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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, AND ESTHETICS 
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A SHOP APPRENTICE 

 
 
Please circle type of apprenticeship you are applying for: 
 
BARBER        MASTER BARBER        COSMETOLOGY       ESTHETICS       MANICURIST  
 
All shop apprentice licenses will expire the next birth month of the apprentice in the odd year.  
 
YOU MUST ENCLOSE THE FOLLOWING: 

1. One application fee of $75.00. Please make check or money order payable to: “Treasurer, 
State of New Hampshire”; 

2. A copy of high school diploma if you are under 21. If you are more than 21 years of age a 
copy of your driver’s license or birth certificate; 

3. Two (2) Questionnaires for Applicants and Licensees, one for the apprentice and one for 
the instructor.  

 
Apprentice name (please print):___________________________________________________ 
     First   Middle   Last 
 
Apprentice signature: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Mailing address: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Home phone#:______________ Cell phone#:_______________   Month of birth: ___________ 

 
Social security #:___________________________ 
 
Name of shop where apprenticeship will take place: ____________________________________ 

 
Shop address: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Shop phone#: ______________Date: _____________________ 

 
Please contact the Department of Labor for wage information at 271-3176 

 
                           
 
 
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, AND ESTHETICS 
APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION AS A SHOP INSTRUCTOR 

  
 
 
            
Instructor name (please print): ____________________________________________________ 
 
Initial licensure year: ____________ 
 
New Hampshire professional license number:_________________ 
 
Apprentice’s name: _____________________________________________________________ 
  
By signing this form I agree to the following statement: 

 
“I certify that the apprentice whose name is stated above is serving his/her apprenticeship 
training under my direction.  I agree to notify the Board office in writing when the 
apprenticeship is completed or has terminated. I understand by signing this application I 
agree to ensure the apprentice is in compliance with the Board’s Administrative Rules and 
governing statute and should the apprentice fail to comply, I will be subject to disciplinary 
action by the Board.”  

 
 

Instructor signature:  ______________________________________    Date:  ______________ 
   
               
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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APPRENTICE           
 

BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY & ESTHETICS 
QUESTIONNAIRE FOR APPLICANTS AND LICENSEES 

 
This questionnaire must be completed using blue or black ink, signed, and sent to the NH Board of 
Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics at the above address with your application for licensure or 
renewal.  (If additional space is required for explanation, use other side.) 

 
1. Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor, other than a traffic violation, which has not 

been annulled by a court?      (Circle one)   YES      NO  
 
If yes, Before the Board can review your file for approval they must have the following documents: You 
must obtain from the Court(s) a copy of the court charge(s), conviction(s), penalties imposed, and provide a 
statement from you relative to the charge(s). If you are currently on probation/parole you must provide all 
the above plus the following:  Your probation/parole officers name, mailing address, and telephone number 
if applicable; you must obtain a letter from your probation/parole officer stating you are in compliance with 
your probation/parole.  If you were on probation/parole and have completed all requirements, we need a 
letter indicating you have met all requirements and are no longer on probation/parole. 

 
If you have already submitted the above to the Board in a prior application, and the Board approved the 
conviction(s), you must state the conviction, the date of the conviction, and the date the Board approved 
this conviction: 

 
2. Are you addicted to the use of alcohol or other habit-forming drugs to a degree rendering you unfit to 

practice under RSA 313-A  (Circle one)   YES      NO      If yes, explain:  
 

3. Have you been determined by a court to be mentally incompetent or do you have, or have you been told by 
health practitioner or mental health practitioner that you have, a physical or a mental condition that impairs 
your ability to practice the profession for which you are seeking licensing under RSA 313-A?   

(Circle one)   YES      NO     If yes, explain:   
 

I hereby certify that the statements made in this application are true and accurate.  I have not 
withheld information that is requested.  I am aware that a false, dishonest or misleading answer may 
be grounds for 1) denial of this application; 2) disciplinary action against my license; and further 
that 3) false statements are punishable by law. 

