## **REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION**

## PLEASE READ CAREFULLY

#### THIS APPLICATION IS ONLY FOR THOSE LICENSEES WHO LAPSE IN 2023 AND MUST BE SUBMITTED BETWEEN MAY 1 AND NOVEMBER 1.

#### **GENERAL INFORMATION**

Each applicant for licensure to practice dental hygiene in the state of New Hampshire must complete all of the information on the attached "**Dental Hygienist Reinstatement Application for Licensure**" form. The Board must have each licensee's social security number on the "Dental Hygienist Reinstatement Application for Licensure" form to ensure accurate identification of the applicant's identity. Pursuant to Federal Law 42 U.S.C.A§666(a)(13) and New Hampshire state law RSA 161-B:11, VI-a the Board may also:

- 1. Provide the licensee's social security number to the Department of Health and Human Services in conjunction with proceedings or actions to establish paternity or to establish or enforce child support.
- 2. Provide the licensee's social security number to the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) in the event of final adverse action against the licensee and to inquire of NPDB of any final adverse actions against the licensee in other jurisdictions.

Under current law an applicant's or licensee's social security number is confidential and not subject to the right to know law.

#### **REINSTATEMENT PROCESS AND FEES**

#### For an Active License:

In order to reinstate a lapsed license, you must provide the following to the Board:

- 1. A reinstatement application form for licensure;
- 2. A certified check or money order in the amount of \$170 made payable to "TREASURER, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE".
- 3. After the reinstatement application is received, the application file will be reviewed by the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners. If the file is acceptable to the Board, the applicant will be contacted and given instructions regarding taking the online jurisprudence examination; and
- 4. Once the applicant has been notified by the Board that the applicant has successfully completed the examination, the applicant must complete the application for registration and license renewal form and provide it to the Board.

5. New Hampshire and Federal Background Check as outlined in Den 301.12 (d). Please use the following links for detailed instructions: <u>how-to-obtain-cbc.pdf (nh.gov)</u> or <u>Criminal History Record</u> <u>Requests | NH State Police</u>

### For an Inactive License:

- 1. A reinstatement application form for licensure;
- 2. A certified check or money order in the amount of \$85 made payable to the "TREASURER, STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE"; and
- 3. After the reinstatement application is received, the application file will be reviewed by the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners. If the file is acceptable to the Board, the applicant must complete the application for registration and license renewal form and provide it to the Board.

Licensees are required to report a change of business, residential or primary email address and phone number within 30 days of any change to the Board. <u>Written notification to the Board is required</u>.

## JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION

After the application and **all** the supporting documents are received, the application file will be reviewed by the New Hampshire Board of Dental Examiners or its representative. If the file is acceptable to the Board, the applicant will be notified that the application is complete and that the jurisprudence examination may be taken. The examination will be based on the information contained in the New Hampshire Dental Practice Act, the New Hampshire Code of Administrative Rules, the American Dental Association Code of Ethics, and the Code of Ethics for Dental Hygienists.

## LETTERS OF GOOD STANDING

The following documents shall be filed with the Board: A certified statement from the dental examining board of each state in which the applicant has been licensed as to whether the applicant's license to practice in that state, based on the records of the board, has been subject to disciplinary action, has disciplinary action pending, has been under stayed probation, or is under investigation. This statement must be submitted directly from the dental board of each state in which the applicant has ever had a license (whether active, inactive, or lapsed). This statement shall be updated if more than 4 months old.

Please check one of the following:Image: the second second

### 2023 NEW HAMPSHIRE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS DENTAL HYGIENIST REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE

Examination/Endorsement application (circle one) to practice dental hygiene.

False statements, knowingly made by the applicant, shall void any license issued. All questions <u>must</u> be completed or this application will be returned or rejected.

### PRINT OR TYPE

1. Name in Full (first, middle, last)
2. Date of Birth (month, day, year)
3. Place of Birth (city, county, state)
4. Social Security Number
5. Have you ever been known by any other name? yes no If yes, give other name(s)
6. Current residential address:
Primary email address (either business or personal):
Day Time Telephone:
7. School of Dental Hygiene:
Location
Date of Graduation
8. Are you currently certified in BLS-HCP, with hands-on component? yes no (Please provide proof.)

