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Application for Initial Nursing Assistant License 

 

Welcome. You are applying for a New Hampshire Nursing Assistant License. The checklist below will help 

guide you in the application process. 

 

 The Board of Nursing does not provide paper licenses and you will be emailed when licensed.  

Licensure and Temporary Licensure can be verified and/or printed from the website at 

https://nhlicenses.nh.gov/Verification/.  

 

 Application/licensing process not completed within 120 days will be purged. New Hampshire has a 

mandatory licensing law; no one shall practice as a licensed nurisng-assistant (LNA) without a valid New 

Hampshire issued license. 

 

Complete the checklist section that applies to you (Section 1 or Section 2) and submit this checklist with the 

Application for a Nursing Assistant License. 

 

Checklist Section 1 – Initial License by Competency Evaluation 

 This means that you have completed a NH Nursing Assistant Education Program and written and clinical 

testing. 

 

 _____ Yes, I have followed Board directives found at:  https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-

background-check.htm to comply with the new FBI fingerprint and NH background check requirements. 

 

 _____ Yes, section II of the Criminal Background request form contains “New Hampshire Board of 

Nursing” as the name of person/entity to receive the record, and “121 South Fruit Street, Concord NH 

03301” as the address. Your criminal record will be processed and sent directly to the Board of Nursing. 

Please be aware that the NH Board of Nursing cannot complete the application process until we have 

received and reviewed your criminal record report. The Board can only accept completed  criminal 

reports that are sent to us by the NH State Police. 

Note: If you use a NH Livescan site other then Concord: You have a 30 day time period to submit 

your notarized authorization form with fee and track number to the Concord processing center for 

completion from the day of finger printing. Digital prints are only kept on file for 30 days, after 

which they are deleted. Therefore, paperwork submitted after 30 days from the day of finger 

printing will be considered expired and you will need to repeat the process. 

 

 _____ Yes, I have attached a copy of my LNA Education Program Certificate. 

 

 _____ Yes, I have attached a final Report of my Written and Clinical Competency Testing Results. 

 

https://nhlicenses.nh.gov/Verification/
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm
https://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing/criminal-background-check.htm


State of New Hampshire 
OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION 

DIVISION OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Board of Nursing 

7 Eagle Square  Concord, N.H. 03301-2412 

Telephone 603-271-2323 · Fax 603-271-6605 
               

 

 TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964 Page 2 of 4 

 

 

 _____ Yes, I have completed and attached the Board of Nursing Application for Initial NH Nursing 

Assistant License. 

 

 _____ Yes, I have attached a check or money order for $35.00 payable to Treasurer, State of New 

Hampshire. Please note, all fees are non-refundable. 

 

 

  Checklist Section 2 – Initial License by Comparable Evaluation 

 This means that you have completed the Nursing Fundamentals portion of an RN or LPN program or a 

LNA Challenge Exam and written and clinical testing. 

 

 _____ Yes, I have followed Board directives www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing to comply with the new FBI 

fingerprint and NH background check requirements. 

 

 _____ Yes, section II of the Criminal Background request form contains “New Hampshire Board of 

Nursing” as the name of person/entity to receive the record, and “121 South Fruit Street, Concord NH 

03301” as the address. Your criminal record will be processed and sent directly to the Board of Nursing. 

Please be aware that the NH Board of Nursing cannot complete the application process until we have 

received and reviewed your criminal record report. The Board can only accept completed  criminal 

reports that are sent to us by the NH State Police. 

 

 I have attached one of the following: 

 _____ Nursing Program Official Transcript documenting completion of Nursing Fundamentals. 

  OR 

 _____ Letter from my Nursing Program verifying completing of Nursing Fundamentals. 

  OR 

 _____ Challenge Exam Certificate and final report of Written and Clinical Competency Testing 

  Results. 

 _____ Yes, I have completed and attached the NH Board of Nursing Application for Initial NH Nursing 

Assistant License. 