 
Applicant signature:  __________________________________________________________ 
 
Applicant name (please print):   _________________________________________________ 
   
Current mailing address:  ______________________________________________________ 
 
   _____________________________________________________  
 
Phone #:  _____________________________Social security No._______________________   
                          (optional)   

APPRENTICE INFORMATION 
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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INSTRUCTOR           

 
BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY & ESTHETICS 

QUESTIONNAIRE FOR APPLICANTS AND LICENSEES 
 

This questionnaire must be completed using blue or black ink, signed, and sent to the NH Board of 
Barbering, Cosmetology, and Esthetics at the above address with your application for licensure or 
renewal.  (If additional space is required for explanation, use other side.) 

 
4. Have you ever been convicted of any felony or misdemeanor, other than a traffic violation, which has not 

been annulled by a court?      (Circle one)   YES      NO  
 
If yes, Before the Board can review your file for approval they must have the following documents: You 
must obtain from the Court(s) a copy of the court charge(s), conviction(s), penalties imposed, and provide a 
statement from you relative to the charge(s). If you are currently on probation/parole you must provide all 
the above plus the following:  Your probation/parole officers name, mailing address, and telephone number 
if applicable; you must obtain a letter from your probation/parole officer stating you are in compliance with 
your probation/parole.  If you were on probation/parole and have completed all requirements, we need a 
letter indicating you have met all requirements and are no longer on probation/parole. 

 
If you have already submitted the above to the Board in a prior application, and the Board approved the 
conviction(s), you must state the conviction, the date of the conviction, and the date the Board approved 
this conviction: 

 
5. Are you addicted to the use of alcohol or other habit-forming drugs to a degree rendering you unfit to 

practice under RSA 313-A  (Circle one)   YES      NO      If yes, explain:  
 

6. Have you been determined by a court to be mentally incompetent or do you have, or have you been told by 
health practitioner or mental health practitioner that you have, a physical or a mental condition that impairs 
your ability to practice the profession for which you are seeking licensing under RSA 313-A?   

(Circle one)   YES      NO     If yes, explain:   
 

I hereby certify that the statements made in this application are true and accurate.  I have not 
withheld information that is requested.  I am aware that a false, dishonest or misleading answer may 
be grounds for 1) denial of this application; 2) disciplinary action against my license; and further 
that 3) false statements are punishable by law. 

 
Applicant signature:  _________________________________________________________ 
 
Applicant name (please print):   _________________________________________________ 
   
Current Mailing Address:  _____________________________________________________ 
 
   _____________________________________________________  
 
Phone #:  ___________________________Social security #: _________________________   
                          (optional)  
    INSTRUCTOR INFORMATION 

 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY & ESTHETICS 
APPRENTICESHIP HOUR SHEET 

 
Apprentice name: _______________________________________________________ 

Shop name: ____________________________________________________________ 

PLEASE CIRCLE TYPE OF APPRENTICESHIP 

BARBER COSMETOLOGY ESTHETICS MANICURIST      MASTER BARBER 
 A Master Barber and Cosmetology apprentice must complete 3,000 hours over an eighteen-month period. 
 A Manicuring apprentice must complete 600 hours over a five-month period. 
 An Esthetics apprentice must complete 1,200 hours over an eight-month period. 
 A Barber must complete 1,600 hours over a twelve-month period. 

The months are documented by monthly hours received by this office.  This hour sheet must be received in the 
Board office by the 15th of the following month.  A written test that has been corrected by instructor must be 
attached to each hour sheet.  The instructor and apprentice must sign the bottom of this form each month.  By 
signing the form you are stating that the apprentice hours of training are correct.  **Keep a copy for your 
records. ** 

  MONTH: ______________    YEAR: _________ 

Below put the total number of hours completed for that day 

1st  2nd  3rd 
 

4th  5th  6th  7th  8th  
 
 

9th  10th  11th  12th  13th  14th  15th  16th  
 
 

17th  18th  19th  20th  21st  22nd  23rd  24th  
 
 

