Real Estate Commission - an official New Hampshire Government website
Smaller text size Reset text size Larger text size
link to website translation page

Real Estate Commission

Real Estate Commission responsibilities include administering the New Hampshire broker's and salesperson's real estate exams; accrediting and monitoring real estate course providers and education courses; issuing and renewing the real estate licenses of qualified broker and salesperson candidates and real estate firms; maintaining official department records of schools, instructors, license/exam applicants, consumer complaints and licensees; adopting administrative rules under RSA 541-A relative to the enforcement of RSA 331-A, the New Hampshire Real Estate Practice Act; monitoring the statewide practice of real estate brokerage in New Hampshire and investigating complaints of illegal activity; conducting administrative disciplinary hearings under RSA 541-A and, where necessary, imposing disciplinary sanctions.

Due to the current State of Emergency around the COVID-19 Health Advisory, all board and licensing communication is being done electronically via email at this time. Please do not call the office or any board phone listed on this page at this time. See contacts below for questions. PLEASE DO NOT EMAIL PAYMENTS! Applications, renewals, supporting forms and payments must be mailed to the address on the form.

For further information regarding the Covid-19 State of Emergency, please go to the OPLC main page and follow the Covid-19 Licensee Resources Tab in the Quick Links section, or go click on the Coronavirus COVID-19 State of NH Link at the top of the OPLC Main Page.

Your inquiry will be responded to as soon as possible during normal business hours, Monday-Friday, 8:00am–4:00pm. Thank you for your patience and understanding during this time.

Governor's Emergency Order

Emergency Order #29 Exhibit H pdf file
Real Estate Commission Additional Modifications

Administrative rule Rea 301.03 (e) is hereby amended to allow all candidates for the real estate licensing examination up to 90 days past the expiration or termination of the State of Emergency to take the examination.
Administrative rule Rea 301.03 (k) is hereby amended to allow applicants for licenses up to 90 days past the expiration or termination of the State of Emergency to complete the salesperson pre-licensing requirements through remote instruction. The remote instruction must have live video and audio feeds for all participants to allow real-time audio and visual communication between student(s) and Commission approved instructor(s). Commission approved course instructors must also issue a completed course affidavit indicating the student attended the entire course or portion thereof through qualifying remote instruction.
The timeline in Rea 303.0S(b) mandating candidates for the broker and salesperson examination achieving a passing grade of 70 for both the uniform and state portions of the examination within a 6 month period from the date of the original examination shall be extended to allow applicants up to 90 days past the expiration or termination of the State of Emergency to achieve the required passing grade.

FAQ

Does the order mean no CE courses are required for any licensee renewing before the end of the year?

Yes. Licensees may take courses if they wish and are encouraged to do so to further their professional knowledge. Many courses are available on-line. However, due to the health emergency REC continuing education, including core courses, will not be required at time of renewal for any licensee due to expire between March 13, 2020 (the start of the emergency order) and December 31, 2020.

What if I already completed some CE courses, can they be applied to a future renewal after December 31, 2020?

No, however you may submit them with your renewal due in 2020. Rea 403.01(d) states” All applicants, when submitting an application for renewal of a broker or salesperson license prior to the expiration date of the license, shall have completed the continuing education required in (a) and (b) above within the current 2 year license period.” You may view all REC laws and rules at https://www.oplc.nh.gov/real-estate-commission/laws-rules.htm.

I started my pre-licensing course before the State of Emergency halted in-person classes. Can I finish the course by remote learning?

Yes, if your provider has received authority from the REC to temporarily offer remote learning for pre-licensing courses within REC guidelines. If you started the course prior to March 13, 2020, you have up to 90 days past the expiration or termination of the State of Emergency to complete the course by remote learning.

I started my pre-licensing course before the State of Emergency halted in-person classes. I understand I can now finish the pre-licensing course by remote learning, however, Rea 301.03 requires the exam to be taken within 6 months from the start of course. Can I still take the exam?

Yes, as long as the original 6 month expiration date to take the exam is on or after March 13, 2020.

Can I start a new pre-licensing course only by remote learning?

Yes, but the authority for remote learning will end no later than 90 days past the expiration or termination of the State of Emergency. Any remote learning pre-licensing course not completed by that date shall be completed by in-person class.

I completed my pre-licensing course but was unable to schedule an exam after March 13, 2020. My time to take the exam has expired. Can I still register to take the exam?

Yes, as long as your date to take an exam expired on or after March 13, 2020.

Board News

HB 268 passes - relative to real estate commissions paid to unlicensed entities, effective August 4, 2019  pdf file

For online renewals for Real Estate Sales Persons, Brokers and Real Estate Firms:

The attached forms need to be filled out and uploaded during the online registration process.

New Rulemaking

At its January 21, 2020 meeting the Commission approved new and/or revised rules within Rea 100 – 400 pdf file. Some of the changes include: new post-licensing education requirements, new/revised forms, elimination of some amendment fees, new lapsed license fees and restrictions, and a revised deadline for the initial examination. Please review all rule changes to determine whether any effect you.

Any person who is doing septic system evaluations/inspections must be licensed according to:

Septic System Evaluators

RSA 310-A:209 License Required. -

I. Beginning January 1, 2017, no person shall practice as a septic system evaluator or conduct septic system evaluations in this state without a septic system evaluator's license issued by the board under this subdivision, unless the person is eligible for licensure under RSA 310-A:210, II, III, or IV.

II. Beginning January 1, 2018, a person eligible for licensure under RSA 310-A:210, II, III, or IV may continue to practice as a septic system evaluator or conduct septic system evaluations in this state only if such person holds a septic system evaluator's license issued by the board under this subdivision.

If you have any questions please contact the Septic System Evaluators Board, Christine Horne at 603- 271-0607 or Christine.Horne@oplc.nh.gov

Commission Staff

Rick Wisler
Administrator III

For inquiries regarding any changes to licenses or new applications for: Broker, Salesperson or Firm/Business, please contact:
Natassia Simons
Administrative Secretary
Natassia.Simons@oplc.nh.gov
(603) 271-2748
(603) 271-7928 (fax)

For inquiries regarding letters of good standing or renewals for: Broker, Salesperson or Firm, please contact:
Bobbie Mayo
Supervisor II
Bobbie.Mayo@oplc.nh.gov
(603) 271-0240
(603) 271-7928 (fax)

For questions regarding continuing education audits or course approvals, please contact:
Dawn Marier
Administrative Assistant
Dawn.Marier@oplc.nh.gov
(603) 271-1199
(603) 271-7928 (fax)

For examinations, complaints and rosters, please contact:
Bobbie Mayo
Supervisor II
Bobbie.Mayo@oplc.nh.gov
(603) 271-0240
(603) 271-7928 (fax)

Portable Document Format Symbol Portable Document Format (.pdf). Visit nh.gov for a list of free .pdf readers for a variety of operating systems.


Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
121 South Fruit Street |  Concord, NH 03301
Main Telephone: (603) 271-2152