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Temporary License for Licensure by Examination Applicants 
New Hampshire Board of Nursing may issue a temporary license to candidates seeking to take 
the NCLEX examination once all application requirements are complete. A temporary license can 
only be requested in conjunction with a permanent initial license application. 

 
Temporary licenses are valid for 120 days, or for as long as the Examination application is valid. 
Once an application expires, purges, or test results are processed, the temporary license 
becomes invalid. *If you are reapplying to retake the exam after a fail, you are not eligible to 
apply for a Temporary license. A temporary license can only be requested in conjunction with a 
permanent initial license application. Temporary licenses are valid for 120 days. Once a 
permanent license is issued or an application for permanent license expires, the temporary 
license becomes invalid.  
 
Temporary License for Licensure by Endorsement Applicants  
Pursuant to RSA 326-b:20-a: New Hampshire Board of Nursing may issue an immediate 
provisional/temporary license to applicants from Massachusetts, Connecticut and Vermont.  
 
APPLICATION AND REGISTRATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE. 
Complete the application for Temporary License form, and attach it to your application for 
License by Exam or by Endorsement. Make sure to include the $120 license fee and the 
additional $20 temporary license fee. Application/licensing processes not completed within 180 
days will be purged. New Hampshire has a mandatory licensing law; No one shall practice 
nursing in New Hampshire without a current New Hampshire license or a current license in a 
compact state.  
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           GRADUATION DATE: I OR ANTICIPATED GRADUATION DATE: I OR WITHDRAWAL DATE: 

 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

UNDER PENALTY OF LAW, I state the information provided is accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand knowingly providing false 
information may be grounds for denial, probation, reprimand, suspension or revocation of a license (RSA 326-B: 37) and may be grounds for conviction of a 
misdemeanor (RSA 641:3) 
 
 

SIGNATURE                                                                                                                            DATE

TYPE: [  ] LPN    [   ] LPN COM PED     [  ] RN    [  ] RN DIRECT ENTRY MASTERS   [   ] RN CANADIAN     [  ] RN ENDORSEMENT 

LAST NAME: I FIRST NAME: MIDDLE: I OTHER NAMES USED: 

MAILING ADDRESS: 

CITY /TOWN: I STATE: ZIP CODE: I COUNTRY: 

PHYSICAL ADDRESS: 

CITY /TOWN: I STATE: ZIP CODE: I COUNTRY: 

Sources used to determine residence for Compact 
licensure include but are not limited to driver's license, 
federal tax return, voter registration or military payroll 

 

EMAIL: 

DATE OF BIRTH:   I PHONE# SOCIAL SECURITY # (REQUIRED) 

IS YOUR APPLICATION FOR [  ] EXAM or [  ] RE-ENTRY or  [  ] ENDORSEMENT  FILED WITH THE BOARD?   
[   ]YES  [   ]NO   DATE FILED: 

HAVE YOU EVER HAD A TEMPORARY LICENSE IN NH?    [   ] YES   [   ] NO TYPE: [   ]RN [   ] LPN 

NAME OF NURSING SCHOOL (Required): 
  

NURSING SCHOOL ADDRESS (Required): 

PROGRAM TYPE:  [_]  CERTIFICATE [_]   DIPLOMA  [_]  ASSOCIATES DEGREE  [_]  BACCALAUREATE  
[_]  MASTERS [_] DOCTOR OF NURSING 
HAVE YOU EVER FAILED  AN I                          EXAM DATE(S): 
EXAMINATION FOR RN OR LPN? 

STATE: I EXAM TYPE: 

FOREIGN  ED.UCATED  NURSES  A qualifying examination  certificate, verification  of educational  credentials and proof 
of licensing is:     Available [  ]        Pending [ ] 

ANTICIPATED EMPLOYER: (IF NONE ANTICIPATED, PLEASE WRITE "NONE") 

CURRENT EMPLOYER: (IF NONE, PLEASE WRITE "NONE") 

MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO:    TREASURER, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE  
I TEMP LICENSE FEE: $ 20.00 
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OPTIONAL INFORMATIONAL QUESTION 
REGARDING MILITARY EXPERIENCE AND/OR RELATIONSHIP 
TO MILITARY PERSONNEL TRANSFERRED TO NEW HAMPSHIRE 

 

Dear Applicant, 
 

Pursuant to New Hampshire RSA 332-G:7, each board supported by the New Hampshire Office of 
Professional Licensure and Certification (OPLC) shall: 

1. “upon presentation of satisfactory evidence with an application for licensure, certification, or 
registration, accept education, training, or service completed by an individual as a member of 
the armed forces, as defined in RSA 21:50, II, toward the qualifications required to receive the 
license, certificate, or registration in question.” 

RSA 21:50, II - "Armed forces'' means the United States Army, Army Reserve, Navy, 
Naval Reserve, Marine Corps, Marine Corps Reserve, Air Force, Air Force Reserve, 
Coast Guard, Coast Guard Reserve, Army National Guard, and the Air National Guard. 
"Armed forces'' also includes other components, but is limited to those components 
and active duty periods described in 38 C.F.R. 3.7. 

 
OR 

 
2. “Notwithstanding any general or special law to the contrary, each of the boards or commissions 

under this title authorized to conduct licensure, certification, or registration, and examinations 
therefor, shall upon the presentation of satisfactory evidence by an applicant before the board 
or commission, facilitate the issuance of a license or certification for a person: (i) who is certified 
or licensed in a state other than New Hampshire; (ii) whose spouse is a member of the armed 
forces in the United States; (iii) whose spouse is the subject of a military transfer to New 
Hampshire; and (iv) who left employment to accompany a spouse to New Hampshire. The 
procedure shall include, but not be limited to, facilitating the issuance of a license, certificate, or 
registration if, in the opinion of the board or commission, the requirements for licensure, 
certification, or registration of such other state are substantially equivalent to the requirements 
for licensure, certification, or registration in New Hampshire.” 

 

Please place a check mark in all that apply below: 
 

I am eligible for consideration as defined in paragraph #1 above. 

I am not eligible for consideration as defined in paragraph #1 above. 

I am eligible for consideration as defined in paragraph #2 above. 

I am not eligible for consideration as defined in paragraph #2 above 
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