25th  26th  27th  28th  29th  30th  31st   
 
 

PREVIOUS GRAND TOTAL: _______   +   THIS MONTH’S TOTAL: ________= GRAND TOTAL: ________ 

***ONCE YOU HAVE COMPLETED HOURS REQUIRED FOR APPRENTICESHIP YOU MUST SEND IN 
APPRENTICE LICENSE WITH THE LAST HOUR SHEET*** 

Apprentice signature: __________________________________ Date: __________________ 
 
Instructor signature: ___________________________________ Date: __________________ 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, AND ESTHETICS 

SHOP APPRENTICE INSTRUCTOR REQUIREMENTS 
 

      ALL SHOP APPRENTICE INSTRUCTORS SHALL: 
 

1. Read the enclosed rules and regulations; 
 

2. Ensure an apprentice for cosmetology or master barbering does not work on a client until 
the apprentice has completed at least 3 months and 400 hours of the apprenticeship;  

 
3. Ensure an apprentice for esthetics or barbering does not work on a client until the 

apprentice has completed at least 150 hours of the apprenticeship;  
 

4. Ensure an apprentice for manicuring does not work on a client until the apprentice has 
completed at least 50 hours of the apprenticeship;  

 
5. Ensure the apprentice wears a name tag at all times and the client is aware the person 

performing a service on them is in training; 
 

6. Be readily accessible to the shop apprentice at all times during the first half of the 
apprenticeship. In the second half, the instructor shall ensure the apprentice has access to 
the instructor or another licensee at all times;  

 
7. Be with an esthetics apprentice at all times during the application of any cosmetic 

exfoliating chemical;  
 

8. Make a copy of the completed hour sheets and tests to retain at the salon/shop;  
 

9. Submit the completed and signed hour sheets and tests to the Board office no later than 
the 15th of the following month; 

 
10. Ensure the apprentices’ license is current and valid. The instructor and apprentice shall 

renew the license before it expires;  
 

11. Notify the Board office in writing if the apprentice will be taking time off from the 
apprenticeship;  
 

12. Notify the Board office in writing and return the apprentice license to the Board office if 
the apprentice terminates the program.  

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

       LINDSEY COURTNEY 
          Division Director        
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, AND ESTHETICS 
SHOP APPRENTICE TEXTBOOK INFORMATION 

 
 
 
As an apprentice you must obtain hours in textbook theory, which shall consist of 
reading textbooks, no more than 5 years old.  You may obtain textbooks from 
wherever you would like.  
 
You will find numerous types of books that can assist you in your learning.  There 
are the textbooks for theory, the workbook, teaching text, and even the exam 
review guide. 
 
Optional company and telephone numbers are as follows: 
 
Cengage/Thompson Learning 
1-800-354-9706 
 
Pivot Point International 
1-800-886-4247 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director 
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, AND ESTHETICS 
CODE OF PROFESSIONAL ETHICS 

 
 
 
PART Bar 501  OBLIGATION TO OBEY AND ETHICAL CONDUCT STANDARDS 
 
 Bar 501.01  Obligation to Obey. 
 
 (a)  Licensees shall obey the ethical conduct standards set forth in Bar 501.02 
 
 (b)  Violations of any of the ethical conduct standards shall constitute unprofessional conduct 
resulting in disciplinary proceedings pursuant to RSA 313-A:22, II (c). 
 
 Bar 501.02  Ethical Conduct Standards.  A licensee shall: 
 
 (a)  Comply with RSA 313-A and the board's administrative rules; 
 
 (b)  Submit only truthful and correct information in any application or other document filed with, 
or statement made to, the board; 
 
 (c)  Obey in good faith, and within any time period specified, any disciplinary orders issued by the 
board, including orders requiring the payment of fees or fines; 
 
 (d)  Deal with colleagues and clients with honesty and integrity; 
 
 (e)  If maintaining a salon, maintain the salon premises in a sanitary and hygienic manner; 
 
 (f)  Not perform any service that is outside the scope of practice for the license that he or she holds; 
 
 (g)  Not misrepresent professional qualifications or credentials; 
 
 (h)  Not aid or abet, directly or indirectly, the practice of any person who is not duly licensed; 
 
 (i)  Not advertise claims that are misleading, untrue or insupportable by fact; and 
 
 (j)  Use professional products specifically designed or manufactured for use in his or her licensed 
profession according to the manufacturer’s instructions. 
 
