Board of Psychologists - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently asked questions about Psychologists.

How does the new state law, HB 650, affect new applicants for licensure and those applying for reinstatement?

Do I need to have a professional will for my practice in the event that I am disabled or die?

What is expected in applicant’s application essays?

If a psychologist has questions about a potential complaint against them, can he/she contact the Board of Psychologists for questions or consultation?

How quickly can I expect a response to a question I have from the NH Board of Psychologists?

How can I obtain a criminal background check?

Is there a form needed to file an allegation of complaint before the Board of Psychologists?

Where should I mail my application and fees or any change of address notification?

How can I check the status of my application?

After you receive my application, how long will it be before I get a response?

Can I be granted an extension on an application after it has expired?

How long will it take for my license to be issued?

Do I have to send all of the supporting documents for my application to the Board at the same time?

Does the Board of Psychologists approve Continuing Education credits for Category A requirements?

Must all continuing education courses be face-to-face?

If I attend, or lead, a workshop that is not accredited, can the Board authorize accreditation?

If I have extra Continuing Education credits (e.g. 50 for the current 2 years), can the overage be applied and carry over to my next 2-year license cycle?

If a psychologist is licensed in another state or province, can they practice in New Hampshire prior to obtaining a New Hampshire license?

Who may use the title, "psychologist," in the State of New Hampshire?

Does the public have access to a licensed psychologist's personal information such as a home address?

How many hours of continuing education do I need to accrue in order to renew my license?

Do I have to take any specific courses to meet the Board's continuing education requirements?

Does the Board of Psychologists handle complaints involving psychologists who perform child custody evaluations?

I am currently working on a graduate degree in psychology online through XYZ University and would like to find out what the requirements are for licensure. The program in which I am enrolled is not APA accredited. Will I be able to obtain a New Hampshire state license to practice psychology with a degree from this institution?

What is the educational requirement to become licensed as a psychologist in New Hampshire?

What criminal offenses may prevent me from obtaining a license?

What type of documentation do I need to submit in support of my application if I have a prior criminal record or licensure discipline?

Do I have to report charges if I completed a period of probation and the charges were dismissed or closed?

Can a person obtain a license if they have a misdemeanor or felony crime on their record?

What crimes or license discipline must be reported on the application?

Am I required to send in evidence of my continuing competency hours at the time I renew?

Who maintains the required documents for verification of continuing competency hours?

Are there Board forms that I need to use for documenting my compliance with the continued competency requirement?

Is there a requirement for a course in ethics?

What if I become ill or incapacitated and unable to complete my continuing competency requirements prior to renewal?

Can I find out of the Board has received any complaints on a licensee?

How does the new state law, HB 650, affect new applicants for licensure and those applying for reinstatement?back to top

Effective July 1, 2017, all new applicants for licensure in New Hampshire, prior to being approved, are required to undergo a background check as specified in HB 650. This requirement also applies to psychologists who are applying for reinstatement. Applicants are responsible for all the costs involved in the background check as well as adhering to the procedures as specified in the law.

Do I need to have a professional will for my practice in the event that I am disabled or die? back to top

Yes, the Board requires that each licensed clinical psychologist has a will addressing who will oversee (e.g. serve as executor) dissemination of records, inform patients of being disabled/deceased, and make referrals. This is a requirement.

What is expected in applicant's application essays?back to top

As required by board regulations, essays must be a minimum of 300 words each; for example, all five of the required ethics essays must each be a minimum of 300 words. Applicant’s presentations of the five ethical dilemmas they describe should also display their analysis of the pros and cons of possible courses of action.

back to topIf a psychologist has questions about a potential complaint against them, can he/she contact the Board of Psychologists for questions or consultation?

No, do not contact any member for the Board of Psychologists as none of the members can advise or opine at any time.

Contact with the New Hampshire Psychological Association is an option as a licensed psychologist.

back to topHow quickly can I expect a response to a question I have from the NH Board of Psychologists?

Questions and comments are collected and then shared with the members of the Board at their monthly meetings.

How can I obtain a criminal background check?back to top

https://www.oplc.nh.gov/psychologists/criminal-background-check.htm gives details.

back to topIs there a form needed to file an allegation of complaint before the Board of Psychologists?

Yes, a form can be obtained here at the Board's website.

back to topWhere should I mail my application and fees or any change of address notification?

Mail your application and fees to:

Board of Psychologists
121 South Fruit Street, Suite 303
Concord, NH 03301

back to topHow can I check the status of my application?

Email is the best way to check the status of your application.

back to topAfter you receive my application, how long will it be before I get a response?

We will send you notification about the status of your application within 30 days after we receive it.

back to topCan I be granted an extension on an application after it has expired?

