

## **State of New Hampshire** OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION DIVISION OF LICENSING AND BOARD ADMINISTRATION

Board of Nursing 7 Eagle Square, Concord, NH 03301 Phone: 603-271-2152

## Checklist: LPN / RN License by Comparable Education

Professional Board: Nursing

Use this checklist to prepare before you apply. Required items not submitted may cause delays in issuance of a license.

## Prerequisite

✓ Pre-Register with Pearson Vue (NCLEX)

## **Required Information**

- ✓ Copy of State issued Driver's License−Upload into the online application
- ✓ Official Transcripts: Must be submitted from degree institution to: <u>oplclicensing10@oplc.nh.gov</u>
- PN Comparable Education Verification Form Completed and submitted by Nursing Director to: oplclicensing10@oplc.nh.gov
- <u>RN Comparable Education Verification Form</u> Completed and submitted by Nursing Director to: oplclicensing10@oplc.nh.gov
- ✓ Criminal background and Fingerprinting: <u>how-to-obtain-cbc.pdf (nh.gov)</u>

Click here to apply!



# State of New Hampshire

OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION

DIVISION OF LICENSING AND BOARD ADMINISTRATION

Board of Nursing 7 Eagle Square, Concord, NH 03301 Phone: 603-271-2152

## LPN COMPARABLE EDUCATION VERIFICATION FORM

(If you have been awarded an LPN degree, disregard this page.)

## STUDENT NAME:

#### NURSING PROGRAM:

If you are a RN student applying for the LPN exam using Comparable Education, this form must be submitted.

**DIRECTIONS:** The Director of Nursing must provide the following information and submit this form directly to the NH Board of Nursing. Please print clearly and identify the course content of the nursing courses. <u>Fundamentals of Nursing</u>, <u>Medical / Surgical Nursing</u>, <u>Mental Health Nursing</u>, <u>Maternal/Child Health</u>, and <u>Pediatric Nursing</u> are all requirements. **LPNs are required to have a minimum total of 600** hours of concurrent classroom and clinical education.

NURSING COURSES SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED									
COURSE CODE	COURSE TITLE	COURSE CONTENT	THEORY HOURS	LAB HOURS	CLINICAL HOURS				

DIRECTOR OF NURSING SIGNATURE

DATE

APPLICATION AND REGISTRATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

Application/licensing processes not completed within 180 days will be purged. New Hampshire has a mandatory licensing law; No one shall practice nursing in New Hampshire without a current New Hampshire license or a current license in a compact state. RN/LPN examination – 1/2017



## **State of New Hampshire** OFFICE OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE AND CERTIFICATION DIVISION OF LICENSING AND BOARD ADMINISTRATION

Board of Nursing 7 Eagle Square, Concord, NH 03301 Phone: 603-271-2152

## **RN** COMPARABLE EDUCATION VERIFICATION FORM

(If you have been awarded a RN degree, disregard this page.)

#### STUDENT NAME: \_\_\_\_\_

#### NURSING PROGRAM:

If you are a RN student (Direct Entry Master program) applying for the RN exam using Comparable Education, this form must be submitted.

**DIRECTIONS:** The Director of Nursing must provide the following information and submit this form directly to the NH Board of Nursing. Please print clearly and identify the course content of the nursing courses that meet the generalist requirements for a registered nursing degree pursuant to NUR 602.13 These courses plus any additional "nursing" courses taken. **RNs are required to have a minimum total of 1,080 hours of concurrent classroom and clinical education.** 

NURSING COURSES SUCCESSFULLY COMPLETED									
COURSE CODE	COURSE TITLE	COURSE CONTENT	THEORY HOURS	LAB HOURS	CLINICAL HOURS				
TOTAL HOURS =									

DIRECTOR OF NURSING SIGNATURE

DATE

#### APPLICATION AND REGISTRATION FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE.

Application/licensing processes not completed within 180 days will be purged. New Hampshire has a mandatory licensing law; No one shall practice nursing in New Hampshire without a current New Hampshire license or a current license in a compact state. RN/LPN examination – 1/2017



# State of New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure & Certification

7 Eagle Square, Concord NH 03301 Phone: 603-271-2152

## HOW TO OBTAIN A CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK

#### Please use one of the following options A, B, or C:

## **Option A:**

For license applicants, requiring a NH criminal history ONLY. Option A applies to the following Boards:

- \* Funeral Directors/Embalmers
- \* Home Inspectors
- \* Real Estate Commission Brokers, Salespersons

### Steps for Option A:

1. Please use the NH Department of Safety – Criminal Records Portal <u>https://services.dos.nh.gov/chri/cpo/</u>

#### Request Online NH Criminal Conviction Check

To obtain State of New Hampshire public conviction records ONLY, click the button below.

Request Online NH Criminal Conviction Check

- 2. Be prepared to provide your Name, Phone Number, and an Email Address. IMPORTANT: Please provide email address <u>customersupport@oplc.nh.gov</u>
- 3. Be prepared to pay \$25 online with a credit/debit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express, DISCOVER)

## **Option B:**

For IN-STATE applicants requiring a NH criminal history and fingerprints to check FBI records.

## **Option C:**

For OUT-OF-STATE applicants requiring a NH criminal history and fingerprints to check FBI records Option B & C applies to the following Boards:

- \* Alcohol and Drug Use Professionals
- \* Allied Health
  - Athletic Trainers
  - Genetic Counselors
  - Hearing Care Providers
  - Occupational Therapists
  - Physical Therapists
  - Recreational Therapists
  - Respiratory Care Practitioners
  - Speech Language Pathologists

- \* Dental Examiners
- \* Medicine
- \* Mental Health
- \* Medical Imaging
- \* Medical Technicians
- \* Naturopathic Examiners
- \* Nursing
- \* Nursing Home Administrators
- \* Psychologists
- \* Real Estate Appraisers



# State of New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure & Certification

7 Eagle Square, Concord NH 03301 Phone: 603-271-2152

### Steps for Option B:

For **IN-STATE** applicants, requiring a NH criminal history plus fingerprints submitted for FBI results:

1. Please use the NH Department of Safety – Criminal Records Portal <u>https://services.dos.nh.gov/chri/cpo/</u> Select from one of the following:

Welcome to the New Hampshire State Police Criminal Records Portal

#### Schedule NEW Fingerprint & Criminal Record Check Appointment

To schedule a new appointment, click the button below.

Before you begin, please click <u>here</u> to read the instructions.

Schedule a New Appointment

#### EDIT Existing Fingerprint & Criminal Record Check Appointment

To look up, reschedule or cancel your appointment, select the appropriate button below to locate your existing appointment. You will need your appointment confirmation number to access your scheduled appointment.

#### Reschedule an Appointment

Cancel an Appointment

#### **Resubmission Appointment**

If your fingerprints have been rejected and you have been asked to resubmit your fingerprints, use the button below to locate your previous appointment. You will need your appointment confirmation number to access your previously scheduled appointment.

> Schedule a Resubmission Appointment

- 2. Be sure to select your profession/board (caution: do not select OPLC)
- 3. Be prepared to pay \$48.25 online with a credit/debit card (VISA, MasterCard, American Express, DISCOVER)

#### **Steps for Option C:**

For OUT-OF-STATE applicants requiring a NH criminal history and fingerprints to check FBI records

- 1. Please get fingerprinted at any available location in the State you are licensed. Livescan or inked fingerprint cards are acceptable. Livescan is a digital capture of fingerprint impressions with a lower rate of rejection from the FBI. Out of state Livescans are accepted only if the fingerprints are also scanned onto a card. All fingerprint cards must be filled in completely. You may use any fingerprint card that is available.
- 2. In addition, please submit a Criminal Record Authorization Form <u>PDF File (nh.gov)</u> Only complete Section 1. *Be sure to select your profession/board.*
- 3. Submit a check or money order payable to: State of NH-Criminal Records for the fee of \$48.25.
- 4. To avoid delays in processing, be sure to <u>submit all three requirements *together*</u> to the following address:

Office of Professional Licensure and Certification 7 Eagle Square Concord, NH 03301

If you have any questions or need additional assistance, please call 603.271.2152 to speak with one of our customer support representatives. Our office hours are Monday thru Friday, 8am-4pm (excluding holidays).



# State of New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure & Certification

7 Eagle Square, Concord NH 03301 Phone: 603-271-2152

# FBI Privacy Act Statement

Authority: The FBI's acquisition, preservation, and exchange of fingerprints and associated information is generally authorized under 28 U.S.C. 534. Depending on the nature of your application, supplemental authorities include Federal statutes, State statutes pursuant to Pub. L. 92-544, Presidential Executive Orders, and federal regulations. Providing your fingerprints and associated information is voluntary; however, failure to do so may affect completion or approval of your application.

Principal Purpose: Certain determinations, such as employment, licensing, and security clearances, may be predicated on fingerprint-based background checks. Your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics may be provided to the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency, and/or the FBI for the purpose of comparing your fingerprints to other fingerprints in the FBI's Next Generation Identification (NGI) system or its successor systems (including civil, criminal, and latent fingerprint repositories) or other available records of the employing, investigating, or otherwise responsible agency. The FBI may retain your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics in NGI after the completion of this application and, while retained, your fingerprints may continue to be compared against other fingerprints submitted to or retained by NGI.

Routine Uses: During the processing of this application and for as long thereafter as your fingerprints and associated information/biometrics are retained in NGI, your information may be disclosed pursuant to your consent, and may be disclosed without your consent as permitted by the Privacy Act of 1974 and all applicable Routine Uses as may be published at any time in the Federal Register, including the Routine Uses for the NGI system and the FBI's Blanket Routine Uses. Routine uses include, but are not limited to, disclosures to: employing, governmental or authorized non-governmental agencies responsible for employment, contracting, licensing, security clearances, and other suitability determinations; local, state, tribal, or federal law enforcement agencies; criminal justice agencies; and agencies responsible for national security or public safety.

As of 03/30/2018

Note: This privacy act statement is located on the back of the FD-258 fingerprint card.