 

 _____ Yes, I have attached a check or money order for $35.00 payable to Treasurer, State of New 

Hampshire. Please note, all fees are non-refundable. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://www.oplc.nh.gov/nursing
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TEMPORARY LICENSURE 

 

 Upon receipt of this completed application, a 120 day temporary license to practice as a 

Licensed Nursing Assistant in New Hampshire shall be issued.   

 Upon Board receipt and approval of the criminal history background check and FBI 

fingerprint report, a permanent license shall be issued. 

 _____I understand that a temporary license to practice as an LNA in New Hampshire 

allows me to work only when supervised by a currently licensed RN or LPN. 

  

Application for Initial License: Nursing Assistant 

Please note all questions must be answered or your application will be returned to you. 

 

1. Name:_____________________  ___________________  ___________________  ________________________ 

 Last   First   Middle            Maiden / Other names used 

 

2. Mailing Address:_____________________________________  ____________________  ________  _________ 

   Street             City or Town        State            Zip Code 

 

3. Phone: (____) ____ - ______  Social Security # (required) ____--___--_______  Email ______________________ 

 

4. Date of birth: _____ / _____ / _____ 

 

5. Have you ever received disciplinary action against any nursing assistant license, certification or nursing license, in 

any state or jurisdiction including reprimand, probation, suspension, revocation, educational or practice stipulations, 

fines or voluntary surrender? 

 _____ Yes*  _____ No 

 

6. Have you previously or currently been impaired by or diverted any chemical substances that impaired your ability 

to practice? 

 _____ Yes*  _____ No 

 

7. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or any criminal act, not including traffic offenses? Note: Driving While 

Intoxicated and Driving Under the Influence are not “traffic violations”. 

 _____ Yes*  _____ No 

 

8. Do you have a mental or physical problem that makes you incompetent to provide nursing-related activities? 

 _____ Yes*  _____ No 
 

*If you answered “Yes” to any question(s) 5 – 8, you must attach a letter of explanation. 
 

9. Do you want your name and address on a list of nurses that may be made available for purchase?  

 _____ Yes  _____ No 

 

10. Do you want your name and address on a list that may be made available for individuals conducting healthcare 

research? _____ Yes  _____ No 
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11. Name of Nursing or Nursing Assistant Program: ____________________________________________________ 

 

12. Date of Program Certificate or completion of Fundamentals of Nursing course: ____________________________ 

 

13. Written and Clinical Competency evaluation date: ___________________________________________________ 

 

14. Were any special arrangements made for you during the nursing assistant program or competency testing because 

of a physical or mental condition?    _____ Yes*   If yes, attach a letter of explanation.           _____ No 

 

15. Have you received reimbursement for your LNA education? 

 _____ Yes  _____ No 

 

16. Name of current Employer: ____________________________________  Job Title _________________________ 

 

17. Phone number of Employer: (_____) _____ -- _____  Date of Hire: ___________ 

 

18. Address of Employer: _________________________________________________________________________ 

 

19. Do you now hold or have you ever held a Nursing or Nursing Assistant Certification, License or Registration in any 

other state? _____ Yes*  _____ No  
 

*If you answered “Yes”, list each state in which you have held a certification, license or 

registration. You can use the back of this page if needed. 
 

  State: __________________   Lic. Type: ________________   Exp. Date: _________________ 

 

  State: __________________   Lic. Type: ________________   Exp. Date: _________________ 

 

 

 

 

Application / licensing process not completed within 120 days will be purged. New Hampshire has a mandatory 

licensing law; no one shall practice as a licensed nursing-assistant (LNA) without a valid New Hampshire issued 

license. 

 

Under penalty of law, I state the information provided is accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I 

understand knowingly providing false information may be grounds for denial, probation, reprimand, suspension or 

revocation of a license (RSA 326-B:37) and may be grounds for conviction of a misdemeanor (RSA 641:3). 

 

_____________________________________________________________  _____ / _____ / _______ 

Full Signature of Applicant        Date 