Extensions are not allowed by law. An incomplete application is only valid for one year.

back to topHow long will it take for my license to be issued?

Your license number will be issued within five to seven business days once your licensure application has been approved. Please allow ample time for mail delivery to receive your printed copy.

back to topDo I have to send all of the supporting documents for my application to the Board at the same time?

We encourage you to send as much information as possible to help expedite the licensure process.

back to topDoes the Board of Psychologists approve Continuing Education credits for Category A requirements?

No, refer to the New Hampshire regulations to learn if your Continuing Education attendance is approved by the State of New Hampshire. Questions directly to Board of Psychologists will result in directing someone to the New Hampshire regulations. Please refer to the New Hampshire regulations for direction.

back to topMust all continuing education courses be face-to-face?

No. There are a variety of ways that the continuing education requirement may be met.

back to topIf I attend, or lead, a workshop that is not accredited, can the Board authorize accreditation?

No. New Hampshire law has a list of accrediting institutions, to any of which you can make this request. The Board however has no authority to accredit continuing education events; it can only approve (or reject) applications for license renewals on the basis of New Hampshire law.

back to topIf I have extra Continuing Education credits (e.g. 50 for the current 2 years), can the overage be applied and carry over to my next 2-year license cycle?

No. Any Continuing Education credits above and beyond the required 40 per 2 years with 6 CEs in Ethics cannot be applied to your next 2 year license cycle. All licensed psychologists start at zero (0) CEs at the beginning of their new 2 year cycle.

back to topIf a psychologist is licensed in another state or province, can they practice in New Hampshire prior to obtaining a New Hampshire license?

Under RSA 329-B:20, New Hampshire provides for a Temporary and Emergency Applicants From Other States.

back to topWho may use the title, "psychologist," in the State of New Hampshire?

Anyone who is licensed by the Board of Psychologists, (i.e., Licensed Psychologists,) may refer to him/herself as a psychologist. Applicants before the Board may also do so. In addition, individuals who hold graduate degrees in psychology and are exempt from licensure, such as university professors teaching psychology, researchers in psychology, industrial/organizational psychologists, and school psychologists employed by Boards of education, among others, can properly use the title, "psychologist."

back to topDoes the public have access to a licensed psychologist's personal information such as a home address?

No, but take note. The Board of Psychologists is required to provide an address of record for all licensed psychologists. If the psychologist has chosen to use his or her home address as their address of record, this is the address that will be given to anyone who calls to verify their license. Therefore, if you do not want your home address disclosed, you may obtain and use an alternate address such as a business address or a post office box as your address of record.

back to topHow many hours of continuing education do I need to accrue in order to renew my license?

New Hampshire regulations require that in order to renew a psychology license, the licensee must have accrued at least 40 hours of qualifying continuing education within the two year period immediately preceding the expiration date of the license.

If this is the psychologist's first renewal and his or her initial license was in effect for less than 24 months, the continuing education requirements are pro-rated, although the full six hours of ethics are required in either case.

back to topDo I have to take any specific courses to meet the Board's continuing education requirements?

Refer to the New Hampshire laws. Licensed psychologists are required to have 40 hours of CEs with 6 hours of the CEs in Ethics every 2 years.

back to topDoes the Board of Psychologists handle complaints involving psychologists who perform child custody evaluations?

The Board of Psychologists is required to review and to make a determination on every consumer complaint received regardless of the subject matter of the complaint. Child custody cases in the Probate Court can be very contentious and volatile. Frequently, at least one of the parties involved in such cases is displeased with the outcome of the court's decision regarding custody of children.

Keep in mind that the Board of Psychology has no authority to change the findings and decision of a Probate Court judge regarding custody of children.

What the Board is mandated to have each complaint against a psychologist who has provided an evaluation in a child custody case reviewed by an expert to determine whether the evaluation was conducted pursuant to the Code of Conduct and Ethical Principles and to the Guidelines for Child Custody Evaluations in Divorce Proceedings established by the American Psychological Association (APA). These guidelines establish the standard of care for the practice of psychology. The Board must apply APA standards as the accepted standard of care in all enforcement policies and disciplinary case evaluations. Therefore, if a child custody evaluation is determined to have been conducted within this accepted standard of care, the Board of Psychology cannot take administrative action against the psychologist performing the evaluation. If it is determined that an evaluation was performed outside of this standard of care, then the Board has the authority to continue with appropriate administrative action. Such action may include an intense educational review with the evaluating psychologist or formal administrative discipline against the psychologist's license depending on how extreme the departure from the standard of care was and on the amount of consumer harm that may have occurred as a result of the departure.