	Issue Date Active/Inacti	ive Dates of Practice
0. Professional Employment H	listory	
I have been employed by th	e following dentists: If none, so	) state
Dates	Name	Location
From to		
1. Have you ever been convict drugs which has not been a		or driving under the influence of alcohol o yes no
2. Have you ever been convict	ed of the illegal practice of denta	al hygiene? yes no
3. Have you ever been denied	dental hygiene licensure?	yes no
are you currently subjected disciplinary action? This in probation, limitation or res	l by any professional licensing b ncludes but is not limited to revo triction, fine, reprimand, denied	ense to practice dental hygiene ever been o ody to any investigation, sanction, or ocation, suspension, probation or stayed I renewal, voluntarily or involuntarily ng, supervision, or further education? yes no
relinquished, or being requ		<i>j</i> es no
	cal or mental illness that impairs	s your ability to practice dental hygiene? yes no
<ul><li>5. a. Do you have any physic</li><li>b. Has a health practition</li></ul>	-	s your ability to practice dental hygiene? yes no • advised you that you have any physical o
<ul> <li>5. a. Do you have any physic</li> <li>b. Has a health practition mental illness that impartial</li> </ul>	er or mental health practitioner airs your ability to practice dent	s your ability to practice dental hygiene? yes no • advised you that you have any physical o

#### **CONTINUING EDUCATION**

#### Den 403.04 RENEWAL AND MONITORING.

# A renewal license shall not be issued to an active licensee if the continuing education requirements were not met.

Anyone who initially licensed between 04/01/2021 and 04/30/2023 does not need to report CEUs. Any CEUs obtained during that period <u>cannot</u> be used for the next registration.

#### NOTE:

- 1. Dental Hygienists with an active license are required to report 20 CEUs biennially at least 15 shall be clinical in nature.
- 2. 10% (2 CEUs) can be used only once for general attendance during the biennium.
- 3. Basic life support for healthcare providers (BLS-HCP) is considered clinical, limited to 3 CEUs per biennium (Den 403.03 and 403.07(b)). The BLS-HCP course shall include a hands-on component.
- 4. Audio visual or online is limited to 50% (10 CEUs) of the required total (Den 403.07 (g)). Audio visual or online programs must include the successful completion of a written examination.
- 5. 2 CEUs shall be earned in infection control during the biennium. The infection control course shall include the CDC Infection Prevention and Control Guidelines and Recommendations in its syllabus. An online course is acceptable.

#### Please provide documentation of CEUs for the two year period preceding the receipt of this application:

1. I have completed 20 or more CEUs, at least 15 of which were "clinical" in nature (see Den 403.02, <u>Definition of Terms</u>)

Yes\_\_\_\_\_ No\_\_\_\_\_

Clinical hrs \_\_\_\_\_ Non-clinical hrs\_\_\_\_\_

2. My <u>BLS-HCP</u> training is current. Yes\_\_\_\_\_ No\_\_\_\_\_

(Please provide proof.)

The following affidavit must be completed by the applicant after the previous portion is filled out.

#### **STATEMENT BY APPLICANT** (*Must be sworn to before a notary public*)

I understand that by signing the application I am:

- 1. Waiving any confidentiality regarding disclosure to the Board from any other jurisdiction about any pending complaints or action being taken against my license to practice dental hygiene.
- 2. Giving consent for a criminal background check.

(month)

I, \_

of full age, under the penalties for falsification pursuant to RSA 641:1 through RSA 641:3, state that I am the person referred to in the foregoing application, that I have carefully read the instructions given and questions asked in the application form, and that all statements made there in are true and correct as of this \_\_\_\_\_\_\_ of \_\_\_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_\_.

(day)

Signature of Applicant

**ATTACH PHOTOGRAPH** 

Photograph must be a passport photo no smaller than 2 ½ inches squared and not more than 6 months old.

Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence

on this \_\_\_\_\_ day of \_\_\_\_\_, 20\_\_\_

my commission expires: \_\_\_\_\_

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

APPROVED BY \_\_\_\_\_