Board of Nursing - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Laws and Rules

State Laws and Administrative Rules Governing the Practice of Pharmacy in New Hampshire and the Licensing Requirements for All Licenses Issued by the Board of Pharmacy

Laws

Rules

Current Rulemaking Initiatives in Progress

The proposed rules listed below are still in process and are not yet in effect. Further information will be posted here as these rules move through the approval process.

  • Ph 700 Standards of Practice - Proposed Revisions pdf file These rules are still in the initial planning stages. Once a public hearing is scheduled, we will place a notice on this page.
  • Ph 1700 - Continuous Quality Improvement pdf file - Public hearing was held on October 17, 2018. The Board completed a draft Final Proposal (in the link above) at its December 2018 Meeting based on public comments received. The Board welcomes any additional public comments, at its January 16, 2019 Board Meeting, based on these further changes made to these proposed rules.
  • Ph 1800 & Ph 704.01(c)(7) - Advanced Practice Pharmacy Technicians pdf file Note: the Ph 1800 Rules are being withdrawn at this time as the Board must first seek a statute change in order to create a new licensure category.
  • Ph 2100 Inspection Rules - Draft of Initial Proposal  pdf file More information will follow as these proposed rules work through the rulemaking process and once a public comments hearing is scheduled on them. The Board is scheduled to begin initially reviewing these rules at their November 14, 2018 Meeting.
  • Ph 2200 Investigation Rules - Draft of Initial Proposal pdf file More information will follow as these proposed rules work through the rulemaking process and once a public comments hearing is scheduled on them. The Board is scheduled to begin initially reviewing these rules at their November 14, 2018 Meeting.
  • Ph 2400 Pharmacist Initiation and Dispensing of Hormonal Contraceptives pdf file More information will follow as these proposed rules work through the rulemaking process and once a public comments hearing is scheduled on them. The Board is scheduled to begin initially reviewing these rules at their November 14, 2018 Meeting.

Legal Time Limits

  1. Within 3 days: The new pharmacist-in-charge must conduct a written inventory of all controlled substances. It is suggested that this be done with the "outgoing" pharmacist-in-charge.
  2. Within 1 Business day: The pharmacist-in-charge or pharmacist on duty shall report to the board in writing, any theft or significant loss of controlled substances within one business day.
  3. Within 30 days: The pharmacist-in-charge shall complete a New Hampshire Drug Loss Form (revised 5/2015) or DEA 106 Form and mail or fax to the Board as soon as the investigation into the loss is complete or within 30 days of the discovery of the loss.
  4. Within 15 days: Notify the Board in writing of any changes in your name, address or employment.
  5. Within 15 days: Prior to closing, notify the Board of Pharmacy and the Boston office of DEA, in writing, of the intended closing of a pharmacy.
  6. 30 days: After the expiration date stated on the label of a drug stock container, that product becomes an adulterated drug.
  7. 72 hours: In the ambulatory patient treatment areas of an institution, a medical practitioner may dispense drugs for the immediate needs of the patient but not to exceed a 72-hour supply and only if permitted by the institution.
  8. 48 hours: In a bona fide emergency - a physician may dispense from his/her inventory, a Schedule II controlled substance to a patient to meet his/her immediate medical needs. Such dispensing shall not, however, exceed a 48-hour supply.
  9. 6 months: A prescription for a controlled substance shall be valid for up to 6 months from the date of issue.
  10. 12 months: A prescription for syringes shall be valid for up to 12 months from the date of issue. There is no limit on the number of refills.
  11. 1 year: All non-controlled substance prescriptions bearing "PRN" or similar refill designations are valid for one year from the date of issue.
  12. Annually: At midnight on December 31st, pharmacy permits expire. You must renew a pharmacy permit prior to this day or the pharmacy cannot open for business on January 1 if you fail to do so.
  13. Annually: At midnight on December 31st, pharmacist licenses expire. You must submit your renewal for the upcoming year prior to this date or you cannot practice pharmacy in New Hampshire beginning January 1.
  14. 4 years: The time period for which all controlled and non-controlled substance prescription records of receipt and distribution must be retained.

Portable Document Format Symbol Portable Document Format (.pdf). Visit nh.gov for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.


Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152