The Board's action will have no effect on the findings and decision of the Probate Court judge regarding the custody of the children involved in the case.

back to topI am currently working on a graduate degree in psychology online through XYZ University and would like to find out what the requirements are for licensure. The program in which I am enrolled is not APA accredited. Will I be able to obtain a New Hampshire state license to practice psychology with a degree from this institution?

The Board does not have the authority to approve, or disapprove, graduate training programs per se for licensure; it must evaluate each individual applicant's program after an individual formally applies for licensure. Therefore, no staff member of the Board or the Board itself is able to review your proposed program to determine, prior to submission of an application, whether the program would meet requirements for licensure. While eligibility for licensure can sometimes be a complex question, the Board refers you to the requirements for licensure which are specified in the Laws and Rules. Note: Residency requirements are explicit and potential applicants need to follow the regulations carefully.

back to topWhat is the educational requirement to become licensed as a psychologist in New Hampshire?

The Board's regulations require completion of a doctoral program that is either accredited by the American Psychological Association (APA) or meets APA accreditation standards.

Listings of accredited/designated doctoral programs can be found on the APA website,

back to topWhat criminal offenses may prevent me from obtaining a license?

You are required to report all criminal offenses to the Board. Each application will be evaluated on an individual basis.

back to topWhat type of documentation do I need to submit in support of my application if I have a prior criminal record or licensure discipline?

  • If you have a criminal record, you must submit certified official court documents related to your criminal record, showing the date(s) and circumstance(s) surrounding your arrest(s)/conviction(s), sections of the law violated, and disposition of the case(s). Documents would normally consist of a complaint or Indictment, a judgment, a docket sheet, or other documents showing disposition of your case. Some courts refer to these documents as an order of probation. A court clerk must certify these court documents before we can accept them.
  • If you have received discipline against any license that you have held, you must submit certified copies of the documents related to the disciplinary action taken.
  • The documents must come from the agency that took the disciplinary action and must be certified by that agency.
  • You must submit a detailed description of circumstances surrounding your criminal record or disciplinary action.

back to topDo I have to report charges if I completed a period of probation and the charges were dismissed or closed?

Yes. Offenses must be reported to the Board even if you received a suspended imposition of sentence and the record is now considered closed.

back to topCan a person obtain a license if they have a misdemeanor or felony crime on their record?

Each application is evaluated on a case-by-case basis. The Board considers the nature, severity, and when the offense occurred, as well as rehabilitation and other factors. The Board cannot make a determination for approval or denial of licensure without evaluating the entire application and supporting documentation.

back to topWhat crimes or license discipline must be reported on the application?

All convictions, guilty pleas, and nolo contendere pleas must be reported, except for minor traffic violations not related to the use of drugs or alcohol. This includes misdemeanors, felonies, "driving while intoxicated (DWI)" and "driving under the influence (DUI)."

Crimes must be reported even if they are a suspended imposition of sentence. All prior disciplinary action against any other professional licenses must be reported, whether it occurred in New Hampshire or another state or territory.

 back to topAm I required to send in evidence of my continuing competency hours at the time I renew?

No. The Board will randomly select licensees for a post-renewal audit. If selected, you would be notified by mail that documentation is required and given a time frame within which to comply.

back to topWho maintains the required documents for verification of continuing competency hours?

It is the responsibility of the individual psychologist to maintain the transcripts, certificates, and any other continuing competency forms, following the annual renewal period in which they were used. Do not send any forms or documents to the NH Board of Psychologists unless requested to do so.

back to topAre there Board forms that I need to use for documenting my compliance with the continued competency requirement?

No. Should you be chosen in the random sampling, you would be asked to provide official transcripts or certificates of completion from approved providers.

back to topIs there a requirement for a course in ethics?

Yes, a minimum of six hours (in each renewal period of two years) shall be in courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice or laws governing the profession of psychology in New Hampshire.

back to topWhat if I become ill or incapacitated and unable to complete my continuing competency requirements prior to renewal?

Upon written request from the psychologist prior to the annual renewal date explaining the circumstances, the Board may grant an extension or exemption for all or part of the required hours.

back to topCan I find out of the Board has received any complaints on a licensee?

Whether or not the Board has received a complaint on a particular individual or company is not public information. Therefore, we cannot confirm nor deny the existence of any complaint. One reason for this is that our investigators must first determine the validity of all complaints and determine if disciplinary action is warranted. For example, a person who is at odds with a licensee may submit numerous erroneous complaints just to harm an innocent licensee.

Therefore, only disciplinary action (i.e. notice of agency action, petition, surrender, order) taken against a licensee or an unlicensed individual or company engaged in a regulated profession is available for public review. You can determine if disciplinary action has occurred through our online license verification system.

 


Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152