 (k)  Cooperate with lawful investigation of the board.  
 

 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

    LINDSEY COURTNEY 
      Division Director           
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BOARD OF BARBERING, COSMETOLOGY, AND ESTHETICS 
BLOOD SPILL SUPPLIES/PROCEDURES 

 
 Blood spill incidents must be treated by using a “safe practice” method.  All products used during 
a blood spill incident must be applied with an applicator.  Every attempt must be made to ensure that 
articles do not come in contact with skin or the wound.  All contaminated materials are to be placed in a 
closed container. The following steps must be taken if a blood spill occurs: 
 

Licensee Injury: 
 

1. In the event that a licensee sustains a cut, service must be stopped and the injured area must be 
cleaned. 

2. An antiseptic must be applied using an applicator. 
3. Cover the injury with an adhesive dressing. 
4. If the cut occurs on the hand, a glove or finger guard must be used. 
5. Any affected work area must be cleaned and sanitized. 
6. Any affected tool or implement must be sanitized and disinfected. 
7. Hands must be cleaned with an antibacterial soap. 
8. Put on disposable gloves. 
9. The service may now be continued. 
 

Clients Injured: 
 

1. If a cut occurs, the service must stop and the licensee must put gloves on. 
2. Provide the client with antiseptic with applicator for them to put on the cut. 
3. Provide the client with some form of adhesive dressing to be put over the injured area. 
4. Any affected work area must be sanitized and disinfected. 
5. Any affected tool or implement must be sanitized and disinfected. 
6. Hands must be cleaned with an antibacterial soap. 
7. Put on disposable gloves. 
8. The service may now be continued. 
 

 

 

 

DAVID GROSSO 
Executive Director        
 

LINDSEY COURTNEY 
Division Director   



 
 
Below are sections of rules relevant to shop apprentices. Please contact the 
office at 271-3608 with any rule questions.  
 
 
 Bar 301.01 Apprentice Application. 
 
 (a) Upon the board's receipt of a request for an application for registration as an apprentice, the 
board shall send the applicant an application for registration as an apprentice.  
 
 (b) Each applicant for an apprentice registration shall complete and submit to the board an 
application for registration as an apprentice including: 
 

(1) The applicant’s name, address, and telephone number; 
 

(2) The appropriate type of apprenticeship: 
 

a. Cosmetology; 
 

b. Barbering; 
 

c. Master Barber; 
 

d. Manicuring; or 
 

e. Esthetics;  
 

(3) A check, money order, or cash in the amount of $25.00 
 

(4) A copy of a birth certificate or driver’s license providing proof of age as required by RSA 
313-A:24, II (a);  

 
(5) Whether the applicant: 

 
a. Has been conviction of a felony or misdemeanor, other than a traffic violation, which 
has not been annulled by a court; 

 
b. Is addicted to the use of alcohol or other habit-forming drugs to a degree rendering 
him/her unfit to practice under RSA 313-A; 

 
c. Has had any past disciplinary action against him/her in any jurisdiction in, which 
registration is similar to the one requested to have issued under this application; and 

 
d. Has been determined by a court to be mentally incompetent, or has been told by 
health practitioner or mental health practitioner that he/she has a mental condition that 
would impair his/her ability to practice the profession for which they are seeking 
registration under RSA 313-A;  

 
(6) A date and signature affirming the following pledge: “I, hereby certify that the statements 
made on this application and in any other documents submitted in connection with this 
application are true and accurate. I have not withheld information that is requested. I am 
aware that a false, dishonest or misleading answer may be grounds for 1) denial of this 
application; 2) disciplinary action against my license; and further that 3) false statements are 
punishable by law”; and 

 
(7) A copy of the applicant’s high school diploma or its equivalent providing proof of education as 
required by RSA 313-A. If an applicant does not have a high school diploma a letter must be 
submitted from current high school indicating they are currently enrolled and on track for 
graduation. 

