-B: 37) and 
may be grounds for conviction of a misdemeanor (RSA 641:3) 

 
SIGNATURE ________________________________________________________________      DATE __________________________ 

 

http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing
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NH BOARD OF NURSING TEMPORARY LICENSE APPLICATION 
 

New Hampshire Board of Nursing may issue a temporary license to candidates seeking to take the NCLEX examination once the all 
requirements are complete. A temporary license can only be requested in conjunction with a permanent initial license application. 
Temporary licenses are valid for 120 days, or for as long as the Examination application is valid. Once an application expires, purges, or 
test results are processed, the temporary license becomes invalid.  
 

If you are reapplying to retake the exam after a fail, you are not eligible to apply for a Temporary license.  
TYPE:         [   ] LPN         [   ] LPN COMP ED         [   ] RN        [   ] RN  DIRECT ENTRY MASTERS         [   ] RN CANADIAN        [   ] RN FOREIGN 
LAST NAME: FIRST NAME: MIDDLE: OTHER NAMES USED: 

MAILING ADDRESS: 

CITY / TOWN: STATE: ZIP CODE: COUNTRY: 

PHYSICAL ADDRESS: 

CITY / TOWN: STATE: ZIP CODE: COUNTRY: 

Sources used to determine residence for Compact licensure include but are not 
limited to driver's license, federal tax return, voter registration or military payroll 
documents. 

EMAIL: 

DATE OF BIRTH: PHONE # SOCIAL SECURITY # (REQUIRED) 

IS YOUR APPLICATION FOR EXAM / RE-ENTRY / ENDORSEMENT FILED WITH THE BOARD?  [    ] YES      [   ] NO     DATE FILED:  

HAVE YOU EVER HAD A TEMPORARY LICENSE IN NH?    [   ] YES   [   ] NO      TYPE:      [   ] RN       [   ] LPN 

NAME OF NURSING SCHOOL (Required): 

NURSING SCHOOL ADDRESS (Required): 
GRADUATION DATE: OR ANTICIPATED GRADUATION DATE: OR WITHDRAWAL DATE: 

PROGRAM TYPE:     [__] CERTIFICATE       [__] DIPLOMA         [__] ASSOCIATES DEGREE        [__] BACCALAUREATE       [__] MASTERS      [__] DOCTOR OF NURSING 

HAVE YOU EVER FAILED AN 
EXAMINATION FOR RN OR LPN? 

EXAM DATE(S): STATE: EXAM TYPE: 

FOREIGN EDUCATED NURSES A qualifying examination certificate, verification of educational credentials and proof of licensing is:                 
Available [   ]                    Pending [   ] 

ANTICIPATED EMPLOYER: (IF NONE ANTICIPATED, PLEASE WRITE "NONE") 

CURRENT EMPLOYER:  (IF NONE, PLEASE WRITE "NONE") 

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO:        TREASURE, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE TEMP LICENSE FEE:        $ 20.00 
 
UNDER PENALTY OF LAW, I state the information provided is accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand knowingly providing false 
information may be grounds for denial, probation, reprimand, suspension or revocation of a license (RSA 326-B: 37) and may be grounds for conviction of a 
misdemeanor (RSA 641:3) 
 

 
_______________________________________________________________          ____________________________ 
SIGNATURE                                                                                                                                                DATE 

http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing

