NEW HAMPSHIRE MODEL STATE-WIDE PROTOCOL FOR DISPENSING HORMONAL CONTRACEPTIVES WITHOUT A PRIOR PRESCRIPTION

This pharmacy statewide drug therapy protocol authorizes qualified New Hampshire-licensed pharmacists ("Pharmacists") to perform the pertinent physical assessments and initiate hormonal contraceptives under the conditions of this protocol and according to and in compliance with all applicable state and federal laws and rules.

Definitions

- (l) "Clinical visit" means a consultation with a healthcare practitioner, other than a pharmacist, for women's health, which should address contraception and age-appropriate screening.
- (2) "Hormonal contraceptives" means pills, shots, patches, and rings which the U.S. FDA classifies as available by prescription for the purpose of contraception or emergency contraception. It does not include similar items classified as "over the counter" by the F'DA.
- (3) "Outpatient contraceptive services" means hormonal contraceptive initiation of therapy and dispensing services provided by the licensed pharmacist as specified in RSA 318:47-I.

Training Program

Licensed New Hampshire pharmacists with their license in good standing may dispense hormonal contraceptives without a prior prescription via a standing order provided that they complete a Board-approved Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) training program. In addition, pharmacists shall comply with the most current United States Medical Eligibility Criteria (USMEC) and selective practice recommendations for Contraceptive Use as adopted by the U,S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Continuing Education

All ACPE Board-approved training course certifications expire in two years from the date of certification. Pharmacists shall attend a refresher training course (ACPE-accredited Board approved) biennially and maintain records of completion that is readily retrievable and provided to the Board upon request.

Further Requirements

- (l) Each participating pharmacist shall follow all aspects in Pharmacy Board Rules Ph 2403 regarding the initiating and dispensing of hormonal contraceptive treatment.
- (2) For each new patient requesting contraceptive services and returning patients every 12 months, participating pharmacists must complete the following steps:
 - (a) Obtain a completed New Hampshire Sell'-Screening Risk Assessment Questionnaire;
 - (b) Utilize and follow the New Hampshire Standard Procedures Algorithm to perform patient assessment;
 - (c) Provide, if clinically appropriate, the hormonal contraceptive as soon as practicable after issuing the prescription, or refer to a healthcare practitioner;
 - (d) Label the prescription bottle in accordance to Ph 601.15;

- (e) Based upon a patients request, transmit electronically, by fax, or in writing within 24 hours to the patient's primary care practitioner a copy of the NH Self Screening Questionnaire, the hormonal contraceptive that was given, and any other relevant notes. Patients without a primary care practitioner shall be provided contact intonation for one, and may choose not to see that practitioner. If the patient refuses to see a primary care practitioner, the pharmacist is obligated to provide a written copy of the NH Self-Screening Questionnaire to the patient;
- (f) Provide the patient with a visit summary;
- (g) Provide the patient with the standardized Board-approved information sheet regarding the hormonal contraceptive;
- (h) Provide counseling to the patient;
- (3) If the hormonal contraceptive is dispensed, it must be done as soon as practicable after the pharmacist issues the prescription and shall include any relevant educational materials.

(4) A pharmacist shall not:

- (a) Require a patient to schedule an appointment with the pharmacist for the council or dispensing of a hormonal contraceptive, and
- (b) Initiate hormonal contraceptive therapy in instances where the New Hampshire Standard Procedures Algorithm requires referral to a provider.

(5) Recordkeeping:

- (a) Pharmacists shall comply with all aspects of procedures established in Pharmacy Board Rules Ph 2403,05 with respect to maintenance of proper records.
- (b) A process shall be in place for the pharmacist to communicate with the patient's primary care provider and document changes to the patient's medical record. If the patient does not have a primary care provider, or is unable to provide contact information for his or her primary care provider, the pharmacist shall provide the patient with a written record of the drugs or devices furnished and advise the patient to consult an appropriate health care professional of the patient's choice.