 



 (c) The applicant may provide to the Board any information explaining or providing background to 
the affirmative answer(s) in (5) above. 
 
 
 (e) If the apprenticeship will take place in a shop, licensed in accordance with RSA 313-A:19, the 
shop instructor shall be licensed in accordance with RSA 313-A:9, V. 
 
 (f) The shop instructor shall: 
 

(1) Provide the name, address, and telephone number of the shop where the instruction will 
take place; 

 
(2) Include the enrollment date; 

 
(3) Include 3 passport photos of the apprentice; and 

 
(4) Sign and date the application. 

 
 (g) An applicant for a shop instructor license shall: 
 

(1) In accordance with RSA 313-A:10, I(c)(2) and RSA 313-A:11, I(c)(2), have been engaged 
in the practice within the state for at least 2 years; 

 
(2) Submit to the board a check, money order, or cash in the amount of $50.00  

 
(3) Supply the following on the application for registration as an apprentice form: 

 
a. His/her New Hampshire license number; 

 
b. His/her initial New Hampshire licensure date; and 

 
c. His/her signature and current date. 

 
  
 Bar 301.03 Apprenticeship. 
 
 (a) “Reflexology” means the study and interpretation of reflex component of the function of a body 
part or system or of a particular kind of activity. 
 
 (b) The number of hours of instruction to complete an apprenticeship shall be in accordance with: 
 

(1) For barbers, RSA 313-A:10, I(c)(1) or (2); 
 

(2) For cosmetologists, RSA 313-A:11, I(c)(1) or (2); 
 

(3) For manicurists, RSA 313-A:12, I, or, pursuant to RSA 313-A:12, II, 600 hours in a shop 
apprenticeship program;  

 
(4) For estheticians, RSA 313-A:13 or, pursuant to RSA 313-A:13, 1200 hours in a shop 
apprenticeship program; and 

 
(5) For a master barber, RSA 313-A:10 III, ( c) (1) or (2). 

 
 (c) The apprentice shall receive the following types of instruction: 
 

(1) For barber apprentices: 
 

a. Shampooing; 
 

b. Haircutting; 
 

c. Hairstyling, men and women; 
 

d. Razor cutting; 



 
e. Shaves and beard trim; 

 
f. Scalp massaging; 

 
g. Hair analysis; 

 
h. Hairpieces; 

 
i. Business management and salesmanship; 

 
j. Textbook theory, which shall consist of reading textbooks in regard to barbering; 

 
k. State laws and rules; and 

 
l. Bacteriology safety and sanitation; 

 
(2) For cosmetology apprentices: 

 
a. Shampooing; 

 
b. Hairstyling; 

 
c. Hair shaping; 

 
d. Hair coloring, including temporary, semi-permanent and permanent; 

 
e. Permanent waving and straightening; 

 
f. Hair analysis and scalp treatments; 

 
g. Facials and waxing including contraindications; 

 
h. Manicuring and pedicuring; 

 
i. Bacteriology, safety, and sanitation; 

 
j. Personal development; 

 
k. Business management and salesmanship; 

 
l. State laws and rules; 

 
m. Textbook theory which shall consist of reading textbooks, no more than 5 years old, 
in regard to cosmetology; 

 
n. Sculptured nail, nail tip, nail wrap and gel application; and 

 
o. Reflexology and massage as it relates to cosmetology, manicuring, and pedicuring 
services; 

 
(3) For esthetic apprentices: 

 
a. Textbook theory which shall consist of reading textbooks no more than 5 years old, 
in regard to esthetics; 

 
b. Anatomy and physiology; 

 
c. Bacteriology, safety and sanitation; 

 
d. Basic chemistry of ingredients; 

 
e. Professional practices; 

 
f. Facial and body treatments; 



 
g. Treatments for facial and body hair; 

 
h. Reflexology and massage as it relates to esthetic services; 

 
i. Pedicuring; 

 
j. Makeup services; and 

 
k. State laws and rules;  

