State of New Hampshire Board of Nursing Concord, New Hampshire 03301

In the Matter of Brian Benson LNA, Lic.: No.; 052171-24 (Reinstatement 11/13/2023)

SETTLEMENT AGREEMENT

Brian Benson ("Respondent"), having been licensed as a Licensed Nursing Assistant in the State of the New Hampshire and over whom the New Hampshire Board of Nursing ("Board") has jurisdiction pursuant to RSA 326-B, stipulates and agrees to the following:

- 1. Practicing without a license, including but not limited to the situation where a license has lapsed, is unlawful under New Hampshire law, RSA 326-B:41, II; RSA 326-B:41-a. Pursuant to RSA 326-B:22:
 - II. "Any person licensed who intends to continue practicing as a nurse or nursing assistant shall: (a) By midnight on his or her date of birth in the renewal year submit a completed application and fees as established by the board."
 - III. "Failure to renew the license shall result in forfeiture of the ability to practice nursing or nursing activities in the state of New Hampshire."
- 2. The practice of nursing without a license is an act of misconduct for which the Board may impose disciplinary sanctions including, but not limited to, administrative fines. N.H. Admin. Rules, Nur 402.04 (b)(14); Nur 402.04(i).
- 3. Respondent is aware of and understands the right to have a formal disciplinary hearing pursuant to RSA 326-B:37, III and Nur 402.04(a) and hereby waives that right and requests that this Agreement be accepted with the same force and effect as an order entered as result of a hearing.
- 4. The Board would find at a hearing that on 11/07/2023, Respondent requested to reinstate his/her Registered Nursing license, which expired on 10/10/2023, after which Respondent continued to practice as a Licensed Nursing Assistant in the State of New Hampshire.
- 5. Pursuant to Nur 401.01 (g), Respondent shall pay an administrative fine of \$50.00 for every calendar month, or any part thereof, during which he/she practiced after his/her licensed lapsed.
- 6. Respondent is assessed an ADMINISTRATIVE FINE in the amount of Fifty dollars (\$50) Respondent shall pay this fine in full within thirty (30) days of the Effective Date of this Settlement Agreement by delivering a money order or bank check, made payable to "Treasurer, State of New Hampshire," to the Board's office at 7 Eagle Square, Concord, New Hampshire, 03301. No separate invoice shall issue. Payment shall include a copy of this Settlement Agreement or a note including the matter name and indicating the payment is made in compliance with a settlement agreement with the Board.

OPLC-FINANT CHOCK 28247235447

N.H. Board of Nursing In the matter of Brian Benson License No.: 052171-24 Settlement Agreement

- 7. Respondent voluntarily enters into this agreement, after having the opportunity to consult with counsel, and with full understanding of the legal consequences of this Agreement.
- 8. This Agreement constitutes the entire agreement and understanding between the parties and supersedes all prior agreements and understandings.
- 9. This Agreement becomes a public record of discipline upon signature.
- 10. Please sign and date below and return to the Board of Nursing with the required fine of \$50 within thirty (30) days of receipt. Failure to do so will result in a hearing being held and may result in the imposition of additional discipline.

I have carefully read and fully understand the conditions of this Agreement:

FOR RESPONDENT

Date 12/24/23

Brian Benson

FOR THE BOARD

Terese Barton

Date 1/8/2024

Board Administator/OPLC