 
(4) For a manicuring apprentice: 

 
a. Bacteriology, safety and sanitation; 

 
b. Professional practice; 

 
c. Basic manicuring; 

 
d. Sculptured nail, nail tip, nail wrap and gel application; 

 
e. Pedicuring. 

 
f. Proper drill use; 

 
g. Textbook theory, which shall consist of reading textbooks, no more than 5 years old, 
in regard to manicuring; 

 
h. State laws and rules; and 

 
i. Reflexology and massage as it relates to manicuring and pedicuring; and 

 
(5) For master barber apprentices: 

 
a. Shampooing; 

 
b. Haircutting; 

 
c. Hairstyling, men and women; 

 
d. Razor cutting; 

 
e. Shaves and beard trim; 

 
f. Scalp massaging; 

 
g. Permanent waving and straightening; 

 
h. Coloring 

 
i. Hair analysis; 
 
j. Hairpieces; 

 
k. Business management and salesmanship; 

 
l. Textbook theory, which shall consist of reading textbooks in regard to barbering; 

 
m. State laws and rules; and 

 
n. Bacteriology safety and sanitation. 

 
 (d) Each student, at the beginning of the course, shall receive a course outline, including: 
 

(1) The name of the course; 



 
(2) A course description; 

 
(3) The course goals; 

 
(4) The contents of the units of instruction and, as applicable hours; 

 
(5) The course format; and 

 
(6) The grading procedures. 

 
  
 
 (l) A shop apprentice's hours shall not be transferable to a school. A student apprentice's hours 
shall not be transferable to a shop. 
 
 (m) A shop apprentice may transfer to another shop apprenticeship. A student apprentice may 
transfer to another school. 
 
 (n) If an apprentice wishes to transfer to, or re-enroll in another apprenticeship, the apprentice shall 
reapply in accordance with Bar 301.01, and attach a letter stating that he/she is a transfer or re-enroll 
apprentice. When transferring or re-enrolling in an apprenticeship the apprentice shall reapply within 12 
months of the termination date of the initial apprenticeship in order to maintain all of his/her accumulated 
hours. If an apprentice reapplies after 12 months, but before 24 months, he/she shall maintain half of 
his/her accumulated hours. If an apprentice reapplies after 24 months he/she shall not maintain any of 
his/her accumulated hours. 
 
 
 (p) Apprentices shall sanitize and disinfect areas of the school or salon where there may be a threat 
to the health of the apprentice or the general public.  
 
  
  
 Bar 301.04 Instructors of Apprentices. 
 
 (a) Each apprentice shall receive his/her instruction from a cosmetologist, barber, esthetician, 
manicurist, or master barber who is a licensed instructor in accordance with Bar 301.08 or Bar 301.01 (f). 
 
 (b) An instructor license shall expire in accordance with RSA 313-A:20. 
 
 (c) A shop instructor shall have only one apprentice. 
 
 (d) A shop instructor shall keep a monthly record of the apprentice's attendance on a sheet provided 
by the board, including: 
 

(1) The name of the apprentice; 
 

(2) The name and address of the shop; 
 

(3) The apprentice licensure date; 
 

(4) The month and year for which the record is being submitted; 
 

(5) The total number of hours completed during the apprenticeship; 
 

(6) The signature of the shop instructor; and 
 

(7) The signature of the shop apprentice. 
 
 (e) The shop instructor shall submit the monthly record of attendance to the board no later than the 
15th of the next following month. 
 
 (f) Instructors shall administer written, oral, or practical tests pertaining to Bar 301.03(c). The tests 
shall be graded and reviewed with the students promptly. Each apprentice shall be tested at least once a 



month. Shop instructors shall send a copy of each completed and corrected test to the board along with the 
monthly record of attendance in accordance with Bar 301.04(e). 
 
 (g) Shop instructors shall prohibit a shop apprentice being instructed in master barbering or 
cosmetology from practicing on a paying customer until the apprentice has completed at least 3 months 
and 400 hours of the apprenticeship. A licensed barber apprenticing to obtain a cosmetology license, or a 
cosmetologist apprenticing to obtain a barber license, may practice on a client immediately. 
 
 (h) Shop instructors shall prohibit a shop apprentice being instructed in barbering or esthetics, 
unless the apprentice is a licensed cosmetologist, from practicing barbering or esthetics on a paying 
customer until the apprentice has completed at least 150 hours of the apprenticeship. 
 
 (i) Shop instructors shall ensure that a shop apprentice being instructed in manicuring only does not 
practice manicuring on a paying customer until the apprentice has completed at least 50 hours. 
 
 (j) All shops with an apprentice practicing on paying customers shall have the apprentice wear a 
name tag. The name tag shall state "Apprentice". 
 
 (k) The instructor shall assign paying customer services to the apprentice. 
 
 (l) The instructor shall provide each apprentice with at least 2 written progress reports during each 
course. The reports shall evaluate the apprentice's theory and practical work, and attendance. Instructors 
shall be available to discuss the reports and the apprentice’s progress in the course. 
 
 (m) Related theory and practice shall precede clinic activities, and apprentices shall have 
demonstrated competence in both theory and practice before being allowed to participate in such 
activities. Instruction in theory and practice shall not be replaced by the clinic or working on a paying 
customers and apprentices shall not be excused from scheduled classes to work in the clinic or on a paying 
customers. 
 
 (o) A shop instructor shall be readily accessible, in the shop, to the shop apprentice at all times 
during professional services on a client within the first 50% of hours required by Bar 301.03 (b). 
 
 (p) Once the shop apprentice has completed over 50% of the hours required by Bar 301.03 (b) and 
is in compliance with Bar 301.04(m) the shop apprentice shall have immediate access to a licensee when 
providing professional services on a client. 
 
 (q) An esthetician apprentice shall have completed at least 400 hours prior to the application of any 
cosmetic exfoliation chemical. 
 
 (r) The shop instructor shall be with the esthetician apprentice at all times during the application of 
any cosmetic exfoliation chemical.  
 
 (s) No apprentice shall apply alpha hydroxy acid of greater than 30% total solution and less than 
pH 3.0 or its equivalent on a client. 
 
 
 Bar 301.05 Apprentice Termination. 
 
 (a) An instructor or an apprentice may terminate an apprenticeship at any time upon written 
notification to the board. The instructor and the apprentice shall notify the board within 5 business days of 
the termination date. 
 
 (b) The written notification of termination required by (a), above, shall include, if it is from the: 
 

(1) Instructor: 
 

a. The apprentice's name; 
 

b. The shop or school name, address, and telephone number; 
 

c. The date of termination; and 



 
d. The monthly record of attendance up to the termination date; and 

 
(2) Apprentice, all items in (b)(1) a. through c, above. 

 
 (c) When a shop apprenticeship is terminated by the apprentice, in accordance with Bar 301.05(a), 
the board shall write to the shop instructor informing the instructor of the termination and requiring the 
instructor to forward all outstanding monthly records of attendance. Upon receipt of the board's letter, the 
shop instructor shall forward the information immediately to the board. 
 
 (d) When the apprenticeship is terminated by the instructor, in accordance with Bar 301.05(a), the 
board shall write to the apprentice informing the apprentice of the termination. 
 
 (e) An apprentice who does not complete an apprenticeship may apply again, at any time, for 
registration as an apprentice in accordance with RSA 313-A:24 and Bar 301.01. Previously accumulated 
hours shall be maintained in accordance with Bar 301.03(o) or (p). 
 
 
 Bar 301.06 Completion of Apprenticeship. The apprentice shall complete and file an application 
for licensure in accordance with Bar 301.07(b) upon completion of the apprenticeship. 
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